We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Outstanding Family Getaway for even teenagers!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Stowe Mountain Lodge

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added Stowe Mountain Lodge to your Saves list
Stowe Mountain Lodge
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   7412 Mountain Road, Stowe, VT 05672   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Bed & Breakfast Package
Ranked #3 of 24 Hotels in Stowe
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Belmont, Massachusetts
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Outstanding Family Getaway for even teenagers!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2014

Our family has vacationed at Stowe Mountain Lodge for the last four summers. The only other hotels we stay at with family is the Ritz Carlton Properties. Stowe Mountain Lodge has the same level of service as the Ritz Carlton. We stayed in a condo over looking the pool with views of Mount Mansfield highly recommend that view if you are traveling with children. The concierge is key to helping to motivate teenagers. Over three days we went horseback riding inexpensive $40 an hour, on 8 zip lines $100 worth it!, swam in a waterfall after ten minute hike (free), rented bikes and did 10 miles (stopped for ice cream in stowe center). When you got back to resort you could hang in condo on balcony with glass of wine and kids have plenty of room to watch movie in unit. We toasted marshmallows at firepit at pool at night. The condos have kitchettes which comes in handy. Worth the trip if you are looking for relaxation for any age.

Room Tip: Rooms over looking pool are great if you have children
See more room tips
Green Features: This hotel tries very hard to follow environmentally-friendly practices
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,222 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    806
    258
    96
    40
    22
See reviews for
492
457
26
76
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (338)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Boston, Massachusetts
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2014

A wonderful place in any weather. Great for skiing as a gondola leaves directly from the property. Great in the spring, summer and fall as your in the mountains with all that they have to offer. The hotel is a first-class property that treats its guests with care.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StoweMountainLodge, Manager at Stowe Mountain Lodge, responded to this review, July 23, 2014
Thank you for sharing your recent experience of Stowe Mountain Lodge! We pride ourselves on providing exceedingly personalized service at any time of year. We look forward to seeing you again soon.

Regards,
Matthew Quick
Director of Rooms
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
43 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
108 helpful votes 108 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2014

This hotel delivers an attentive, comfortable stay in a luxurious but eco-friendly environment. This hotel is ideal in every way. The words which best describe Stows Mountain Lodge are beautiful, comfortable, modern, luxurious but not ostentatious and extremely attentive customer-focused staff. First the rooms--- very thoughtfully designed with every aspect in mind for all of the comfort conveniences. Particularly impressive are the size of the rooms. Even the smallest rooms are spacious with a kitchenette area and separate seating area. Other notable features are the mini dishwasher in the kitchenette, the comfortable beds with cotton linen of such a high-thread count that I have never slept in such soft linen and the bathrooms with separate toilet areas apart from the marbled bath area with both a large jacuzzi tub and a glass encased shower. Other nice features of the rooms are the private patio for each room, leather covered studded chairs, electronically-controlled fireplace and a separate storage closet for ski gear.

Also attractive is the ski-in/ ski out location with the gondola which runs straight into the property both summer and winter. The large heated pool and Jacuzzi area are nicely done and nicely designed with a convenient location in the middle of the property. The exercise facility is also top rate with a spacious gym with ample equipment and a variety of exercise classes which will be held even if there is only one guest who shows up for the class. The standout for this property is the friendly, attentive and accommodating staff. At every interaction and turn there is a staff person offering assistance or offering to answer questions. The only negative is that the resort is 6 miles from the heart of the town. Thus, to explore shops and restaurants in town requires some planning. However, it is very uncommon to find a ski property anywhere located at the base of the runs, ski-in/ski-out while at the same time being located in the heart of the town. If I return to Stowe, this will definitely be the place to stay on the next visit.

Green Features: This hotel received an A+ for its environmental-friendly practices.
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westchester, NY
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2014

I wholeheartedly agree with MGS227. Stowe Mountain Lodge is a 3 or 4 star hotel that wants to be 5 stars, but just doesn't put forward the extra touches and service. We were on an American Express Platinum Package which includes a room upgrade, if available. There were plenty of rooms available, but we had to actually ask for the upgrade. (It should be given automatically.) We were asked to wait an hour or two and they would have an upgraded room available for us. They suggested we have a drink in the lounge while we waited, but did not offer to comp the drinks. The first room we were given was clearly an upgrade - a large suite, but it also smelled badly and had food and dirt on the floor in the living area and bedroom. We were then told it would take another hour or two for another upgraded room. We went to dinner and when we returned, we were given a suite albeit, much smaller than the first room. Overall, the hotel was beautiful with wonderful amenities. They just need to step up their service game:
- housekeeping is not that of a 5 star hotel. Towels were changed and beds made...that's it.
- pool service (towel service, chair set-up, food etc...) is lacking although the pool area is quite nice
- service needs to be improved (The concierge is below par for a hotel of this caliber. Staff is friendly but doesn't go the extra mile).

