We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Always fabulous” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Green Mountain Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Green Mountain Inn to your Saves list
Green Mountain Inn
3.5 of 5 Resort   |   18 Main St, PO Box 60, Stowe, VT 05672   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 23 Hotels in Stowe
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Hamilton, Canada
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
“Always fabulous”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2014

Beautifully decorated rooms (deluxe rooms over the clubhouse are wonderful--quiet, with easy access to the hot tubs), lovely wine and cheese gatherings once a week, a terrific restaurant (The Whip Bar), and easy walking distance to other great restaurants and shops. It's the only place we'd consider staying in Stowe, and this was our eighth visit. A ten-minute drive (tops) gets you to the slopes for top-notch skiing. The heated outdoor pool, and indoor/outdoor hot tubs are perfect after a day on the slopes.The inn's personnel are cheerful and eager to help. It's one of our favourite places to go, a real home away from home.

Room Tip: Room 408 (luxury) is wonderful; 407 and others in the clubhouse (deluxe) are also beautiful, as are...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,333 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    901
    317
    80
    26
    9
See reviews for
266
762
35
43
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (307)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New Orleans, Louisiana
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2014

Traveled with my wife first time in the area, great location, great service, buffet breakfast was worth the price. Parking was ideal, I would go back again. Gas station across the street. People were really nice.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GreenMtnInn, General Manager at Green Mountain Inn, responded to this review, March 17, 2014
It’s so nice to hear that your first time visiting Stowe was made enjoyable by your stay at the Green Mountain Inn. We strive to provide each and every one of our guests with the utmost in service and comfort and I’m pleased that we met that goal with your experience. It would be my pleasure to welcome you and your wife back for another great stay very soon and I thank you for your kind review.

Patti Clark
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2014

Did a ski-stay package. What an amazing hotel that really pays attention to detail. The best part is the heated outdoor pool and hottub!! Perfect temperatures and just the right après-ski thing. Also...

-Amazing rooms nothing bad to say
-Beautiful decor in the hotel with fireplaces and vintage looking lounge areas
-Right in the center of town for great shopping and eating
-Complimentary afternoon tea and cookies
-Great breakfast buffet for reasonable price
-10 min from slopes
Nothing bad to say!!!

Stayed January 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Detmold, Germany
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2014 via mobile

Old but very, very nice and lovely place to stay. Friendly and helpful staff, lovely rooms, excellent restaurant, extraordinary breakfast.
And all together located in lovely Stowe VT...
We loved it - every single minute of our stay.

Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GreenMtnInn, General Manager at Green Mountain Inn, responded to this review, March 11, 2014
I really am happy to hear that your recent stay at the Green Mountain Inn was so enjoyable. Thank you so much for first, staying with us, and then letting everyone know how much you enjoyed the service levels from our staff, your accommodations and our dining options. I look forward to having you return very soon and I thank you for your kind review.

Patti Clark
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2014 via mobile

My only complain is the lack of parking, the inns restaurant and breakfast are excellent! The inn is beautiful but a bit pricey. They make a homemade oatmeal bread that is to die for. Centrally located with a general store and gift shop too. We come here every year.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GreenMtnInn, General Manager at Green Mountain Inn, responded to this review, March 11, 2014
Isn’t our homemade Honey Oatmeal Bread something wonderful? I’m thrilled that you choose to return to the Green Mountain Inn year after year and even happier that we provide you with an exceptional experience each time. Thank you for sharing with us and please come back soon.

Patti Clark
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ocala, Florida
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2014

Booked for our wedding 4 months in advance, hotel had some communication problems but got thru it. Were very upset by breakfast pkg, the waitress told us buffet only which was incorrect and not very good. On last morning we were told the correct info. We also were only allowed to use small little dessert plates one day for breakfast buffet, they said regular size plates only allowed when brkfst is served upstairs. We also had 3 rooms, no idea why the pricing was what it was. The fancy "suite" was really the same size as regular room but a lot more money...then the 2 basic rooms were drastically different then each other but were the same price. Make sure you book room 408 and not 407 if you can. 408 was twice the size (even has a couch) and 407 is very small. Wish they had told us up front since we booked months and months in advance. We still had a great time but just wish communication had been better

Room Tip: Don't spend money on fancy suites, regular rooms are just as nice and a lot less money
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GreenMtnInn, General Manager at Green Mountain Inn, responded to this review, March 11, 2014
I certainly do apologize for any confusion that was created regarding the breakfast selections that we offer. We offer a Continental Breakfast Buffet which includes all cold buffet items and then our Full Country Breakfast which includes everything from the cold buffet along with our hot buffet line and any orders through our kitchen. Regarding room sizes; being an Inn and not a cookie-cutter hotel, all of our room types vary slightly in size depending on their location. It seems there were areas within your stay where we could have improved and provided you better service and I hope that during any future stays we can do just that. Thank you for sharing your concerns with me.

Patti Clark
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guelph, Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2014

A Gem in the heart of Stowe. Historical Inn has it all, Location, comfort, perfect bed linen, and spotlessly clean. I was not happy with the added 6% service tax. I tip generously and was insulted with the surprise 6%. I suggested they raise the price 6%. They refunded the charge. It was not about the money, it was about they way it was added to the bill. I'm happy to pay any price, that's upfront!

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GreenMtnInn, General Manager at Green Mountain Inn, responded to this review, March 11, 2014
I’m so glad to hear that your stay at the Green Mountain Inn was comfortable. Taxes are never a happy subject, and I apologize if the service charge that is applied to each room was not clearly identified on your bill. The service charge is added to your bill for your convenience. It is shared by all hotel staff that provided services to you during your stay. Guests are advised of the charge at the time of booking, noted in the confirmation letter and also on the registration card presented at check-in. It is certainly a discretionary charge and we are happy to remove it from your bill, upon request. I do hope to be able to welcome you back in the future and I thank you for reaching out to me.

Patti Clark
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Green Mountain Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Green Mountain Inn

Address: 18 Main St, PO Box 60, Stowe, VT 05672
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Vermont > Stowe
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Stowe
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Stowe
#1 Family Hotel in Stowe
#2 Best Value Hotel in Stowe
#2 Business Hotel in Stowe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Green Mountain Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 107
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A beautifully restored historic inn blending classic country charm and modern amenities in the heart of Stowe village. Offering over 100 quaint rooms, suites, townhouses and apartments, many with fireplaces and Jacuzzis. Enjoy sumptuous cuisine in two dining rooms - including the famous Whip Bar & Grill with outdoor terrace. Heated outdoor pool, afternoon tea & cookies, health club with Jacuzzi, sauna and massage. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline and Jetsetter so you can book your Green Mountain Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Green Mountain Hotel Stowe
Green Mountain Resort
Green Mountain Stowe
Green Mountain Inn Stowe, Vermont

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Green Mountain Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.