We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Hotel and Great, Friendly Service; Well Worth the Price!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Stowe Mountain Lodge

Save Saved
You added Stowe Mountain Lodge to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Stowe Mountain Lodge
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   7412 Mountain Road, Stowe, VT 05672   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Best Available Rates
Ranked #3 of 23 Hotels in Stowe
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
The Woodlands, TX
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Great Hotel and Great, Friendly Service; Well Worth the Price!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2014

My family of four stayed two nights at the Stowe Mountain Lodge in early July 2014. Despite checking in late in the evening, the friendly young lady working the check-in desk (I wish I could remember her name!) was able to upgrade us to a suite (with a full kitchen and a washer and dryer - quite helpful given the dirty clothes that we had accumulated during our ongoing road trip); she was also quite accommodating regarding our request for sandwiches to be made and delivered to our room early the following morning to take on our zipline tour (at ArborTrek). The rest of the staff (housekeeping, valets and bellhops) were also well trained and quite friendly and seemed to enjoy their jobs and pleasing their guests. Unlike my stay at the equally pricey Hershey Hotel (in Hershey, PA), at Stowe Mountain Lodge I feel like I got a premium hotel experience and premium service for the premium price paid. I plan to make Stowe, VT part of our next trip to the northeast and to stay again at Stowe Mountain Lodge.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StoweMountainLodge, Manager at Stowe Mountain Lodge, responded to this review, July 17, 2014
Thank you for the glowing review of Stowe Mountain Lodge! We are thrilled to hear about your visit during your road trip and look forward to your return to Stowe, Vermont.

Regards,
Matthew Quick
Director of Rooms
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,042 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    699
    212
    77
    34
    20
See reviews for
428
388
22
63
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (280)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2014

The hotel itself it's beautiful, the service amazing... And thank god it is because of the price you pay for everything to stay at this resort. Don't forget your toothbrush or else you can get a really expensive one. No complimentary items here. Only disappointing part was after visiting the spa we, the bridal party were required to take off our own shellac polish, and it was replaced with regular nail polish. No one uses that anymore!!!! Ah! Not worth the price. The spa staff however were super sweet, but need to have more staff on hand to take care of a bridal party. We spent 6 hours in there and all had to redo our nails the next day, and change our makeup. However the wedding planner was AMAZING and made my best friends wedding a dream come true. Don't think I would go back for a stay, but was nice to visit.

Stayed July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StoweMountainLodge, Manager at Stowe Mountain Lodge, responded to this review, July 17, 2014
Thank you for sharing your recent experience at Stowe Mountain Lodge and our Spa. I apologize for the inconvenience at The Spa. I have shared your experience with our team at The Spa in a training environment. Kindly reach out to me at the Lodge with any more questions or comments.

Regards,
Matthew Quick
Director of Rooms
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ellicott City, Maryland
Top Contributor
104 reviews 104 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
78 helpful votes 78 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2014

We stayed at the Stowe Mountain Lodge in late June. The resort is very nice. The lobby is expansive and well appointed, and our room was comfortable. They even let us self park in the lot next to the hotel so we would not have to pay $21 per day for valet parking. I imagine this is not possible during the winter. They did try to have my sign some paper that I think would have signed me up for timeshare presentations, but I refused to do so and it wasn't an issue.

We stayed in the Timberline studio. It had plenty of space and decent stocked kitchenette if we wanted to cook. The bathroom was nice with a separate shower. There were some issues: There are no electrical outlets anywhere near the desk. I had to run the plug for my laptop to the other side of the room. Additionally, the wireless Internet was experiencing severe problems. I encountered major packet loss and could barely load any pages.

The resort itself is very nice. But the big problem we had was that virtually nothing is active at Stowe during the summer. None of the shops are open. The cafeterias are not open. There was construction everywhere. Even the gondola was not operating. I talked with a staff member in reservations, and he failed to mention that the gondola would not be operating this summer. Apparently Stowe planned to open a chairlift for the July 4th weekend, but we left before then.

Note that the Lodge is at the base of Spruce Peak. This is where the Alpine Slides are located. But the hiking and views are on Mt. Mansfield, which is nearly a half mile from the hotel. During winter there is a gondola to transport you to Mt. Mansfield. This was not operating while we were there. I don't know if it was closed for the summer or if this was due to gondola maintenance.

