We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Expensive but worth it - Vezo” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Stowe Mountain Lodge

Save Saved
You added Stowe Mountain Lodge to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Stowe Mountain Lodge
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   7412 Mountain Road, Stowe, VT 05672   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save Up to 30% Off!
Ranked #3 of 23 hotels in Stowe
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Montreal, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Expensive but worth it - Vezo”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2013

Very romantic and clean. Even in summer ist cool. More then perfect for skiing. Always à pleasur.
The staff is very welcoming. One OF the best i had experience. Very coooooool ! Five time in three years.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StoweMountainLodge, Manager at Stowe Mountain Lodge, responded to this review, September 4, 2013
When we have a guest who has visited as often as you, we know we have done something right. Thank you for sharing your experiences. We hope to welcome you back for your next romantic weekend getaway.

Regards,
Matthew Quick
Director of Rooms
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,009 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    673
    208
    75
    34
    19
See reviews for
416
376
21
60
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (268)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Massachusetts
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2013

Before staying at it, I resented the way the Lodge had further gentrified a resort that, for all the expenses, had long maintained an atmosphere of shabby chic. For years we stayed at a family style lodge; it has since closed.
Looking out from the inside, the experience is mostly positive. Certainly the convenience is there—although the long walk from lift to entrance is an odd architectural design flaw. The staff are pleasant and helpful.
Quibbles: Given the high room rates, the checkout policy is frustrating. If you come for a weekend, you check in late and later want to leave late, after a shower in the room. No such luck. If available at all, late checkout comes with a hefty fee. (We were able to arrange for showers in the spa.) Minor point: WiFi was iffy.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worcester, Massachusetts
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2013

My husband and I stayed here for two nights in July, 2013 for our anniversary. We loved it but we bet it's even more amazing in the winter.

I'll start by reviewing the design of the lodge. It's beautiful inside and out. By the end of our stay my husband was getting awfully tired of me talking about how awesome the floors, colors, lighting, ambiance, etc, etc, were. Everything seems top of the line, super clean, and gorgeous. Yeah, this place is expensive even in the off season (at least for us) but dang, it feels like it's worth every penny.

We went to the Hourglass bar and enjoyed it. They have a bar, tables, and cozy lounge seating. We tried some local brews and had great food & cheese there. The bartender made some small talk with us about local beer and such. He was nice and friendly but not overpowering. He left us be most of the time but wasn't impossible to get the attention of if we needed refills or to order food. Food was a little slow to come out but we weren't in any rush anyway.

The room was big and cozy. Ours had a kitchenette which came in handy and was again designed really well. The bathroom was really nice with a separate room for the toilet for extra privacy, which is nice. The shower head wasn't great but due to their 5 star eco-friendly rating, I can see why and I'm fine with that.

The staff we encountered were all really nice as well. We couldn't get our room key to work one day and BAM there was a housekeeper there to save the day without us even asking.

The grounds and the pool are also really beautiful. It was nice and quiet even though the hotel had kids and pets around. It was really nice. My husband and I are city dwellers so this was a welcome thing for sure. At night on the balcony, we saw more stars than anywhere we have been in our lives. Pretty amazing especially with a view of Mount Mansfield.

This is a strange thing to say, I know. But often hotels have a funky...overly clean, chemically smell in the hallways outside the rooms. Not here! It smelled clean but not chemically...just fresh. The lobby...is beautiful. I almost died when I saw it.

We came for our first anniversary and when we made our reservation, the extremely super sweet woman who booked it for us put a note in there about that. We expected something from them about that just because she let us know about putting a note on there but we didn't notice anything special for us. They're not big on the freebies like some hotels but that's ok. We didn't mind.

Overall, I'd absolutely recommend this place for couples. I saw a bunch of families there and with the pool, outdoor games, and small arcade, I bet it's great for them too even in the summer. With a special rate for summer and a sale special, we paid somewhere around $253/night (including taxes, etc) for a Timberline Suite.

Room Tip: Mountain Views are Spectacular. Ask for higher floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Haven, Connecticut
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2013

Wonderful escape for summer ..... cool breezes at night and lots to see and do . Hiking and visiting the magnificent hamlet of Stowe ...or riding to the top of Mount Mansfield for some amazing vistas ...also horseback riding and shopping available .

Room Tip: Be sure to ask for a room with a view of Mount Mansfield .
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2013

I rented this time from VRBO. Unit 357 and the owner Karen is responsive and nice. Her end unit is spacious, clean and exactly what I needed. I would rent from her again!! The pool is nice and heated, but good luck getting food or drink poolside. The staff seemed unaware of the guests needs and they seemed like part time college kids working in a resort town. The valet staff is responsive and nice. Front desk staff seems uninformed. They also seem like college kids or people that have this job for recreation only. A few times they were unaware of locations inside the lodge. I also had a package delivered at 1030 one morning and I had to ask them to get it for me at 4 pm. They were completely unaware of urgency and blamed the bell staff for being too busy- yea right.

