We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous Find in Vermont!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Stowe Mountain Lodge

Save Saved
You added Stowe Mountain Lodge to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Stowe Mountain Lodge
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   7412 Mountain Road, Stowe, VT 05672   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save Up to 30% Off!
Ranked #2 of 23 hotels in Stowe
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Raynham
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
“Fabulous Find in Vermont!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2013

We have stayed at the lodge three weekends in the past year. The last time we got engaged in the hotel !
From the staff to the spa, it is a TRUE resort experience. The employees are all extremely friendly(and not in a fake way). I love how they greet you with a huge smile every single time and say "welcome back"...you feel like you are coming "home" for sure!
We have spent at least one half day each visit at the AMAZING spa. We cannot say enough about our spa experience, it is truly decadent and the staff is first rate. They remembered us as well.The spa amenities are also five star quality. Extreme attention to detail. The individual staff members and treatments were one of the best we have experienced. We are true spa people and can honestly say this spa is top rate! If you do love to "spa" and stay at the lodge, it's a must do!
The restaurant is extremely welcoming as well. The food and wine selection is wonderful. The staff again, remembered us and even sent us our "signature engagement drink" to our dinner table the night after our engagement!
Rooms are very clean and always in very good condition. I recommend the view of Mansfield Mountain. One trip was a bit disappointing, as we were located right adjacent to the entrance to the valet area; not very romantic or private...still, we love it there. You just need to research where your room availability is prior to checking in hotel. I am sure they would have accommodated us if we have voiced our concern.
The breakfast(we always order room service)is wonderful as well. Great egg white omelettes. We have stayed in many great places and frequented the best of spas...by far the Stowe Mountain Lodge is one of our favorites!

Room Tip: Check the map of room locations. Rooms facing the mountain, not overlooking valet area are best.
See more room tips
Green Features: Great for vegetarians. Spa and hotel are all "green"...
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StoweMountainLodge, Manager at Stowe Mountain Lodge, responded to this review, October 30, 2013
Congratulations on your recent engagement! We are so pleased to be part of your engagement story! Thank you for coming back to Stowe Mountain Lodge and trusting us with your special moment. We hope to welcome you back again for more getaways...and memories!

Regards,
Matthew Quick
Director of Rooms
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

996 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    665
    207
    72
    33
    19
See reviews for
410
372
21
58
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (266)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Duncansville PA
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2013

from the time we pulled up to the time of our departure we experienced excellence in service. The staff was 100% impressive addressing us by name with every interaction. Each staff member reflected well the image of Stowe: warm, casual yet amazingly professional.

Room Tip: this is a very large property so if being close to the restaurants, etc. is vital to you it would be...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StoweMountainLodge, Manager at Stowe Mountain Lodge, responded to this review, October 30, 2013
Thank you for such a great review of Stowe Mountain Lodge! Our staff continually provides genuine and authentic serivce with a smile. It's anticipatory service without being intrusive. We hope to be able to welcome you back to Stowe soon.

Regards,
Matthew Quick
Director of Rooms
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NY, NY
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2013

I really enjoyed my stay here - so much so that I extended my reservation for an extra night. The room was lovely and had a fantastic view. I loved having the sitting area with fireplace, the balcony and the small kitchenette. The bathroom was fantastic with a deep soaking tub. Generally I found the rooms quiet - I know there were people in the neighboring rooms but I couldn't hear them unless they were on the balcony. Didn't love the valet service - the people were terrific and helpful - but my room was in a different wing so having to walk to the main lobby to get it and either have to call first or wait for them to bring it around, was a bit of a pain. In the end I figured out how to park myself around the back of the hotel - closer to my room. In terms of other lodge services - I ordered room service a few times and the service was fast and the food good. The spa was terrific too - had three massages with different people - and each was different but all were great. I'll be back for sure.

