We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect Vermont Getaway” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Green Mountain Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Green Mountain Inn to your Saves list
Green Mountain Inn
3.5 of 5 Resort   |   18 Main St, PO Box 60, Stowe, VT 05672   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 23 Hotels in Stowe
Certificate of Excellence 2014
New York City, New York
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Perfect Vermont Getaway”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2010

What a perfect place for a romantic getaway! True, it is a bit pricey, but my guy and I were celebrating our anniversary, so we decided to splurge by staying here. From the moment we arrived at the front desk, I knew we were going to have a good experience; the concierge was so genuinely friendly and gregarious, I felt as if we were old friends within minutes. There were Stowe mugs for sale at the front desk; I asked the concierge how much the mugs were, and he winkingly said, "We'll talk about that on Sunday when you check out." I figured there would be some sort of discount on mugs after staying at the place . . .

Sometimes, when you stay at an expensive place, it's just . . . expensive. At the Green Mountain Inn, it is true that you pay top dollar, but you definitely get what you pay for; the amenities are absolutely prime. Our room had a fireplace, a king-sized canopy bed, a whirlpool in the bathroom, and more space than we knew what to do with! As guests, we had access to an impressive workout facility, in addition to the swimming pool and jacuzzi. The place is an honest-to-goodness resort, not just a jacked-up hotel. My guy and I resolved to come back for a longer period of time than a three-day weekend, so that we could take fuller advantage of all the amenities there.

I should also mention the excellent bar at the Whip, the restaurant on the premises. We didn't get any food there, but the drink selection was impressive, and the bartender was terrific! They must have a pretty tight policy on customer service; every experience we had with staff members was positive.

Anyway, getting back to that mug . . . on Sunday, as we were checking out, I once again inquired about the mug . . . and the concierge told me it was free! I was definitely not expecting that; it was the proverbial icing on the cake after a fantastic weekend. If you've got the money to spend, the Green Mountain Inn is worth every penny of it!

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,333 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    901
    317
    80
    26
    9
See reviews for
266
762
35
43
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (307)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dayton, Ohio
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2010

Couldn't have been more thrilled! First visit to Stowe and we will be back to the Green Mountain Inn for sure! Upgraded at check-in to a room with a jacuzzi tub and it was well worth it! The location and amenities are awesome. Enjoyed a wonderful meal at their restaurant, The Whip. I highly recommend!

  • Stayed June 2010
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2010

My third stay at the Green Mountain Inn & this time we had a luxury room - well worth the extra!
The staff are always really nice but not intrusive and do their best to help with any problems. The outdoor pool is a great way to relax after a day skiing and is quite surreal with all the snow on the ground. You can walk through the small village of Stowe without needing to drive anywhere.
The hotel is a mixture of old & new rooms & annexes so if you want a specific type of room you must ask before arriving. The rooms at the front do suffer from traffic noise - not that Stowe is busy!

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2010

We've stayed in Stowe numerous times and this was our first visit to The Green Mountain Inn. The rooms were surprisingly spacious and quiet, the only downfall is they were extremely bright in the morning.

The front desk staff was very friendly and helpful when needed. My boyfriend had a massage and said it was the best one yet.

And, by all means if you stay you have to eat at The Whip, the restaurant connected to the Inn, the food is great and if the weather is nice having lunch out on the patio is fabulous.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2010

This is our third stay at The Green Mountain Inn and as usual, it was delightful.. The staff through out the inn is amazing . . . warm, friendly, always helpful. The inn is perfectly located in the heart of Stowe village, within walking distance to the many wonderful little shops along Main Street. We always end our day with dinner at The Whip & Grill . . . fantastic meals!

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bolton, Massachusetts
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2010

This famous inn is a landmark in the center of the village of Stowe, Vermont. If you are looking for the atmosphere of a classic New England inn that provides all the modern conveniences, this is the spot for you. The inn is very nicely decorated in the traditional 19th century New England style, as is the room in which I stayed, which has a very comfortable canopy bed, gas fireplace and large jacuzzi. The bathroom was exceptionally clean. There are inviting common rooms in the main inn building that are a nice spot to sit by the fireplace and read or converse with friends.

The breakfast buffet offers an uncommonly nice selection of pastries and was delicious. I also highly recommend the excellent Whip restaurant, in the lower level of the inn. I highly recommend the Green Mountain Inn.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North of Boston, MA
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2010

I am the type of person who likes to stay in a place that is clean and has a personality. Cookie cutter chain hotels are just not what I think about when I like to travel or have a get-a-way weekend. Green Mountain is not cookie cutter by any means. We had a gorgeous two room suite with a jacuzzi tub and a king four poster bed. It was so luxurious. Green Mountain is centrally located you can walk to all the shops. The Whig Restaurant and Bar was equally terrific. We had six people for dinner and the food and the service was wonderful. All I can say is the Green Mountain is awesome. I highly recommend it.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Green Mountain Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Green Mountain Inn

Address: 18 Main St, PO Box 60, Stowe, VT 05672
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Vermont > Stowe
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Stowe
#1 Family Hotel in Stowe
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Stowe
#2 Business Hotel in Stowe
#2 Best Value Hotel in Stowe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Green Mountain Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 107
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A beautifully restored historic inn blending classic country charm and modern amenities in the heart of Stowe village. Offering over 100 quaint rooms, suites, townhouses and apartments, many with fireplaces and Jacuzzis. Enjoy sumptuous cuisine in two dining rooms - including the famous Whip Bar & Grill with outdoor terrace. Heated outdoor pool, afternoon tea & cookies, health club with Jacuzzi, sauna and massage. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline and Jetsetter so you can book your Green Mountain Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Green Mountain Hotel Stowe
Green Mountain Resort
Green Mountain Stowe
Green Mountain Inn Stowe, Vermont

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Green Mountain Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.