We did the alpine slide and the other kids attractions! They were all great. The gondola up the peak is a must do with fabulous views and friendly staff.

I've been playing the clinics at top notch each day. The tennis is fabulous and fast paced. Today was all about the back hand and it was 3 hours of intense practice. They really do run a Top Notch Tennis program and I will be back again next year.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StoweMountainLodge, Manager at Stowe Mountain Lodge, responded to this review, August 1, 2013
Thank you for sharing your recent experience. We are pleased to hear you enjoyed your accommodation while in residence. Your observations regarding pool services and Front Desk operations have been forwarded to team members in a training environment. We truly appreciate hearing about your visit and look forward to your return.

Regards,
Matthew Quick
Director of Rooms
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rochester NY
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2013

Great place for a family trip. We were traveling with two young children, a toddler and an infant. We were perfectly comfortable in a Timberline studio one king bedroom that had a pullout couch.The staff also brought in a pack and play which still left enough room to move around. The roomswas very nicely appointed and had a mini kitchenette, including gas burners, tea kettle, microwave, mini fridge, dishware, utensils. The bathroom is beautiful, spacious with a separate bathtub and shower. Overall we were very impressed with the people who work there. Everyone was very friendly, courteous and helpful. The food prices are steep. We booked through whatahotel.com and so had a $100 credit per stay as well as free breakfast. We had room service which was quite good. The pool area is quite nice, beautiful location, plenty of chairs and towels. The main lobby area is beautiful, and looks in person the way it does on the hotel website photos. As some as commented the lack of self parking is a negative, as the mandatory valet parking adds $20 per night to your expense.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portsmouth, NH
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013 via mobile

Just returned from a summer weekend at the Stowe Mountain Lodge and it is a gorgeous property with every imaginable amenity. It is the perfect spot to soak up the beauty of Vermont and as a full service, self contained property, they are ready to serve you at every whim. We have traveled quite a bit so I would rate some aspects of the hotel as better than most upscale hotels--the beds are extremely comfortable(literally the nicest bed I have slept in in a hotel!) the rooms are beautifully appointed, the staff is extremely friendly and attentive, and the overall property is nicely maintained. There were a few things that didn't work for us but it may just be personal preference. They do not offer a self park option--only valet service. After driving for four hours, I usually prefer a few minutes to regroup my belongings from what I need for the drive to what I need to bring in to the hotel and would have loved the option of self parking. The food and beverage prices remind me of NYC ($4.00 for a cup of coffee; $12.00 for a glass of wine) and as a self contained property, you can't walk to the nearest coffee shop to pick up your favorite beverage and they don't offer complimentary coffee for early risers. We did, however, have a wonderful meal at the casual Hourglass bar and our server was terrific and the food was delicious. The last minor note would be that the pool area was bedlam on the weekend that we visited and I know that some hotels have mood music or waterfall sounds to create a more relaxing ambience.
Again, it was a beautiful property and you can tell that the staff worked hard and took pride in their efforts. We look forward to a return visit now that we have a better feel for the area.

Lastly, just a note about the Stowe area. Given that this was our first time to the Stowe area, the "town" seemed a bit more spread out than we expected with a string of motels, restaurants, and recreational options stretched along the main road. Next time, we will definitely pack bikes to enjoy the five mile recreational bike path and might even consider staying closer to town so that we can enjoy the large array of activities on foot. We had a wonderful meal at Pie-casso, an upscale pizza joint, and enjoyed the Stowe's farmer market where we picked up some delicious honey.

For families with young children or family reunions, Stowe would be a perfect spot to gather.

Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StoweMountainLodge, Manager at Stowe Mountain Lodge, responded to this review, August 1, 2013
Thank you for such a thorough review of your stay at Stowe Mountain Lodge! While designing the Lodge, our teams wanted to create your home-away-from-home and thoughtfully appointed the rooms to create that feeling. Our staff takes pride in working at a luxury Vermont lodge which shows in their high level of service. We look forward to welcoming you back for your next vacation to Stowe, Vermont.

Regards,
Matthew Quick
Director of Rooms
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Stowe Mountain Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Stowe Mountain Lodge

Address: 7412 Mountain Road, Stowe, VT 05672
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Vermont > Stowe
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Ski-In / Ski-Out Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Stowe
#1 Green Hotel in Stowe
#2 Romantic Hotel in Stowe
#3 Family Hotel in Stowe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Stowe Mountain Lodge 4.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Tingo, Travelocity, Otel, HotelsClick, getaroom.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Hotels.com, Agoda, Venere and Jetsetter so you can book your Stowe Mountain Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Stowe Mountain Hotel Stowe
Stowe Mountain Lodge Vermont

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Stowe Mountain Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.