We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Many Things To Do” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Stone Hill Inn

Enter dates for best prices

Best prices for your stay
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotels.com Official Site
and 4 more sites!
Stone Hill Inn
4.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   89 Houston Farm Road, Stowe, VT 05672   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
$50 Off 2 Night Stays
Ranked #1 of 26 Stowe B&B and Inns
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Many Things To Do”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2013

As you can see from the numerous other reviews, The Stone Hill Inn is certainly a charming and comfortable venue.The hosts, George and Linda, are extremely accommodating and the breakfasts, as you would expect at a B&B of this caliber, are outstanding. You can either relax by the fire or you can take advantage of the numerous opportunities for a greater level of activity. For instance, we used the snow shoes provided by the Inn for a wonderful walk in the snowy woods and then tobogganed down the marked trail on the property. Finally, we ended up in the wonderful outdoor hot tub (even though the temperature was well below zero). And, of course, I have not even mentioned the nearby world class cross country and downhill skiing. Your choice at the Stone Hill Inn.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

440 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    429
    9
    1
    1
    0
See reviews for
5
341
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (71)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Dallas, Texas
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2013

My husband and I planned a destination wedding last minute from TX at Stone Hill Inn. George and Linda could not have been more lovely or helpful during the planning phase. I dropped everything into Linda's very capable hands and our wedding was everything we envisioned. Stone Hill Inn is a quite, romantic bed & breakfast perfect for an intimate wedding, couples getaway, or mini-moon. Treat the love of your life to this perfect spot and you will not be disappointed! Thanks George and Linda for making our special day so perfect!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Longmeadow, Massachusetts
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013

My husband and I recently returned from our second visit to Stone Hill Inn and our experience was just as wonderful as our first. The Inn is the perfect place to relax and get away from it all. One of our favorite places to be. We cannot say enough good things about George and Linda, the owners and hosts. Even their staff go above and beyond, Tony especially. We love the breakfasts, complimentary nightly hors d'oeuvres and wine, the beautiful game room, fireplaces throughout the inn, complimentary snow shoes and sled. We will surely be returning again in the future.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Daytona beach
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2013

What a perfect place to spend Christmas away from home. This is truly a lovely place to stay....with Linda's great breakfasts, comfortable rooms and charming hospitality from both of our hosts. George was even kind enough to fulfill our request for snow on Christmas! stone hill is a wonderful place to relax, enjoy Vermont and come back to a friendly, cozy inn .

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2012

Beautiful rooms at the Stone Hill Inn ,just a shame we didn"t have more time to spend in such a lovely room.We stayed just one night and enjoyed the ambience and gracious hospitality.We were just passing through Stowe on a 1week road trip of Vermont and this was probably the nicest accommodation we found

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Coral, Florida
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 23, 2012

I had never been to a bed and breakfast before so I didn't really know what to expect. Well, after spending 4 nights at Stone Hill Inn, I must say that the bar has been set very high. Stone Hill Inn has set the standard by which I would compare any other bed and breakfast inns. The level of service and luxury is second to none. George and Linda are the nicest innkeepers. They are warm and friendly and go out of their way to make guests feel welcome and special. Every morning breakfast was a feast and Linda was so accommodating with the menus. Linda is an excellent cook and her recipes were delicious! In the evening there were hors d’oeuvres and cookies to snack on which were yummy. We stayed in the West Branch room and it was luxurious and very spacious. The 2 sided fireplace was cozy and the jacuzzi tub was an extra treat. The inn itself is located on a hill and the grounds are beautiful. The location is prime for all the things you want to do in Stowe. I would highly recommend this romantic retreat to anyone traveling to Stowe, Vermont.

Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn, New York, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 22, 2012

My boyfriend Dan and I expected a level of luxury as we stayed at the Stone Hill Inn but what was truly remarkable was the amazing, amazing hospitality of the Inn keepers George and Linda. Warm, social and truly the pinnacle of good hospitality, George and Linda did everything possible to make our stay the most memorable. (they even woke up early to cook us breakfast when we had an early ski day!) Social hour was so much fun and we felt immediately at home. Favorite: the 9.5 acres that surround the property, the hot tub with the fireplace and well everything. Stay here! We can't wait to go back!

Room Tip: We stayed in the "White Birch" room! Very lovely!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Stone Hill Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Stone Hill Inn

Also Known As:
Stone Hill Hotel
Stone Hill Hotel Stowe
Stone Hill Inn Stowe, Vermont
Address: 89 Houston Farm Road, Stowe, VT 05672
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Vermont > Stowe
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 26 B&Bs / Inns in Stowe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Stone Hill Inn 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This romantic and secluded Stowe Breakfast Inn was designed exclusively for couples: fireside Jacuzzis for two, king beds piled with pillows, spectacular gardens, haute breakfast cuisine at private tables, nightly turn down service, in-room massages for two, and a decor of hushed elegance throughout. Rooms begin at $245 per night. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, T4B, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline and Travelocity so you can book your Stone Hill Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Stone Hill Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Stone Hill Inn to your Saves list