We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“This place rocks!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Stowe Mountain Lodge

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added Stowe Mountain Lodge to your Saves list
Stowe Mountain Lodge
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   7412 Mountain Road, Stowe, VT 05672   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Ski & Stay in Stowe, VT
Ranked #3 of 23 Hotels in Stowe
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Woodstock, Vermont
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“This place rocks!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2013

Besides the gorgeous setting at the base of Mt. Mansfield and the beautiful facility, I was very impressed with the staff. They were all very engaged and welcoming. The lovely resort and rooms are but a canvas... the employees make it a piece of art.

Skye Reno

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StoweMountainLodge, Manager at Stowe Mountain Lodge, responded to this review, October 1, 2013
What an incredible review -- thank you for sharing your thoughts on Stowe Mountain Lodge! Our staff strive to create this Vermont ski lodge into your home-away-from-home regardless of the season. We are thrilled to hear you feel so welcomed and comfortable here. We look forward to welcoming you back again.

Regards,
Matthew Quick
Director of Rooms
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,147 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    760
    236
    91
    39
    21
See reviews for
456
432
23
73
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (315)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta, Georgia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2013

Absolutely a fantastic resort! They provided the highest level of service one could expect from any top resort. They go way above and beyond for the guests. When the cab broke down on the way from the resort to the airport, the resort gave me a complementary lift.
The golf course is extremely well maintained and a good layout for any level golfer.
I highly recommend this resort.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rockville Centre, New York
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2013

This is a great summer vacation spot. The town is great with plenty to do. The hotel is terrific with a friendly, helpful staff. The rooms are terrific: large, king size and extremely comfortable bed, jacuzzi bath. The breakfast is included and is outstanding. The pancakes are the best I have ever had. The restaurant in the hotel is excellent and there are great restaurants all around as well. I highly recommend this.

Room Tip: Take the rooms in the area off the street. They have a wide selection.
See more room tips
Green Features: This is Vermont so highly environmentally friendly
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here for two nights in July. The lodge is very nice and the surrounding area was breathtaking, however, the service was awful. Prior to arriving, we had our credit card number stolen, so the CC company sent us new cards via overnight delivery to the lodge. We received an email from VISA saying the CCs were delivered and signed for by someone at the lodge at 10:30 am. No one could find the envelope containing our new credit cards!!! The workers there are all very young and don't seem to know what they are doing. Six weeks later we still have not heard from the Lodge regarding the envelope!!!!! If we fall victim to identity theft, we know where it originated. How can you not locate a large envelope that was sent overnight and signed for by someone at your Lodge?!! One of the worst customer service experiences we have ever had.
Stay here for the beauty, but you will not be getting any type of service.
PS: I'd like to get our envelope eventually.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StoweMountainLodge, Manager at Stowe Mountain Lodge, responded to this review, October 4, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience. I am concerned to hear about the apparent shortfall in service. Please call me at your convenience as I would like to assist you in resolving the issue personally.

Regards,
Matthew Quick
Director of Rooms
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Pole
Top Contributor
257 reviews 257 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 61 cities Reviews in 61 cities
201 helpful votes 201 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2013

We originally booked a studio, but by signing up for the free loyalty program, they upgraded us to a one BR. They are 950 square feet. At $470/ night all-inclusive, that's about 50 cents per square foot.

Large, sprawling complex built for skiers, but has a nice feel off-season, too.

Rooms are designed for long stays: many have kitchens, washers, driers, etc.

They said the outdoor pool is heated to 87 degrees, but that seems optimistic.

$20/ day mandatory valet parking. Wifi is free.

Our room had a heating and cooling unit which made the most annoying and loud noises. Even with our earplugs in, we could still hear the noise.

Took three different mechanics to finally fix the ice maker.

The south wing is the newer of the two wings. Love the marble and tile they chose when designing the bathrooms.

Night stands on either sides of the bed---yay!

Room Tip: Join the free loyalty program and get an upgrade when checking in.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2013

I stayed at the Stowe Mountain Lodge in late August 2013 for a 3 day conference. The Stowe Mountain Lodge is a beautiful rustic type lodge. I've rated the hotel in several categories below:

Service - from the front desk to the bellman - everyone is very friendly and available to help at your request. For example, you can ask one of the bellman to take you a short distance, in my case 2.5 miles to the entrance of the sterling pond hiking trail, in a Mercedes SUV.

Rooms - rooms are decent, bigger than normal for a standard room and the JR suites have a gas fireplace and separate bedroom. Each of the aforementioned boast a small fridge and kitchenette with some plates. Bathrooms modern and roomy.

