We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great summer retreat” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Stowe Mountain Lodge

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Stowe Mountain Lodge to your Saves list
Stowe Mountain Lodge
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   7412 Mountain Road, Stowe, VT 05672   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Ski & Stay in Stowe, VT
Ranked #2 of 23 Hotels in Stowe
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
rochester NY
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
“Great summer retreat”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2013

Great place for a family trip. We were traveling with two young children, a toddler and an infant. We were perfectly comfortable in a Timberline studio one king bedroom that had a pullout couch.The staff also brought in a pack and play which still left enough room to move around. The roomswas very nicely appointed and had a mini kitchenette, including gas burners, tea kettle, microwave, mini fridge, dishware, utensils. The bathroom is beautiful, spacious with a separate bathtub and shower. Overall we were very impressed with the people who work there. Everyone was very friendly, courteous and helpful. The food prices are steep. We booked through whatahotel.com and so had a $100 credit per stay as well as free breakfast. We had room service which was quite good. The pool area is quite nice, beautiful location, plenty of chairs and towels. The main lobby area is beautiful, and looks in person the way it does on the hotel website photos. As some as commented the lack of self parking is a negative, as the mandatory valet parking adds $20 per night to your expense.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,105 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    738
    227
    83
    37
    20
See reviews for
439
421
23
72
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (303)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Portsmouth, NH
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013 via mobile

Just returned from a summer weekend at the Stowe Mountain Lodge and it is a gorgeous property with every imaginable amenity. It is the perfect spot to soak up the beauty of Vermont and as a full service, self contained property, they are ready to serve you at every whim. We have traveled quite a bit so I would rate some aspects of the hotel as better than most upscale hotels--the beds are extremely comfortable(literally the nicest bed I have slept in in a hotel!) the rooms are beautifully appointed, the staff is extremely friendly and attentive, and the overall property is nicely maintained. There were a few things that didn't work for us but it may just be personal preference. They do not offer a self park option--only valet service. After driving for four hours, I usually prefer a few minutes to regroup my belongings from what I need for the drive to what I need to bring in to the hotel and would have loved the option of self parking. The food and beverage prices remind me of NYC ($4.00 for a cup of coffee; $12.00 for a glass of wine) and as a self contained property, you can't walk to the nearest coffee shop to pick up your favorite beverage and they don't offer complimentary coffee for early risers. We did, however, have a wonderful meal at the casual Hourglass bar and our server was terrific and the food was delicious. The last minor note would be that the pool area was bedlam on the weekend that we visited and I know that some hotels have mood music or waterfall sounds to create a more relaxing ambience.
Again, it was a beautiful property and you can tell that the staff worked hard and took pride in their efforts. We look forward to a return visit now that we have a better feel for the area.

Lastly, just a note about the Stowe area. Given that this was our first time to the Stowe area, the "town" seemed a bit more spread out than we expected with a string of motels, restaurants, and recreational options stretched along the main road. Next time, we will definitely pack bikes to enjoy the five mile recreational bike path and might even consider staying closer to town so that we can enjoy the large array of activities on foot. We had a wonderful meal at Pie-casso, an upscale pizza joint, and enjoyed the Stowe's farmer market where we picked up some delicious honey.

For families with young children or family reunions, Stowe would be a perfect spot to gather.

Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StoweMountainLodge, Manager at Stowe Mountain Lodge, responded to this review, August 1, 2013
Thank you for such a thorough review of your stay at Stowe Mountain Lodge! While designing the Lodge, our teams wanted to create your home-away-from-home and thoughtfully appointed the rooms to create that feeling. Our staff takes pride in working at a luxury Vermont lodge which shows in their high level of service. We look forward to welcoming you back for your next vacation to Stowe, Vermont.

Regards,
Matthew Quick
Director of Rooms
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, New Hampshire
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2013

Attended a conference at the resort during late spring. Weather was not particularly pleasant which may have affected our mood during the stay. The overall facility is nice with a distinctive lodge design. It does have some nice amenities such as the year round outdoor swimming pool. The staff was extremely pleasant, friendly and helpful. Given the time of year snow skiing was not an option. The conference meeting space is average, not outstanding. The food is far less than what one would expect for the price. Items in the breakfast buffets were oftentimes lukewarm or cold, lunches and dinners were bland and again warm at best. When attending a conference in an isolated location with less than desirable weather, a good to great dining experience will save the day. Unfortunately, it wasn't what occurred

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StoweMountainLodge, Manager at Stowe Mountain Lodge, responded to this review, July 31, 2013
Thank you for leaving a review of your experience during your conference. I am pleased to hear that you enjoyed the friendly staff and amenities however am disappointed your conference experience didn't meet your expectations. Your experience is no indicative of the level of service we typically provide so your message will be shared with our teams in a training capacity. Thank you again for your feedback and we hope to welcome you back.

