We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location but not impressed” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Stowe Mountain Lodge

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Stowe Mountain Lodge to your Saves list
Stowe Mountain Lodge
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   7412 Mountain Road, Stowe, VT 05672   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Ski & Stay in Stowe, VT
Ranked #2 of 23 Hotels in Stowe
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
New York City, New York
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Great location but not impressed”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2013

We stayed at the Stowe Mountain Lodge in January 2013. We had read great reviews and saw the hotel was well-positioned near the slopes. Having lived in Switzerland perhaps our expecations were too optimistic, and we found the hotel to be missing the charm and authenticity of the smaller lodges in town. Aside from the excellent valets, the service was spotty and the food just okay.
I was also disappointed by the spa - the masseuse had very sweaty hands which made the whole experience very uncomfortable. If you are avid skiers and not accustomed to more traditional alpine luxury hotels this is a great option because of the location, but I don't feel it lives up to the amazing reviews I'd seen.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StoweMountainLodge, Manager at Stowe Mountain Lodge, responded to this review, July 31, 2013
Thank you for posting a review of your experience. I'm disappointed to hear your stay didn't live up to your expectations and would appreciate the opportunity to discuss the service issues you experienced so that we may address these opportunities to improve and be ready to welcome you again. Please feel free to contact me directly at the hotel so that we may discuss these issues.

Regards,
Matthew Quick
Director of Rooms
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,122 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    750
    228
    86
    37
    21
See reviews for
443
428
23
73
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (308)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Madison, Wisconsin
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2013

Was here for a big conference in the summer. It's a good size property up in the Green Mtns. There is a trail that runs the parimeter of the property that takes you past a stream, waterfalls and a couple of nice bridges. You do have to cross the highway to get to a part of it. You can take a gondola up the hill and try one of the hikes up there, but some are for more experienced hikers. Pool/Spa were clean and poolside service was good. The burger I ordered was perfectly done and tasty. A car is needed to go beyond the resort and it is nice they will loan you one for a few hours. Ben & Jerry's is a fun stop to see americana at it's best not to mention tasty too. The town of Stowe is a quaint place with a few shops to keep you busy. Not sure if it is more vibrant in the winter with the extra draw of the skiing. My room had a kitchen, but make sure you pick up supplies when you have the car because a dozen eggs in the gift shop will run you $6.00.

Room Tip: Ask for a top floor to ensure your view is not blocked by buildings.
See more room tips
Green Features: Opt in for skipping a day of cleaning or two. I was rewarded with $5 cert for the shops for each day I did.
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StoweMountainLodge, Manager at Stowe Mountain Lodge, responded to this review, August 1, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review Stowe Mountain Lodge as a Vermont conference facility. With over 56,000 sq ft of meeting space, an abundance of recreation coordinated by our in-house DMC and well appointed accommodations and meeting space, Stowe Mountain Lodge and Stowe Mountain Resort have been attracting meetings and conferences - large and small - to Vermont. We look forward to hosting you again for either business or pleasure!

Regards,
Matthew Quick
Director of Rooms
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jklew4
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2013

My husband and I had a great stay at the Stowe Mountain Lodge. We decided last minute to get out of town and head to Vermont with our baby. This hotel is very kid friendly and we appreciated the welcoming staff. We were able to get an upgrade on our room and were shocked at the spacious 1 bedroom suite we were given. This was awesome since we had the baby and could set up her crib in a separate room. The room also had a full kitchen so we were able to cook breakfast and dinner a few nights. The room had a private balcony overlooking the mountains and pool. The spa at this hotel was amazing and I can't wait to go back! All staff members were extremely friendly and helpful. This hotel only offers valet parking at $20 per day...something to keep in mind when booking. The hotel is about a 10 minute drive to the shopping/restaurant area. Overall we had a great stay and I look forward to returning soon!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ridgeland, Ms
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2013 via mobile

The hotel is a large place and the rooms are very clean. It may be a resort, but the resort is literally right on a highway. The major disappointment was the 9 hole par three golf course which is poorly maintained. There was cut grass clumped ll over the course and especially on the greens. They were so bad you had to remove clumps of grass to even putt

Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
andover
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2013

Stowe Mountain Lodge was beautiful, relaxing and perfect in every way from service, food, cleanliness, friendly staff, everything. The views and property is stunning and golf was a must (even if your the non-playing driver)!
We have stayed at many luxury hotels and this was a favorite!!

Room Tip: We chose an Alpine studio. Ground floor w/patio. Great view and great for breakfast on the patio...
See more room tips
Green Features: cares about the environment and guests by using quality organic, local farms and offering guests the opportunity to conserve on housekeeping.,
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StoweMountainLodge, Manager at Stowe Mountain Lodge, responded to this review, August 1, 2013
Thank you for your great review! We are always pleased to hear our guests were able to relax and unwind during your stay. We are uniquely situated between Mt Mansfield and Spruce Peak offering extraordinary views and a true escape from the every day. We look forward to welcoming you back for your next Stowe, Vermont golf vacation.

Regards,
Matthew Quick
Director of Rooms
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2013

Visited SML in the summer so that my husband could could attend a conference. Very calm and relaxing during the week, but the atmosphere changed dramatically when the hordes of 12-year old Lacrosse playing boys moved in for the weekend. Just be aware what is going on in the community when you book.

The resort is huge, and I am sure a lot more to do in the winter. Since I was not on my husband's rental car agreement, I was kind of stuck at the resort for 2 days while he attended meetings. Pool is huge and well maintained, nice walking trail around the resort and nice looking spa. That entertained about one day. No shuttle to town, but they do have a Mercedes you can test drive for a couple hours. Make sure you have transportation to see other things in the area.

The staff was great- very friendly and helpful. The Alpine Concierge - Peter, was very knowledgeable and gave us a great Lamoille County Covered Bridge Tour route to take which really showed us the parts of Vermont we wanted to see. Watching Peter converse with other people during the week, he really took the time to find out what the clients were looking for before making suggestions. Bar staff at the conference events knew us by the end of the week. Valet/door staff never allowed us to open a door. Housekeeping kept our room spotless.

Overall, a well run and enjoyable experience.

Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
USA
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2013

Courteous staff, very clean and updated rooms and amenities. Loved the in room fire place, great views and overall cosy feel. Outside fire pits are a nice touch as well. Food options were a bit limited--just one restaurant and the bar area which tended to get very packed quickly/slow service... but was still very nice to have an on site food option when we were too lazy to drive into town (we never used the kitchenette). Coffee available by the bar every morning :) Would definitely recommend staying here.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Stowe Mountain Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Stowe Mountain Lodge

Address: 7412 Mountain Road, Stowe, VT 05672
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Vermont > Stowe
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Ski-In / Ski-Out Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Stowe
#1 Spa Hotel in Stowe
#1 Green Hotel in Stowe
#2 Romantic Hotel in Stowe
#4 Family Hotel in Stowe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Stowe Mountain Lodge 4.5*
Number of rooms: 300
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, getaroom.com, Despegar.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Jetsetter and Tingo so you can book your Stowe Mountain Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Stowe Mountain Hotel Stowe
Stowe Mountain Lodge Vermont

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Stowe Mountain Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.