We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Stay at Stowe” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Green Mountain Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Green Mountain Inn to your Saves list
Green Mountain Inn
3.5 of 5 Resort   |   18 Main St, PO Box 60, Stowe, VT 05672   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Ski, Ride, Stay From $132
Ranked #1 of 23 Hotels in Stowe
Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Great Stay at Stowe”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2013

The Inn was built in 1833 and although its had extensive renovations it still retains it’s rustic feel. We stayed for 3 nights in early October, our room was very large, quiet and clean. When we arrived in the room it was quite warm but the only heat was coming from the gas fire pilot light. Within 30 minutes of asking the staff if they could do something about it they had the pilot light switched off, very impressed. The breakfast buffet was very good and the staff very friendly and polite.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GreenMtnInn, General Manager at Green Mountain Inn, responded to this review, October 29, 2013
It is always our goal to provide the most comfortable and relaxing atmosphere for our guests and it was our pleasure to assist you with adjusting the temperature in your room. I am very pleased to read that the service levels you experienced with our staff fully impressed you and I look forward to welcoming you back to the Green Mountain Inn in the near future. Thank you for your kind review.


Patti Clark

General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,272 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    853
    306
    78
    26
    9
See reviews for
244
736
34
43
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (294)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ludlow, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2013

We just stayed here 3 nights with our son and daughter in law, a last minute booking. It was a very pleasant experience. We had a large room with two big beds and a jacuzzi in our bathroom. It was all very clean and beautifully decorated - although I think the sink unit in the bathroom could do with a little tlc. The staff were very helpful and friendly and the homely atmosphere throughout the hotel made our stay very comfortable. We twice are our evening meals in the hotel restaurant - I had the best steak ever (fillet mignon) - had nothing that good for over 40 years and that was in Wichita, Kansas. The only thing I wasn't keen on was the coffee served at breakfast which was very bitter. I preferred the coffee that was available in the room.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GreenMtnInn, General Manager at Green Mountain Inn, responded to this review, October 29, 2013
What a compliment it is to hear that your meal in the Whip Bar & Grill was overwhelmingly impressive! I’m so happy that you and your family fully enjoyed your stay at the Green Mountain Inn and I hope your visit to our beautiful state did not disappoint. Thank you for your kind compliments of our staff and accommodations and hope to welcome you back for another stay very soon. Thank you for your review.


Patti Clark
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Rochester, New York, United States
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2013

Friendly staff, well-maintained property. Big screen TV and Keurig in room. Bathroom recently remodeled -comfortable size. No grab bars. Toilet very low. Very clean. Beds high- very comfortable. Requested wheelchair accessible room. Got 1st floor with one medium step entry. Entrance and bathroom doorways too narrow for large w/chair in this 2 queen bed room (#307). Bed blocked w/c access to room. Nearby rooms with small ramp have only one queen bed. Sidewalk too narrow to safely turn w/c around for straight approach to entry. Sidewalk drop off dangerous for everyone! Staff facilitated electrical outlet plug-in in lobby for recharge of w/c at night.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GreenMtnInn, General Manager at Green Mountain Inn, responded to this review, October 29, 2013
I do thank you for reaching out to me with your concerns in regard to the accessibility of our rooms at the Green Mountain Inn. It is only from a guest’s perspective that we can fully understand what needs our attention and for that I do appreciate your feedback. I am happy to read that our staff assisted you in every way in order to make your stay enjoyable and I look forward to having you stay with us again in the future. Thank you for your review.


Patti Clark

General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2013

We recently stayed two nights at the Green Mountain Inn with another couple. We booked into the king rooms with fireplaces and Jacuzzi (right in the room). The room was large, well decorated with colonial reproductions with a flat screen TV (viewable from the tub!).

Breakfast had some of the best pastries ever!

The only thing to watch out for is the dinning room/bar. If you're seated in the back room (with the kitchen to the side) you can get strong aromas from the cooking food that you may find objectionable. Instead book into the room towards the front of the hotel.

Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GreenMtnInn, General Manager at Green Mountain Inn, responded to this review, October 29, 2013
Getting away with friends is always a real treat and I’m excited that you all were able to enjoy yourselves at the Green Mountain Inn. I agree - the homemade pastries in the Main Street Dining Room are absolutely amazing! Thank you for sharing your enjoyment of our Inn and our dining options and I hope to welcome you back for another great stay very soon.


Patti Clark
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boca Raton,FL
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2013

We spent two nights at the Green Mountain Inn. We stayed in a "luxury family suite". The suite had two rooms and a bathroom. One bedroom had two twins. The bathroom was luxurious and clean. The main room was spacious with a king size bed, jacuzzi and fireplace.The decor was elegant and beautiful. The staff were very helpful and friendly. The location was unbeatable right in the heart of Stowe within walking distance to great shops and restaurants. The dining room offered a buffet breakfast that we passed on. We loved sitting in front of the fireplace in the comfy wing back chairs with a glass of wine.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GreenMtnInn, General Manager at Green Mountain Inn, responded to this review, October 23, 2013
Your review describes the epitome of a relaxing stay at the Green Mountain Inn - cozy chairs to sink into while enjoying a cocktail – spacious guestrooms to relax in amidst luxury amenities – and a centric location, perfect for exploring the quaint shops and outstanding eateries in Stowe. Thank you for your wonderful review of our Inn and I look forward to welcoming you back in the future.


Patti Clark

General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Killingly, CT
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2013

Our trip to Stowe almost didn't happen, because we started our reservation search too late into leaf season. The Green Mountain Inn found room for us however, in one of their "country rooms." We expected a small room, but were happy to find a beautiful room with plenty of space for two. The service overall was excellent, whether we were asking for hiking location suggestions, or were getting S'Mores packets (complete with toasting stick) to use at night out by their fire pit. The breakfast was great too.
The people were friendly, and went out of their way to make our stay memorable. We would not hesitate to stay there again!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GreenMtnInn, General Manager at Green Mountain Inn, responded to this review, October 23, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience at the Green Mountain Inn with us. I am thrilled that we were able to accommodate you during your impromptu trip and I hope the foliage display did not disappoint. It’s great to hear that your recent experience has made it so that you would consider staying with us in the future. Thank you for your review and come and visit us again soon.


Patti Clark
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2013 via mobile

We spent a night at the Green Mountain Inn and enjoyed it very much. The place exude charm and is steeped in history. The photo's in the lobby and other public areas document the area and tourism in Stowe. We had a room just off the original inn at the depot. The room and bathroom were pretty small, but provided enough room for the two of us for one night.

The next morning we took advantage of the Breakfast service and were pleasantly pleased with the quality and cost for it.

We're looking forward to returning to the Inn and enjoying the area and the friendly service.

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GreenMtnInn, General Manager at Green Mountain Inn, responded to this review, October 23, 2013
I am absolutely looking forward to welcoming you back to the Green Mountain Inn for another exceptional stay very soon. I’m so happy that your brief stay with us was so enjoyable and I hope you will be able to plan for a longer stay in the future. Thank you for sharing your enjoyment of our Inn and for your kind review.


Patti Clark
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Green Mountain Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Green Mountain Inn

Address: 18 Main St, PO Box 60, Stowe, VT 05672
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Vermont > Stowe
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Stowe
#1 Romantic Hotel in Stowe
#1 Family Hotel in Stowe
#2 Business Hotel in Stowe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Green Mountain Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 107
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A beautifully restored historic inn blending classic country charm and modern amenities in the heart of Stowe village. Offering over 100 quaint rooms, suites, townhouses and apartments, many with fireplaces and Jacuzzis. Enjoy sumptuous cuisine in two dining rooms - including the famous Whip Bar & Grill with outdoor terrace. Heated outdoor pool, afternoon tea & cookies, health club with Jacuzzi, sauna and massage. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Jetsetter so you can book your Green Mountain Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Green Mountain Hotel Stowe
Green Mountain Resort
Green Mountain Stowe
Green Mountain Inn Stowe, Vermont

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Green Mountain Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.