Hotel Layout - the footprint of the hotel is a little odd. If you have a room that is accessed by elevators behind the front desk, you are more centrally located to the Conference rooms, restaurant and main lobby of the hotel. However if you are located in the other section of the hotel, you will have to walk a fairly long distance to elevators that will take you to that side of the hotel where the pool and spa are located. There is a secondary entrance near these elevators.

Food - the conference room breakfast was typical Buffett items but all fresh and good. The only issue I had was on the formal night of the conference where they served "rubber" chicken breast and a crab cake the size of a "slider" both not very good. Now the green beans, likely locally grown, were delicious.

View - I had the opportunity to stay in two rooms with different views. One of Mt Mckinley and the front entrance and one of the back of the hotel whic I preferred.

Overall a nice hotel - not the best hotel I've stayed in but I'm sure the atmosphere is much nicer during ski season.

Recommendations - I ran a mile down the road to a waterfall that was a short 10-15 min walk to the 25 foot falls. Also highly recommend the hike to sterling pond which is a 35-45 minute hike depending on experience. This is at the top of smugglers notch ski resort?

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StoweMountainLodge, Manager at Stowe Mountain Lodge, responded to this review, October 1, 2013
Thank you for reviewing your conference at Stowe Mountain Lodge. While we are a great destination for vacations, our meeting facilities offer the same level of service to create memorable events for your business or clients. Thank you for mentioning the recreation as well -- being at the base of Mount Mansfield and Smugglers' Notch creates for amazing on mountain experiences, regardless of the season!

Regards,
Matthew Quick
Director of Rooms
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2013

This hotel absolutely took my breath away. Not only is it practically right beside a gorgeous range of mountains, but it was one of the best hotels I've ever had the pleasure of staying in to date.

The parking is mostly valet, and the staff is absolutely wonderful there. They always ask how your day has been, give recommendations, and help you with anything you need to take in or out. The hotel lobby is very chic and centered around nature, which the hotel itself is as well. It is quite a bit of a walk to the elevator but there are plenty of stores, the spa, and the entrance to the pool on the way so it's understandable.

The room's were VERY spacious and clean. We slept in a room on the third floor with a view of the pool with two queen beds. There are plenty of channels to choose from and there are even movies to rent, so there's a good variety of entertainment.

Now, the pool was the highlight of my stay there. It's very large and has a perfect depth. It's open till 10:00 pm so there's plenty of time to lounge around there. around 8:00 pm they start the poolside bonfire which is available for warmth, and also to make your own s'mores in! It's a great way to meet people and also very memorable. There is also a very good poolside bar.

The Spa is also very convenient. Although I didn't make an appointment there myself, I did book a hike with them which I would also highly recommend (The Nebraska Valley Hike). They basically take a group of 6 in a car ride 15 minutes away from the resort to Nebraska Valley. The sights you see, people you meet, and final lookout were absolutely breath taking. If you've had experience hiking I would highly suggest you check it out.

Finally, we did most of our dining out of the resort, but we did manage to have dinner and breakfast at 'Solstice' in the resort once. The dinner was perfectly done. We had a cheese platter and I ordered the rack of lamb; both were delicious, especially the cheeses. The service there is also great. The breakfast was good too, but the service left a little something to be desired after the previous night but still great.

Stowe Mountain Lodge didn't seize to impress. It's a great resort surrounded my beautiful nature. We did visit the hotel in the summer, so obviously it's less busy than in the winter, but still more than worth the visit. It's left me with amazing memories and I wouldn't hesitate to come back as soon as I can.

Green Features: Stowe Mountain Lodge was very environmentally-friendly, even their poolside cups were made of plant based materials, which was great for the world and for your health!
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StoweMountainLodge, Manager at Stowe Mountain Lodge, responded to this review, October 1, 2013
Thank you for writing your review of Stowe Mountain Lodge. We are pleased that not only our facility impressed you but also our staff. Our valet team is a joy to work with and have greeting our guests. We hope they are able to welcome you back soon for your next Vermont Vacation!

Regards,
Matthew Quick
Director of Rooms
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Stowe Mountain Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Stowe Mountain Lodge

Address: 7412 Mountain Road, Stowe, VT 05672
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Vermont > Stowe
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Ski-In / Ski-Out Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Stowe
#1 Green Hotel in Stowe
#1 Spa Hotel in Stowe
#2 Romantic Hotel in Stowe
#6 Family Hotel in Stowe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Stowe Mountain Lodge 4.5*
Number of rooms: 300
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Amex, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Splendia, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Tingo and Jetsetter so you can book your Stowe Mountain Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Stowe Mountain Hotel Stowe
Stowe Mountain Lodge Vermont

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Stowe Mountain Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.