If Stowe was more active in the summer like other ski resorts, the Stowe Mountain Lodge might be a great place to stay. For us, it ended up being a pretty resort in the middle of nowhere with virtually nothing going on. I'm sure it's nice (and very expensive) during the winter.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StoweMountainLodge, Manager at Stowe Mountain Lodge, responded to this review, July 17, 2014
We appreciate hearing your perspective and thank you for your feedback. We pride ourselves in offering a variety of experiences for all travelers; including dynamic group functions, romantic getaways, and family adventures. Our Alpine Concierge is pleased to fine tune our guest’s visit and we are always happy to offer a more personalized experience.

Regards,
Matthew Quick
Director of Rooms
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belmont, Massachusetts
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2014

We recently visited the Lodge as a large group (three families) and the experience was excellent.

As soon as we pulled into the driveway, the service was wonderful. All the staff were very friendly and welcoming, but Stephen at the front desk was outstanding. His ability to accommodate all our needs (without skipping a beat) was exceptional. We've traveled throughout the US staying at the Ritz properties and the level of service is similar. Kudos to Stephen and the management team.

Highlights of the trip:
Swimming in the pool - large, clean pool without the crowds of summer
Zip lining in Smugglers Notch. - little scary, but very fun adventure
Hiking to Bingham Falls swimming hole - absolutely beautiful spot and refreshing water
Gazing at the star from the patio

Thank you for a memorable vacation.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Redding, Connecticut
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2014

We planned to spend 4 days at the hotels over the July 4th weekend. We ended up checking out a day earlier. On our 2nd day the hotel lost power, the refrigerator in our room stopped working and the air conditioner failed. We did not see this problem get resolved. To add to this, construction outside starts early and could not get any sleep. When we asked to checkout a day early due to the issues that were not gettting resolved the front desk had the audacity to consider an early checkout fee. The manager on call had the common sense to not charge a fee.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Long Island
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2014

We just got back from our second summer stay at SML. We stayed a week each time. I would agree with others that the lodge and surrounding area are absolutely beautiful with plenty to keep you busy. I would also agree with mass_traveler100's review that the lack of towels coming out of the heated pool on a cool windy day was not fun. (When we saw a hotel employee coming into the pool area with several towels, my son went to get one but an adult ran past him to grab up the last 3. Nice right.) Anyway, our Ridgeline Studio room in the west wing was on the 1st floor. You could see the very top of the mountain beyond the trees and the road noise was not great with the balcony door open. On the bright side, we had a pretty great shot of the fireworks on July 5th. Next time we'll pay a bit more and go for the Alpine Studio.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2014

We spent a long 4th of July weekend here and had a wonderful time. Service is outstanding - after being there only 3 days it seemed half the staff knew our names and couldn't have been more responsive and pleasant.

Grounds were beautiful, pool was great and Solstice food and service was excellent. Everyone from the bellmen to the front desk staff, the valets to housekeeping was great.

The construction is a drag - and booking through AMEX we didn't realize this would be happening - but they were able to change us last minute to another room facing the pool which was lovely. It was just in front of the elevator so a bit noisy, but towels at the bottom of the door helped with that.

Agreed with another writer that there were some issues with a lack of towels by the pool, housekeeping coming on time and even the air conditioning shutting down on a particularly balmy night for about 4 hours as well as other operational issues, but the staff was so incredibly friendly and accommodating and the managers so eager to help that we were fine with the problems here and there.

One big change would be the kids' adventure club. My kids tend to love these but the only option was a pricey all-day session from 8:30 til about 4, which was outsourced and too long considering we actually wanted to spend some time with our kids. Would've been nice to have another option like a half day session for half or even 2/3rds the price - enough for the grownups to squeeze in a golf session or the like.

A second change would be to add some nice touches like complimentary coffee. Solstice doesn't open til 7 in the summer and for those of us with young kids it would be nice not to have to pay $4 for a coffee while we kill time in the morning waiting for the restaurant to open.

Room Tip: 1st floor rooms on the south wing overlooking the pool tend to be noisier but have bigger balconies...
See more room tips
Green Features: Seems very committed - signs everywhere and encouragement to lessen the footprint.
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Stowe Mountain Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Stowe Mountain Lodge

Address: 7412 Mountain Road, Stowe, VT 05672
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Vermont > Stowe
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Ski-In / Ski-Out Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Stowe
#1 Business Hotel in Stowe
#2 Romantic Hotel in Stowe
#5 Family Hotel in Stowe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Stowe Mountain Lodge 4.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Amex, Jetsetter, Tingo, Sabre Hospitality Solutions , Travelocity, Otel, getaroom.com, Priceline, Odigeo and Venere so you can book your Stowe Mountain Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Stowe Mountain Hotel Stowe
Stowe Mountain Lodge Vermont

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Stowe Mountain Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.