We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The National Suite was superb” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Green Mountain Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Green Mountain Inn to your Saves list
Green Mountain Inn
3.5 of 5 Resort   |   18 Main St, PO Box 60, Stowe, VT 05672   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 23 Hotels in Stowe
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Philadelphia
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
70 hotel reviews
Reviews in 59 cities Reviews in 59 cities
111 helpful votes 111 helpful votes
“The National Suite was superb”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2014

We spent July 4th weekend in the National Suite and thoroughly enjoyed our stay. The suite was large, comfortable and had a very well stocked kitchen. We enjoyed relaxing at the pool and were relieved that it was relatively quiet despite the high occupancy. The fitness center is small but contains everything you need for a decent workout. Although we didn't eat at the Whip Bar, we did enjoy some excellent cocktails. All of the staff that we encountered were delightful. Overall, a wonderful stay and an excellent value.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GreenMtnInn, General Manager at Green Mountain Inn, responded to this review, July 16, 2014
I’m so glad to hear that your holiday weekend was made enjoyable by your stay at the Green Mountain Inn. It seems like you had the opportunity to enjoy many of the aspects that make our Inn a great place to stay and hopefully, during a future visit, you will have a chance to enjoy a delectable meal at The Whip Bar & Grill. I look forward to welcoming you back soon and I thank you for your review.

Patti Clark
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,333 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    901
    317
    80
    26
    9
See reviews for
266
762
35
43
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (307)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hudson,NH
Top Contributor
238 reviews 238 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 63 cities Reviews in 63 cities
114 helpful votes 114 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2014

Love this Inn. It is like going home again every time we visit.

This year they have updated the pool and dining area. Love the
improvements. There is even a fire pit at the pool area for yummy smores.
They kids will love that. They sell the smores supplies at the desk.
The pool area is great. Many more tables to sit at and are very comfortable
chairs.
We sat at the new outdoor dining area. This area is really nice especially if
you are at the pool and wet. Just walk up to the dining area and have the best
lunch in town! The "Star" is my favorite.
We tried a great drink, that Ron made, his own by the way, it was really good.
It is called, "Snow on the Mountain", made with maple syrup, appropriately for the
area.
It was great to see all our friends, Tyler, Paul, Natalia and Patti. You make our stay
feel like coming home again. Thank you for that, it means a lot to us.
We met a new server, at the breakfast buffet, her name is Donna.
She is a sweetheart. It was also so good to see a familiar face, Jane. Everyone
is always so pleasant, and always a smile!
Hope to see you next year.

Room Tip: We always like the Mansfield Bldg.. It is very quiet. Although we have never stayed in the main b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GreenMtnInn, General Manager at Green Mountain Inn, responded to this review, July 16, 2014
Paula, as always, it’s wonderful to hear from you! I am so grateful to know that you feel as though the Green Mountain Inn is home and our staff are just like part of your family. Thank you for the wonderful pictures! It makes me happy to know that you were greeted with smiling faces and had the opportunity to see some familiar staff and meet new friends, as well. I look forward to welcoming you back year after year and I can’t begin to thank you enough for your wonderful and gracious review.

Patti Clark
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2014 via mobile

Just wanted to let everyone know that this Hotel and Town is just what you would want for am old time 4th of July. Honestly the best 4th of July I ever had. Folks to rate this hotel at 100 percent may not be true, but this Hotel is just Great!!!!!!!
From Tea and cookies to little bags with treats to make s'mores by the fire. This hotel does not just give you a room, it gives you a chance to go back in time. Honestly I love this hotel. Plus as old as it is it gives you the feeling of old meeting new with a really nice updated feel. From a great pool area to wonderful restaurants. I have stayed here before and will stay here again. Please try it.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GreenMtnInn, General Manager at Green Mountain Inn, responded to this review, July 16, 2014
I am truly delighted to learn that your recent stay at the Green Mountain Inn was so enjoyable. The Old Fashioned Fourth of July festivities in Stowe are absolutely a favorite of mine and I’m so happy you were here to enjoy them. Thank you for sharing how much you appreciated our thoughtful amenities and true Vermont experience that we strive to deliver. It would be our pleasure to have you return and I thank you for your kind comments.

