We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The best B&B in the world!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Stone Hill Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Stone Hill Inn to your Saves list
Stone Hill Inn
4.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   89 Houston Farm Road, Stowe, VT 05672   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Announcement
Unique Honeymoon Packages
Ranked #2 of 25 Stowe B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Houston
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“The best B&B in the world!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2008

My husband and I are repeat customers (every Christmas) at the Stone Hill Inn and have been since our honeymoon in October 2002 when we first stayed at this amazing place. Amy and Hap Jordan, the innkeepers, have thought of every single detail that one could want for a romantic getaway. The rooms are beautiful and comfortable. The fireplace and jacuzzi tub in every room make even the coldest Vermont December night warm and cozy. Amy and Hap's breakfast and evening tapas fare are absolutely delicious (though not dietetic ... plan on gaining a few pounds depending on how long you stay). And special dietary needs/preferences (like my husband's vegetarianism) are always accomodated with no trouble whatsoever. Customer service when it comes to making dinner reservations, scheduling activities, or warming your ski boots before you head to the mountain is unsurpassed. And to top it all off, Amy and Hap are two of the nicest people you could ever ask to spend a few days with! Thank you Stone Hill. We will see you next year!

Stayed December 2007
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

518 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    501
    14
    1
    2
    0
See reviews for
6
414
1
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (99)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Montreal
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2008

- was able to rest undesturbed
- was able to sleep soundly
- was able to eat exceedingly well
- had more than enough activities to choose from...lots to do on subsequent visits
- appreciated the attention to detail
- appreciated the quality standard throuhgout
- appreciated the low key atmosphere of the place, exactly the contrast to the go-go-go of day-to-day that we needed
- enjoyed the bonus of having Lucy (the dog) around which have us extra smiles

An excellent choice if you love spending quality time with your spouse.

Stayed January 2008
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2007

I didn't know about trip advisor when we stayed here in 2004 so this review is a bit old. But seeing some of the more recent reviews, I think I would have much the same experience if I returned today. I have to say that after staying at the Stonehill Inn, I have become extremely picky about other places and expect much more. I'm not sure what I liked best about this place, but to name a few it would be the new & contemporary furnshings (I can't stand old Victorian bed and breakfasts), the jacuzzi tub, fireplace that is both in the bedroom and bathroom, the friendly owners, the great breakfast and dining room, the tobagan sled, and the snacks.

It is a little pricey but definitely worth it if you can afford it. We stayed for nearly a week and did some skiing at the mountain nearby. It was a relaxing and extremely enjoyable vacation in large part due to our stay at the Stone Hill.

I wish there were more places like the Stone Hill nearby.

  • Liked — Quality of the furnishings and amenities
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed January 2004, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ithaca NY
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2007

My husband and I recently stayed for our second anniversary. The Inn in absolutely beautiful, warm and cozy. Our room was just perfect, from evening turn down service, the wonderful two sided fireplace along with the Jacuzzi tub with flickering candles, and a view of the gardens. Each morning we were able to wake up to the sound of the waterfall trickeling outside of our sliding glass door and then head to the dining room for a great breakfast! Amy and Hap do a wonderful job and should be very proud!

  • Stayed October 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cumbia U.K.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2007

On choosing this Inn from the “Select Registry” our expectations were high after reading the various reviews, and my wife and I were not disappointed. On our arrival Amy immediately made us feel very welcome, giving us a quick familiarization tour and then shown our room (The Notch) which was just fabulous. Large room with large bed and lovely views of the garden. The bathroom with a double Jacuzzi (complete with plastic duck and flickering candles), twin hand basins, walk in shower and a fire in the wall that can be seen from either room (just great!) The Inn was immaculate throughout , with pool table, board games and lounge areas and all with a homely feel to it. There is a laundrette area for you to catch up with the washing; a pillow library, an internet/e-mail facility in the lounge (keep in touch with the folks back home) and a guest kitchen area with fridge, microwave, plates, bowls, cups, knives and forks etc. Amy and Hap have thought of everything from the excellent breakfast (and Hap will be only to “hap”py to meet any of your special dietary requirements), to the chocolates and anniversary card in our room. Whilst on our wedding anniversary tour of New England we stayed at a number Inns and this has to be the best.
When we checked out we continued onto our next destination but were so disappointed with the new accommodation that we called Amy and said can we come back. Certainly she said, after she stopped laughing. Next thing you know we were back in our old room and then into the outside Jacuzzi. In a nutshell, it’s impossible to find a nicer couple than Amy and Hap who provide quality and relaxation that’s well worth the extra money. We’ll be back!

  • Liked — Everything
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed September 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Delaware
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2007

This was our 2nd visit to the Stone Hill Inn. Again, it was just perfect. Amy and Hap really do a nice job to ensure everyone has a perfect stay, but they also provide you with the privacy that you want while at a B&B. The grounds, the food and the inn are so enjoyable you never want to go home! Our first visit was last year to celebrate our Honeymoon, this year was for our 1st Anniversary, and we look forward to many future visits!

Stayed September 2007
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NY, NY
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2007

This is a lovely hotel, a very peaceful spot. If you are looking for a quiet time away this is the place for you! The grounds are gorgeous and the innkeepers wonderful people who will help with anything, but also strive to give you privacy during your stay. The food is excellent too! I was very happy with our whole experience. I would recommend this hotel highly.

  • Liked — Peace and quiet, a beautiful environment, excellent location
  • Disliked — No phones in the rooms, but this is a personal preference, and it did provide a quiet atmosphere and a nice getaway!
  • Stayed July 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Stone Hill Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Stone Hill Inn

Address: 89 Houston Farm Road, Stowe, VT 05672
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Vermont > Stowe
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 25 B&Bs / Inns in Stowe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Stone Hill Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This romantic and secluded Stowe Breakfast Inn was designed exclusively for couples: fireside Jacuzzis for two, king beds piled with pillows, spectacular gardens, haute breakfast cuisine at private tables, nightly turn down service, in-room massages for two, and a decor of hushed elegance throughout. Rooms begin at $245 per night. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, T4B, Priceline and Hotels.com so you can book your Stone Hill Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Stone Hill Hotel Stowe
Stone Hill Inn Stowe, Vermont

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Stone Hill Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.