We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely B&B” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Stone Hill Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Stone Hill Inn to your Saves list
Stone Hill Inn
4.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   89 Houston Farm Road, Stowe, VT 05672   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 26 Stowe B&B and Inns
Bedford, New Hampshire
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Lovely B&B”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013

Beautiful rooms, awesome jacuzzy tub and great atmosphere. Breakfast at the inn was hearty and delicious (especially the orange and walnut waffles), the innkeepers offer 3 options everyday and a complimentary appetizer hour in the evening. The room and bathroom was spotless and the gas fireplace in front of the jacuzzy tub was amazing. Will definitely stay again and bring friends.

Not suitable for families, it is more romantic getaway oriented.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

490 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    474
    13
    1
    2
    0
See reviews for
6
387
1
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (91)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Burlington, Massachusetts, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2013

I am not sure what was the best part of our stay at the Stone Hill Inn, because there was so much to love about it. Innkeepers Linda and George were delightful. Upon greeting us, George took us on a tour of the 9 room inn, which includes a pantry stocked with complimentary snacks, a game room with a pool table and dozens of board games and a cabinet with over 200 movies to select for a quiet night in. The Catamount room was lovely, with a double sided fireplace that can be seen from the bedroom and the double jacuzzi in the bathroom. As if the ambience of the inn were not enough, I think it will be a while before my husband and I will stop thinking about the amazing breakfasts they provided. Their lemon yogurt waffles are heaven. While right off the highway, the inn is situated on a hill that makes it feel tucked away and secluded. Linda and George were so friendly and welcoming and were extremely focused on making our stay the best possible. My husband and I look forward to returning soon!

Room Tip: Loved the Catamount room!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NY
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2013

My husband and I stayed at the Stone Hill Inn for our babymoon. The inn was beautiful and George and Linda were so sweet. They helped us set up the fantastic in room massage and the incredibly romantic sleigh ride. Breakfast was delicious every morning. We stayed in the West Branch room which was private and very comfortable. We definitely enjoyed a romantic weekend at this lovely inn!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waltham, Massachusetts
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2013

We returned to Stonehill Inn after 3 years and found everything just as lovely with a few new touches. Linda and George are wonderful as the new innkeepers. They've kept all the charm of the previous owners and added touches that make this possibly the best inn in all of the US.

The room we stayed in had undergone a new color scheme that opens the room up and makes things brighter, everything about the room was just as comfortable as the first time we stayed, the pillows and bed are great for relaxing and the fireside jacuzzi is such a fantastic touch.

The grounds are still beautiful and little touches like a numbered system for their small DVD library are appreciated. The breakfasts served in the beautiful multi-windowed breakfast room are just as fantastic, peach and brie omelette one morning and a stack of blueberry pancakes the next had me ready for a day in Stowe.

The care of the innkeepers to treat your getaway with love and respect is what has blown me away during both our stays. The friendly warmth and the ability to meet the needs of guests who prefer to spend time alone and with others is a testament to the layout of the inn as well as the nature of the innkeepers.

If you are looking for a romantic getaway than I do not think there is a better inn out there! I again left wishing I could stay forever.

Room Tip: With only a few rooms to choose from you can't go wrong!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plattsburgh, New York
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

As soon as we arrived at the private, snowy drive leading up to The Stone Hill Inn we realized that we were stepping into a weekend of warmth, beauty and relaxation. The Inn itself has common areas that invite you to gather and relax by the large stone fireplace and mingle with the innkeepers and other guests during the evening wine hour. Linda and George as the innkeepers made every aspect of our stay hastle free and their easy flowing conversation was enjoyable at all hours of the day. During our stay, two couples became engaged and it could not have been a more perfect setting for them with the snow, the immaculate Inn, the hospitality of Linda and George, and the friendship of all the guests at breakfast and during the evening wine hour. The rooms are spacious and designed with comfort in mind. Requests are never overlooked and the staff is always available to fulfill any need. Breakfast was always a treat and served in a beautiful dining area and I guarantee for those who are experienced in B&B travel you will find the food to be first rate. Lynette and I will be back this summer and highly recommend the Stone Hill Inn for those seeking a romantic and friendly experience. Phil & Lynette NY

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fitchburg, Massachusetts
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2013

My fiance and I took our second trip to Vermont and could not have been more satisfied with Stone Hill Inn. Right from the start innkeepers George and Linda were extremely welcoming and focused on ensuring our stay was pleasurable, as were their employees. The inn is located in a quaint and peaceful spot just outside the main parts of town, but within minutes of anything and everything Stowe has to offer. The inn has a large game room with plenty of board games and a pool table. The common area, with its beautiful stone fireplace, has a couch and sofas perfect for reading a good book and socializing. The inn each night lays out finger foods and wine, all on the house, in an effort to have guests mingle and socialize with the innkeepers. The inn also offers free snowshoes to use at any time, which was very convenient for us as we expected to have to pay for snowshoe rentals. Instead of paying a trail hiking fee, George gave us a location to walk just outside the inn that cost nothing and had beautiful landscapes. The room we stayed in was White Birch, which looks so much nicer in person than on the website. Also complimentary is soft drinks, water, popcorn, etc. for any guests to indulge themselves in.

The innkeepers, George and Linda, went above and beyond to ensure our stay was enjoyable. They will assist you with making reservations to a great restaurant, and the booking for our horse and sleigh ride just one mile from the inn at a local farm was romantic and peaceful. The chocolate covered strawberries were hands down the best strawberries we had, and the one-hour relaxation message was perfectly one by an extremely nice masseuse.

The breakfasts were filling and the variety offered was what we liked the most. Most B&Bs do not give a choice for breakfast. George and Linda gave two specials each day but were more than willing to make something outside of the specials, such as omelets or eggs with toast/bacon.

We can't say enough about our stay at Stone Hill and can understand first-hand why it is rated so high on Tripadvisor. The experience is well worth it and we highly recommend this inn for any couple seeking a romantic getaway and wanting to be treated as if it were their own home.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buffalo, New York
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2013

The Stone Hill Inn is the place to stay in Stowe, VT. The Inn is gorgeous, our room was comfortable, quiet and spacious. The Innkeepser's, George and Linda, are genuine and warm. Every morning George welcomed us with hot coffee and bake goods while Linda prepared a unique and delicious breakfast made to order. We enjoyed sitting around the huge stone fireplace relaxing with our host and other guests. Sharing stories of our adventures from the day and the past. Wine, hors d'oeuvres, great company and conversation! My husband and I have stayed at many Inn's around the country and this is was one of our favorites. We look forward to a return stay at the Inn on our next trip to Vermont.

Maggie & Jeff
Buffalo, NY

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Stone Hill Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Stone Hill Inn

Address: 89 Houston Farm Road, Stowe, VT 05672
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Vermont > Stowe
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 26 B&Bs / Inns in Stowe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Stone Hill Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This romantic and secluded Stowe Breakfast Inn was designed exclusively for couples: fireside Jacuzzis for two, king beds piled with pillows, spectacular gardens, haute breakfast cuisine at private tables, nightly turn down service, in-room massages for two, and a decor of hushed elegance throughout. Rooms begin at $245 per night. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Venere, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Stone Hill Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Stone Hill Hotel Stowe
Stone Hill Inn Stowe, Vermont

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Stone Hill Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.