Patti Clark
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glen Rock, New Jersey, United States
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2014

We loved everything about the Green Mountain Inn - the pretty common rooms, and cozy rooms with comfortable beds and nice bathrooms, and the really friendly and helpful staff. Stowe is a beautiful town and the hotel is a great value. We'll definitely be back!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GreenMtnInn, General Manager at Green Mountain Inn, responded to this review, July 16, 2014
It always makes me happy to hear when our guests fully enjoy themselves at the Green Mountain Inn. Thank you for sharing your experience and letting us know exactly what areas of your stay you were impressed with. It will be my pleasure to share your comments with our staff and I look forward to having you return to our Inn very soon.

Patti Clark
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
queensbury
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2014 via mobile

We just got back from a 3 day 4th of July weekend from Stowe and our 2nd trip to the Green Mtn Inn! First time during the winter months and we loved it so much we wanted to experience it in the summer. This Hotel pays attention to every detail. The rooms are so clean and bed very comfortable. We asked for a pool view and we got it. The grounds are impeccable. The pool and outdoor hot tub were amazing. The indoor hot tub great too. We much enjoyed the fire pit at night and the yard games during the day. Something for all members of the family to do!!! They offer tea and homemade cookies each day from 4-5 pm and sounds crazy but we really looked forward to the yummy treat!! Such a nice touch. So much to do in Stowe on a beautiful weekend. We biked ,hiked and kayaked! We will definitely be going back to the Green Mtn Inn!!

Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GreenMtnInn, General Manager at Green Mountain Inn, responded to this review, July 16, 2014
That’s a great shot of our pool! Thanks so much for sharing how much you enjoyed your Fourth of July weekend at the Green Mountain Inn. It sounds like you had the opportunity to enjoy many of our amenities, including our newly renovated outdoor pool area. Thank you so much for your kind review and we look forward to having you stay with us again soon.

Patti Clark
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harrogate, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2014

Pros:
Location.
Exceptional staff especially the front desk. Nothing is too much trouble. Friendly, polite and professional. A special thank you to Dermot. He is a credit to the Inn.
Breakfast/dinner very good (we didn't have lunch there).Too busy eating ice cream at Ben and Jerry's just down the road!
Spotless bedrooms with all the essentials. We had a comfy bed which was about waist high. We almost needed a ladder to climb in.

Cons:
Nothing. They have thought of everything.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GreenMtnInn, General Manager at Green Mountain Inn, responded to this review, July 7, 2014
Ensuring that our guests are fully satisfied with their experience is our utmost goal and it makes me happy to learn that we succeeded with that during your stay. Thank you for your kind compliments for both our staff and property at the Green Mountain Inn and I look forward to welcoming you back in the very near future.

Patti Clark
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Benton, Tennessee
Top Contributor
195 reviews 195 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 115 cities Reviews in 115 cities
138 helpful votes 138 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2014

The whole three nights we were there was top notch. We enjoyed the room, the staff was incredible and the morning breakfasts are the best. One of the best experiences I have ever had. I can't say much more than that.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GreenMtnInn, General Manager at Green Mountain Inn, responded to this review, July 7, 2014
Learning that your stay at the Green Mountain Inn was absolutely enjoyable is wonderful. Starting off your day with our delicious, hearty breakfast is a great way to ensure the rest of your day will be amazing. Thank you for sharing your experience with me and I hope to welcome you back to our Inn in the near future.

Patti Clark
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Green Mountain Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Green Mountain Inn

Address: 18 Main St, PO Box 60, Stowe, VT 05672
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Vermont > Stowe
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Stowe
#1 Family Hotel in Stowe
#1 Romantic Hotel in Stowe
#2 Business Hotel in Stowe
#2 Best Value Hotel in Stowe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Green Mountain Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 107
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A beautifully restored historic inn blending classic country charm and modern amenities in the heart of Stowe village. Offering over 100 quaint rooms, suites, townhouses and apartments, many with fireplaces and Jacuzzis. Enjoy sumptuous cuisine in two dining rooms - including the famous Whip Bar & Grill with outdoor terrace. Heated outdoor pool, afternoon tea & cookies, health club with Jacuzzi, sauna and massage. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline and Jetsetter so you can book your Green Mountain Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Green Mountain Hotel Stowe
Green Mountain Resort
Green Mountain Stowe
Green Mountain Inn Stowe, Vermont

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Green Mountain Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.