We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Birthday ski weekend” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Stone Hill Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Stone Hill Inn to your Saves list
Stone Hill Inn
4.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   89 Houston Farm Road, Stowe, VT 05672   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Free Sleigh Ride!
Ranked #1 of 25 Stowe B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Medway, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Birthday ski weekend”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2013

I booked a Friday and Saturday night stay at the inn for a romantic weekend, this was the right spot. The inn was wonderful and the owners were genuinely nice. They made all of the guests feel welcome; we had a relaxing early evening sitting by the fire enjoying some wine and conversation with some of the other couples and George was kind enough to help us with dinner reservations. The breakfasts were delicious each morning, homemade scones and orange pecan waffles; yum. There is nothing I would change. Can't wait to go back. Thank you Linda and George.

Room Tip: All of the rooms have a king bed and double sided fireplace. You can't go wrong.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Karen W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

570 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Buford, GA
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2013

Christmas in New England is second to none.The snow, a very comfortable elegant Inn, and our very attentive host and hostess, George and Linda Fulton, made our stay a pleasant one.The breakfast served each morning was a culinary delight. My wife and I needed to get away for the holiday and choosing Stone Hill Inn was a very intelligent decision. I would strongly recommend to my fellow Trip Advisor readers to find time to visit Stone Hill Inn. Thank you George and Linda for honoring our Military. B.H. & K. H. Buford, GA

Room Tip: Would suggest the Fiddlehead Room. Very spacious room with a large modern bathroom.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank coffeeteacher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburg, Virginia
Level Contributor
29 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2013

My husband planned a surprise honeymoon for us to Stone Hill Inn. It was a dream vacation. The fireplace in the bedroom was divine! I loved the early evening visits with George and Linda, and the breakfasts were scrumptious! They had great recommendations for dining and things to do around Stowe. The intimate atmosphere of the inn, rooms and surrounding gardens are picturesque. We loved it and would highly recommend this inn to anyone.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gloria G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zephyrhills, Florida
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2013

1) George and Linda (and staff) really, truly care about your comfort. Not only do they want you to enjoy your stay at the Inn, but they want you to enjoy your entire vacation and in our experience, they really went above and beyond to make that happen. Beyond being good innkeepers, they're just fun people. I really enjoyed sitting with them in front of the fire at appetizer time and hearing their stories.
2)The inn itself lives up to all the pictures and all the good reviews. Our room was as luxurious as hoped. When we weren't out enjoying our Stowe adventure, we ordered dinner in, watched movies from the library, played pool, worked on a puzzle and even got in the outdoor hot tub while it snowed. I loved the breakfast room; it was wonderful to eat delicious homemade meals and watch the snowfall and listen to the relaxing music that played in the background.
My husband and I chose Stone Hill Inn for a late honeymoon/one year anniversary and it was everything we wanted for those two special occasions. Thanks, George and Linda!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Michelle122581
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
156 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2013

As you can see from the numerous other reviews, The Stone Hill Inn is certainly a charming and comfortable venue.The hosts, George and Linda, are extremely accommodating and the breakfasts, as you would expect at a B&B of this caliber, are outstanding. You can either relax by the fire or you can take advantage of the numerous opportunities for a greater level of activity. For instance, we used the snow shoes provided by the Inn for a wonderful walk in the snowy woods and then tobogganed down the marked trail on the property. Finally, we ended up in the wonderful outdoor hot tub (even though the temperature was well below zero). And, of course, I have not even mentioned the nearby world class cross country and downhill skiing. Your choice at the Stone Hill Inn.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mike G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2013

My husband and I planned a destination wedding last minute from TX at Stone Hill Inn. George and Linda could not have been more lovely or helpful during the planning phase. I dropped everything into Linda's very capable hands and our wedding was everything we envisioned. Stone Hill Inn is a quite, romantic bed & breakfast perfect for an intimate wedding, couples getaway, or mini-moon. Treat the love of your life to this perfect spot and you will not be disappointed! Thanks George and Linda for making our special day so perfect!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank skygoddess1402
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Longmeadow, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
24 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013

My husband and I recently returned from our second visit to Stone Hill Inn and our experience was just as wonderful as our first. The Inn is the perfect place to relax and get away from it all. One of our favorite places to be. We cannot say enough good things about George and Linda, the owners and hosts. Even their staff go above and beyond, Tony especially. We love the breakfasts, complimentary nightly hors d'oeuvres and wine, the beautiful game room, fireplaces throughout the inn, complimentary snow shoes and sled. We will surely be returning again in the future.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank amyanderlonis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Stowe hotels
4.1 mi away
Stowe Mountain Lodge
1.8 mi away
Edson Hill
Edson Hill
#1 of 25 in Stowe
5.0 of 5 stars 68 reviews
2.2 mi away
Field Guide
Field Guide
#4 of 25 in Stowe
4.5 of 5 stars 31 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Trapp Family Lodge
Trapp Family Lodge
#8 of 25 in Stowe
4.0 of 5 stars 929 reviews
2.8 mi away
Brass Lantern Inn
Brass Lantern Inn
#2 of 25 in Stowe
5.0 of 5 stars 540 reviews
2.4 mi away
Green Mountain Inn
Green Mountain Inn
#2 of 25 in Stowe
4.5 of 5 stars 1,526 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Stone Hill Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Stone Hill Inn

Address: 89 Houston Farm Road, Stowe, VT 05672
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Vermont > Stowe
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 25 B&Bs / Inns in Stowe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Hotel Class:4 star — Stone Hill Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This romantic and secluded Stowe Breakfast Inn whose mission is "providing unexpected opportunities to celebrate life...together," was designed exclusively for couples. Each room has the same amenities: baths with fireside Jacuzzis for two and shower; bedrooms with king beds and fireplace. Spectacular gardens, Three course breakfast with entres individually-prepared at private tables, in-room massages for two, and a decor of hushed elegance throughout. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Agoda and Travelocity so you can book your Stone Hill Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Stone Hill Hotel Stowe
Stone Hill Inn Stowe, Vermont

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing