We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing Ski Vacation with Luxury Living!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Stowe Mountain Lodge

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Save
You added Stowe Mountain Lodge to your Saves list
Stowe Mountain Lodge
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   7412 Mountain Road, Stowe, VT 05672   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Ski & Stay in Stowe, VT
Ranked #2 of 23 Hotels in Stowe
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Newmarket, New Hampshire
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Amazing Ski Vacation with Luxury Living!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

My husband and I picked The Mountain Lodge at Stowe for the 2nd week of our Honeymoon and so glad that we picked this Slopeside Resort. Our package included a week in their Timberline Studio, daily breakfast and 4/5 days of skiing. We loved our room with it's very comfortable King bed, dressed in luxury linens; the fireplace with sitting area, a very efficient kitchenette with everything you need and a beautifully appointed bathroom. The breakfasts were served in a dining room looking at the mountain and served elegantly...delicious entrees to choose from and organic coffee! The ski valet service took care of storing ski's and boots and within a 5 minute call, ready to put on and head to the gondola at the lodge that takes you directly to Stowe's Gondola and highest peak! The service throughout the resort is unsurpassed...with friendliness and efficiency. Our 4 days of skiing on beautifully groomed trails was amazing and if it wasn't for aching bones we would of stayed out until the lifts closed! Our room overlooked their heated outdoor pool and jacuzzi's, which we indulged in after skiing.
This was a vacation I truly did not want to leave. It certainly was memorable for us !

Stayed December 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,120 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    748
    228
    86
    37
    21
See reviews for
443
427
23
72
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (306)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Maine
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

We own a boutique hotel awarded top 10 in the country and therefore we don't write reviews as we know how challenging running a hotel can be. But this has been such an aggravating process that I understand that people get upset and write negative reviews. What is the issue? We made a reservation for three rooms for a one nights stay. Together with some friends who also own a hotel in my home country, The Netherlands, we decided to make a D-tour and drive a touristic route to our destination with a stop at Mountain Lodge, where I stayed many times and always recommended as a wonderful place. We made the reservation the same day we arrived. On their website there was no mention of any special events. Upon arrival the check in was long and confusing. The receptionist was trying to locate rooms, asked if we had to be together on the same floor, which we didn't and told us she was unable to upgrade us (we didn't ask for an upgrade) and we said it was not necessary. We stayed one night and it was already late. We went to the rooms and 10 minutes later we gathered to drive to the village for a dinner. We returned at 11pm, had a drink and went around midnight back to the room. Non of us ever looked outside, it was pitch dark, raining, so we all closed the curtains and went to bed. The next morning at 5.30AM loud noise of a truck backing up, I thought it was the garbage and remember thinking it was strange the hotel didn't make arrangements for later pick-up. But then another truck and more noise. At 6 AM loud construction noise, power tools, people screaming etc. Naturally I couldn't sleep. Call the front desk, the reply was nothing they could do. Also my friends were wide awake. We all had slept for four and half hours. I went downstairs to talk to the manager. Explained him that it was unacceptable that the hotel put us in rooms next to such a massive construction side. No apologies, he just went on explaining it was not the hotel doing the construction. Not completely true as it is the same company owning the hotel doing construction. Perhaps not on the land of the hotel, but adjacent to the hotel and the breakfast girl told us later that it was surely a construction to benefit the hotel guests. This should have been mention on the website, told upon check in and the hotel should have given us the opportunity to go somewhere else. Most hotels were empty, the reservation was made directly with the hotel, so not via a 2nd party and the hotel charged us $365 per room excluding taxes and excluding breakfast. In low season this is a steep price to be placed next to a construction side. Initial the front desk manager declined any form of compensation and then offered breakfast, which we declined. The General Manager was not available and did not return my many phone calls. In addition the hotel made a big mistake in charging the rooms to the correct credit card, which makes me believe that the hotel has some serious operational issues. It is unfortunate we were planning a skiing trip for the winter and would have returned many time, after this experience I will not go back anymore. Most of all it was a great lesson that as a hotelier you always need to communicate with your guest. It is not about the compensation, we can afford the money, it is the fact that nobody in this hotel took our complaint serious, not apologized. And than on top of it they basically lied about it. Inexcusable and a well deserved one star rating.

Room Tip: Avoid construction side
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2014, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StoweMountainLodge, Manager at Stowe Mountain Lodge, responded to this review, 2 days ago
Thank you for sharing your experience from your recent Fall visit. I’m sorry to read you hadn’t received my message shortly after your visit. Just a few updates; the development has since moved indoors for much of the activity adjacent to the Lodge and our guests are very excited about upcoming amenities. We are happy to announce new retail and dining facilities just steps away from the lobby, scheduled to open early this winter. I certainly encourage contacting me directly and look forward to offering so much more to our guests in the near future.

Regards,
Matthew Quick
Director of Rooms
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

From the moment we pulled up to the Valet at the front door we knew it was going to be a special weekend for our first visit to Stowe Mountain Lodge! Everyone was incredibly polite and friendly and the attention to service was Four Season like. You would be hard pressed to find any of the employees not incredibly helpful and cheerful to all your requests. The decor of the hotel is amazing and it feels like a lodge in the Rockies but with Vermont accents. My only constructive feedback is that they should have more Christmas decorations around the hotel for the Holidays :-) The food in the main dining room is spectacular.... exisquitely prepared and very farm to table fresh. I highly recommend a stay here during your next trip to Stowe!! VM

  • Stayed December 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago NEW via mobile

We stayed in Stowe for a weekend away without kids. The room was fabulous despite the fact that we were facing all the construction. The balcony, fireplace and kitchenette were all perfect! I would certainly ask for a room facing the woods. The swim in and out pool and hot tub was also a bonus! Definitely a beautiful spot!

  • Stayed November 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Hampshire
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Clean, up to date, good, free coffee in the morning, but check your bed when you first get to the room. It tuned out that ours was broken on the right side so that I felt like I was rolling off all night. No acknowledgement from management.

Stayed October 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StoweMountainLodge, Manager at Stowe Mountain Lodge, responded to this review, 2 days ago
I was concerned to hear about your experience regarding the condition of the bed. We are most interested in rectifying beyond your expectations. Please feel free to reach out to me directly and I would be happy to assist you.

Regards,
Matthew Quick
Director of Rooms
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hoboken, New Jersey
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

I went to Stowe Mountain Lodge with my boyfriend for a quick weekend getaway. It was so great. From the concierge to the rest of the staff, the personal attention and service was unparalleled. It was great to get to swim in the heated pool and hot tub in the snow, and we had an amazing experience. The gym is also really nice and accessible. The rooms are beautiful, with very comfortable beds and sheets. The rooms have mini kitchen areas for snacks and drinks, and the bathrooms are beautiful and sparkling clean. I would highly recommend.

Green Features: Hotel is very environmentally friendly and will give you credits to the store for opting out of house keeping.
  • Stayed December 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Great location: closest hotel to the Stowe mountain resort! Wonderful patio downstairs with a fireplace. Outdoor hot pool and jacuzzi. It was little snow storm, so to stay in the pool outside wearing winter hat was unforgettable! Resort also provide different SPA procedures. Also there sre shop where you can buy Stowe souvenirs. Rooms are spectacular, especially bathroom!!! Restaurant serve american food. Tomato soup is highly recommendable.

Green Features: Resort staff was ready to help with all scheduled activities
  • Stayed November 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Stowe Mountain Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Stowe Mountain Lodge

Address: 7412 Mountain Road, Stowe, VT 05672
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Vermont > Stowe
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Ski-In / Ski-Out Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Stowe
#1 Business Hotel in Stowe
#1 Spa Hotel in Stowe
#2 Romantic Hotel in Stowe
#4 Family Hotel in Stowe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Stowe Mountain Lodge 4.5*
Number of rooms: 300
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Amex, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Sabre Hospitality Solutions, getaroom.com, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Tingo and Jetsetter so you can book your Stowe Mountain Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Stowe Mountain Hotel Stowe
Stowe Mountain Lodge Vermont

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Stowe Mountain Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.