Regards,
Matthew Quick
Director of Rooms
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Struthers, Ohio, United States
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2013

This had to be the finest and friendliest hotel I have ever stayed in!!!!! Would love to go back some day. The room was beautiful. We had dinner in the lounge and the lobster rolls were outstanding. This is the perfect place for a romantic getaway or a family vacation. It has everything. i would love to spend a week here.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2013

We stayed at the Stowe Mountain Lodge in January 2013. We had read great reviews and saw the hotel was well-positioned near the slopes. Having lived in Switzerland perhaps our expecations were too optimistic, and we found the hotel to be missing the charm and authenticity of the smaller lodges in town. Aside from the excellent valets, the service was spotty and the food just okay.
I was also disappointed by the spa - the masseuse had very sweaty hands which made the whole experience very uncomfortable. If you are avid skiers and not accustomed to more traditional alpine luxury hotels this is a great option because of the location, but I don't feel it lives up to the amazing reviews I'd seen.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StoweMountainLodge, Manager at Stowe Mountain Lodge, responded to this review, July 31, 2013
Thank you for posting a review of your experience. I'm disappointed to hear your stay didn't live up to your expectations and would appreciate the opportunity to discuss the service issues you experienced so that we may address these opportunities to improve and be ready to welcome you again. Please feel free to contact me directly at the hotel so that we may discuss these issues.

Regards,
Matthew Quick
Director of Rooms
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madison, Wisconsin
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2013

Was here for a big conference in the summer. It's a good size property up in the Green Mtns. There is a trail that runs the parimeter of the property that takes you past a stream, waterfalls and a couple of nice bridges. You do have to cross the highway to get to a part of it. You can take a gondola up the hill and try one of the hikes up there, but some are for more experienced hikers. Pool/Spa were clean and poolside service was good. The burger I ordered was perfectly done and tasty. A car is needed to go beyond the resort and it is nice they will loan you one for a few hours. Ben & Jerry's is a fun stop to see americana at it's best not to mention tasty too. The town of Stowe is a quaint place with a few shops to keep you busy. Not sure if it is more vibrant in the winter with the extra draw of the skiing. My room had a kitchen, but make sure you pick up supplies when you have the car because a dozen eggs in the gift shop will run you $6.00.

Room Tip: Ask for a top floor to ensure your view is not blocked by buildings.
See more room tips
Green Features: Opt in for skipping a day of cleaning or two. I was rewarded with $5 cert for the shops for each day I did.
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StoweMountainLodge, Manager at Stowe Mountain Lodge, responded to this review, August 1, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review Stowe Mountain Lodge as a Vermont conference facility. With over 56,000 sq ft of meeting space, an abundance of recreation coordinated by our in-house DMC and well appointed accommodations and meeting space, Stowe Mountain Lodge and Stowe Mountain Resort have been attracting meetings and conferences - large and small - to Vermont. We look forward to hosting you again for either business or pleasure!

Regards,
Matthew Quick
Director of Rooms
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jklew4
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2013

My husband and I had a great stay at the Stowe Mountain Lodge. We decided last minute to get out of town and head to Vermont with our baby. This hotel is very kid friendly and we appreciated the welcoming staff. We were able to get an upgrade on our room and were shocked at the spacious 1 bedroom suite we were given. This was awesome since we had the baby and could set up her crib in a separate room. The room also had a full kitchen so we were able to cook breakfast and dinner a few nights. The room had a private balcony overlooking the mountains and pool. The spa at this hotel was amazing and I can't wait to go back! All staff members were extremely friendly and helpful. This hotel only offers valet parking at $20 per day...something to keep in mind when booking. The hotel is about a 10 minute drive to the shopping/restaurant area. Overall we had a great stay and I look forward to returning soon!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Stowe Mountain Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Stowe Mountain Lodge

Address: 7412 Mountain Road, Stowe, VT 05672
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Vermont > Stowe
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Ski-In / Ski-Out Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Stowe
#1 Green Hotel in Stowe
#1 Business Hotel in Stowe
#2 Romantic Hotel in Stowe
#3 Family Hotel in Stowe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Stowe Mountain Lodge 4.5*
Number of rooms: 300
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Odigeo, Otel, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Tingo and Jetsetter so you can book your Stowe Mountain Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Stowe Mountain Hotel Stowe
Stowe Mountain Lodge Vermont

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Stowe Mountain Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.