We actually liked Stowe Mountain Lodge as the lounge and restaurants were very nice, the lobby is warm and inviting, and the room was nice as well. We just wish the service at the hotel was better. It would have made all the difference.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2014

Stowe Mountain Lodge tries really hard. I'll give it that. I was continually reminded of the theme song from Cheers ("Sometimes you want to go where everybody knows your name…."). Everywhere we went, the staff knew who we were and greeted us by name and asked how that particular day's activities went ("Hello Mr, X- how was your bike ride). They were all very nice and eager to help. That was the best part.
My wife actually said it best, when she said it was a 3 star hotel that wanted to be a 5 star hotel. It's the little things that make the difference in the best of stays.
Unfortunately, many little things were disappointing at SML:

Upon arrival the stopper in the bathtub was broken (though it was quickly fixed).

There was a jagged/broken piece of plastic in the shower drain that I luckily saw before I had the chance to cut myself on it.

WiFi service is spotty at best. Most of the time it was either intermittent or completely unavailable. When it was available it was slower than dial up service used to be 15 years ago. This was very frustrating as there is very little cell reception as well and I was supposed to be doing some work while also on vacation.

They ran out of towels at the pool the first day we were there before we got there. There were explanations about overuse and a late shipment, but how does a resort run out of towels?

The food at the pool was also pretty bad. It took a very long time to arrive and the waiter had given us wrong information about what we ordered.

My wife was also given totally incorrect information about the spa when we booked. We were told that the spa facilities would be available to guests of the Lodge but not if you booked through an owner. Not true. There is a daily fee for spa facility usage. What's more, when my wife asked to take a look at the spa facilities they would not even let her take a look. She did wind up booking a treatment that she enjoyed, but this was not good customer service at all.

When housekeeping made up our room every morning, they woudl never leave fresh supplies (shampoo, conditioner, bath gel). I always had to track them down to replenish.

As noted, the room was comfortable and the staff was very nice, but you expect more from a property of this reputation.

Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StoweMountainLodge, Manager at Stowe Mountain Lodge, responded to this review, July 18, 2014
We appreciate hearing about your recent stay. We are currently addressing the WIFI opportunity and are able to boost signal in any given location throughout the Lodge. Your comments regarding the pool dining, as well as the general room maintenance are being addressed in a training environment.

Please let me know if you plan to visit the area in advance. We would greatly appreciate the opportunity to exceed your expectations.

Regards,
Matthew Quick
Director of Rooms
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
toronto
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2014

Alright so this was our second time. We went over July 4th weekend and had an absolute blast. so much so that we after driving about 2 hours to get back home, we turned around and went back for another night. Why, why not. The staff was wonderful, the hotel is outstanding, hiking is spectacular, bike riding fun and the residents of Stowe welcome you with a smile and open arms. What more can you ask for.

Room Tip: Can't help with this one. we had a view of the front which included a stunning mountain view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StoweMountainLodge, Manager at Stowe Mountain Lodge, responded to this review, July 17, 2014
WOW! Thank you for returning to Stowe Mountain Lodge - so soon! We love hearing stories like this. We look forward to seeing you again….whenever you like!

Regards,
Matthew Quick
Director of Rooms
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Woodlands, TX
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2014

My family of four stayed two nights at the Stowe Mountain Lodge in early July 2014. Despite checking in late in the evening, the friendly young lady working the check-in desk (I wish I could remember her name!) was able to upgrade us to a suite (with a full kitchen and a washer and dryer - quite helpful given the dirty clothes that we had accumulated during our ongoing road trip); she was also quite accommodating regarding our request for sandwiches to be made and delivered to our room early the following morning to take on our zipline tour (at ArborTrek). The rest of the staff (housekeeping, valets and bellhops) were also well trained and quite friendly and seemed to enjoy their jobs and pleasing their guests. Unlike my stay at the equally pricey Hershey Hotel (in Hershey, PA), at Stowe Mountain Lodge I feel like I got a premium hotel experience and premium service for the premium price paid. I plan to make Stowe, VT part of our next trip to the northeast and to stay again at Stowe Mountain Lodge.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StoweMountainLodge, Manager at Stowe Mountain Lodge, responded to this review, July 17, 2014
Thank you for the glowing review of Stowe Mountain Lodge! We are thrilled to hear about your visit during your road trip and look forward to your return to Stowe, Vermont.

Regards,
Matthew Quick
Director of Rooms
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Stowe Mountain Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Stowe Mountain Lodge

Address: 7412 Mountain Road, Stowe, VT 05672
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Vermont > Stowe
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Stowe
#1 Business Hotel in Stowe
#2 Romantic Hotel in Stowe
#3 Family Hotel in Stowe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Stowe Mountain Lodge 4.5*
Number of rooms: 300
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Amex, Priceline, Splendia, TripOnline SA, Sabre Hospitality Solutions, Orbitz, Hotwire, Odigeo, getaroom.com, Hotels.com and Jetsetter so you can book your Stowe Mountain Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Stowe Mountain Hotel Stowe
Stowe Mountain Lodge Vermont

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Stowe Mountain Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.