Green Features: I thought they did a great job - had special light bulbs, low flow shower heads and the usual reminders/options to conserve on towels, sheets etc.
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StoweMountainLodge, Manager at Stowe Mountain Lodge, responded to this review, October 7, 2013
Thank you for choosing to stay at Stowe Mountain Lodge...and then extending your stay! We take pride in our work and ability to make people so comfortable that they stay longer. From the massage therapists to the valet team, everyone does their part to make your stay memorable. We look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

Regards,
Matthew Quick
Director of Rooms
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2013

This lodge provides Everything you could ever need. Gas fireplace in each room, kitchenette, porch to enjoy the beautiful view and a beautiful bath with shower and an oversized tub. First class all the way.

Room Tip: Any room in this lodge is excellent
See more room tips
Green Features: Completely on board with "green" habits.
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StoweMountainLodge, Manager at Stowe Mountain Lodge, responded to this review, October 30, 2013
Thank you for reviewing Stowe Mountain Lodge. Our goal is to create a home-away-from-home for all of our guests. To do so, we provide the comforts of home in the rooms and suites as well as provide a level of service that leaves nothing to be desired. We hope to welcome you back for your next Stowe, Vermont vacation.

Regards,
Matthew Quick
DIrector of Rooms
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbia, MO
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2013

We came with a tour group and placed in a much smaller room than everyone else, key didn't work, locked out of bathroom. No vending machines and couldn't get a soda as on site store open short hours which didn't correlate with our tour. Drink prices outlandish. Finally did get room upgrade after complaining. Trail around property beautiful!

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kingwood, Texas
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2013

Booked Classic room on Expedia. Placed in room that is small and cramped. No desk because room is too small. We were informed by the front desk that rooms are individually owned and not necessarily the same as pictured on website. Rep said there is nothing he can do even if we wanted to pay for upgraded room because they are full. Just arrived so no further opinion yet. Very disappointed in lack of value for $350 per night. Room feels like a Hampton Inn with nicer bathroom.

Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StoweMountainLodge, Manager at Stowe Mountain Lodge, responded to this review, September 30, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to share your recent experience. As you can imagine, floor plans are unique to each room due to the layout of the property. While there are slight differences in each, we pride ourselves on delivering on our promise of all services, amenities and offerings as advertised.

I’m sorry we didn’t have the availability to offer a larger room to you during our fall foliage. Please feel free to reach out to me with any additional questions or concerns.

Regards,
Matthew Quick
Director of Rooms
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2013

This was the fourth hotel we stayed in on our tour of New England. Having stayed in two beautiful boutique hotels and a slightly larger new hotel prior to this one the size and scale of The Stowe Mountain Lodge was considerably grander and slightly overwhelming to start with but we were very impressed with everything there. The staff everywhere throughout the hotel were fab and the great receptionist that eventually checked us out had amazing patience as I battled with having given them my pre loaded credit card as my authorisation card on check in and needed to get that cash back to pay off the bill. We got there in the end but lessons learned not to do that again ! I was a little annoyed at the maid who made it so obvious that she wanted a tip by reminding us that she was only there for the next two days and if she wished us a happy stay once she did it four times in one conversation making me feel a bit uncomfortable - can't blame the hotel for that though. It would have been good to have been offered the park yourself option rather than the default valet park at $20 per day which was excellent but we didn't know that it wasn't obligatory. The rooms were great and we loved the fireplace but please put some mirrors in the main bedroom. They were only in the bathroom and not everyone wants to have someone drying their hair by the sink while they shower, or worse still while you are using the bathroom . It just held us up getting ready in the mornings and we kept getting in each others way. The location of the hotel was fantastic, breakfast great - Al a carte better and less expensive than the weekend buffet, depending on what you have but for all four of us it worked out cheaper and was lovely and you didn't t have to stroll around to get it. Would stay again and highly recommend it.

Stayed September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Stowe Mountain Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Stowe Mountain Lodge

Address: 7412 Mountain Road, Stowe, VT 05672
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Vermont > Stowe
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Ski-In / Ski-Out Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Stowe
#1 Green Hotel in Stowe
#2 Romantic Hotel in Stowe
#3 Family Hotel in Stowe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Stowe Mountain Lodge 4.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Amex, Sabre Hospitality Solutions , getaroom.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Hotels.com, Tingo and Jetsetter so you can book your Stowe Mountain Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Stowe Mountain Hotel Stowe
Stowe Mountain Lodge Vermont

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Stowe Mountain Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.