We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful setting” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Stowe Mountain Lodge

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added Stowe Mountain Lodge to your Saves list
Stowe Mountain Lodge
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   7412 Mountain Road, Stowe, VT 05672   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Ski & Stay in Stowe, VT
Ranked #2 of 23 Hotels in Stowe
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Columbia, MO
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Beautiful setting”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2013

We came with a tour group and placed in a much smaller room than everyone else, key didn't work, locked out of bathroom. No vending machines and couldn't get a soda as on site store open short hours which didn't correlate with our tour. Drink prices outlandish. Finally did get room upgrade after complaining. Trail around property beautiful!

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,120 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    748
    228
    86
    37
    21
See reviews for
443
427
23
72
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (306)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Kingwood, Texas
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2013

Booked Classic room on Expedia. Placed in room that is small and cramped. No desk because room is too small. We were informed by the front desk that rooms are individually owned and not necessarily the same as pictured on website. Rep said there is nothing he can do even if we wanted to pay for upgraded room because they are full. Just arrived so no further opinion yet. Very disappointed in lack of value for $350 per night. Room feels like a Hampton Inn with nicer bathroom.

Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StoweMountainLodge, Manager at Stowe Mountain Lodge, responded to this review, September 30, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to share your recent experience. As you can imagine, floor plans are unique to each room due to the layout of the property. While there are slight differences in each, we pride ourselves on delivering on our promise of all services, amenities and offerings as advertised.

I’m sorry we didn’t have the availability to offer a larger room to you during our fall foliage. Please feel free to reach out to me with any additional questions or concerns.

Regards,
Matthew Quick
Director of Rooms
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2013

This was the fourth hotel we stayed in on our tour of New England. Having stayed in two beautiful boutique hotels and a slightly larger new hotel prior to this one the size and scale of The Stowe Mountain Lodge was considerably grander and slightly overwhelming to start with but we were very impressed with everything there. The staff everywhere throughout the hotel were fab and the great receptionist that eventually checked us out had amazing patience as I battled with having given them my pre loaded credit card as my authorisation card on check in and needed to get that cash back to pay off the bill. We got there in the end but lessons learned not to do that again ! I was a little annoyed at the maid who made it so obvious that she wanted a tip by reminding us that she was only there for the next two days and if she wished us a happy stay once she did it four times in one conversation making me feel a bit uncomfortable - can't blame the hotel for that though. It would have been good to have been offered the park yourself option rather than the default valet park at $20 per day which was excellent but we didn't know that it wasn't obligatory. The rooms were great and we loved the fireplace but please put some mirrors in the main bedroom. They were only in the bathroom and not everyone wants to have someone drying their hair by the sink while they shower, or worse still while you are using the bathroom . It just held us up getting ready in the mornings and we kept getting in each others way. The location of the hotel was fantastic, breakfast great - Al a carte better and less expensive than the weekend buffet, depending on what you have but for all four of us it worked out cheaper and was lovely and you didn't t have to stroll around to get it. Would stay again and highly recommend it.

Stayed September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2013

Stayed over 3 nights . Put in wrong room initially, and then upgraded to better than we had paid for - thanks. Hotel is excellent. Quiet , but is obviously a ski resort , and out of season. Room was excellent . Some have commented on mandatory valet parking at 20 dollars a day - this is not so, as there is a large car park out back , you just have to ask for the option when checking in as the default is valet parking. Breakfast is v good, and varied. Trips we dis were the drive up the toll road to mountain top, and the gondola ride- would highly recommend both.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Top Contributor
81 reviews 81 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2013

The location is well situated at the foot of the mountain in Stowe with great views. The resort is huge especially compared with everything else in Stowe. It has a more corporate or "wilderness theme park" atmosphere than some of the more intimate local hotels lining the mountain road. The facilities are extensive (especially the pool and fitness areas) and offer a number of options for activities. The rooms are good sized with fireplaces and large marble bathrooms. It is clean and well kept. The dining room and bar felt generic though the food was good. The valet/bell men were very friendly and hustling - though it seems steep for the hotel to be charging $20 per night to park. While there was nothing especially unpleasant about the experience here it lacked the feeling of warmth owing to its large size and ersatz country decor.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StoweMountainLodge, Manager at Stowe Mountain Lodge, responded to this review, October 1, 2013
Thank you for your review of Stowe Mountain Lodge. Based at the foot of Mount Mansfield, our amenities stretch from the designed to the natural with activities both on and off mountain. We look forward to welcoming you back for your next foliage tour.

Regards,
Matthew Quick
Director of Rooms
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woodstock, Vermont
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2013

Besides the gorgeous setting at the base of Mt. Mansfield and the beautiful facility, I was very impressed with the staff. They were all very engaged and welcoming. The lovely resort and rooms are but a canvas... the employees make it a piece of art.

Skye Reno

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StoweMountainLodge, Manager at Stowe Mountain Lodge, responded to this review, October 1, 2013
What an incredible review -- thank you for sharing your thoughts on Stowe Mountain Lodge! Our staff strive to create this Vermont ski lodge into your home-away-from-home regardless of the season. We are thrilled to hear you feel so welcomed and comfortable here. We look forward to welcoming you back again.

Regards,
Matthew Quick
Director of Rooms
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2013

Absolutely a fantastic resort! They provided the highest level of service one could expect from any top resort. They go way above and beyond for the guests. When the cab broke down on the way from the resort to the airport, the resort gave me a complementary lift.
The golf course is extremely well maintained and a good layout for any level golfer.
I highly recommend this resort.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Stowe Mountain Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Stowe Mountain Lodge

Address: 7412 Mountain Road, Stowe, VT 05672
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Vermont > Stowe
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Ski-In / Ski-Out Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Stowe
#1 Spa Hotel in Stowe
#1 Business Hotel in Stowe
#2 Romantic Hotel in Stowe
#4 Family Hotel in Stowe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Stowe Mountain Lodge 4.5*
Number of rooms: 300
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Amex, Expedia, Orbitz, getaroom.com, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Jetsetter and Tingo so you can book your Stowe Mountain Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Stowe Mountain Hotel Stowe
Stowe Mountain Lodge Vermont

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Stowe Mountain Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.