We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“High-end property, but I got shorted.” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Stowe Mountain Lodge

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Stowe Mountain Lodge to your Saves list
Stowe Mountain Lodge
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   7412 Mountain Road, Stowe, VT 05672   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 25 Hotels in Stowe
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Rumney, New Hampshire
Level Contributor
104 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
“High-end property, but I got shorted.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2013

I was recently here at this property for a conference, I booked my room many months in advance and requested a King bedroom. Upon checking in I got the Lock-off 2 double bed room of a larger suite. I knew there was little that could be done since they were sold out. Besides for being a small room it was nice and was clean. It had a balcony and the bathroom was really nice, even though it was almost a big as the room. The staff was great, where ever you walked they always said hello. My room had key issues and one night I had to go back 3 times in 10 minutes since the key would not work. Eventually they had a maint. person waiting for me to help me get into my room. The meeting facilities were very nice, but the food was average. One day we had Turnovers for snacks and then for lunch we had 3 courses all were pastry based, almost like they had been leftover after the winter and they needed to get rid of them. The pool looked real nice, but I never got chance to try it.

Room Tip: I would say try to get rooms with just 3 number the 1000s rooms are far away!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Polar_Caver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StoweMountainLodge, Manager at Stowe Mountain Lodge, responded to this review, June 3, 2013
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,454 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Ledyard, Connecticut
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2013

This was an enjoyable stay from start to finish..warm, welcoming, efficient, dog friendly, gorgeous views, eco-friendly..I could go on and on. Rooms were comfortable, patio was enjoyable, fireplace warmed us up and kitchen area was impressivelystocked for being such a small space! We will, without doubt, return again and again. Great staff..everywhere!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TandP520
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lynnfield, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
24 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2013

Staying at the Stowe Mountain Lodge for a conference. The facilities are immaculate and the property offers a posh take on rustic lodging while still incorporating much of Vermont's charm's artistic charm. Even standard rooms are ample size with large bathrooms and a fireplace. Proximity to local trails and the Mountain couldn't be better.

The only negative is that it's a distance from the downtown area and restaurants on Mountain Road. That said, if you come here with that in mind, you won't be disappointed. You really do have so much at your finger tips mountainside.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mark P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StoweMountainLodge, Manager at Stowe Mountain Lodge, responded to this review, May 6, 2013
Thank you for posting such a wonderful review of Stowe Mountain Lodge! We also appreciate working in a property central to some of Vermont’s finest trail systems and local attractions. Our location allows for convenient access to Stowe’s farmers markets, fine golf courses, and summer events.

We truly look forward to your return!

Regards,
Matthew Quick
Director of Rooms
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Massachusetts
Level Contributor
69 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 213 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2013

The Stowe Mountain Lodge is a beautiful resort with comfortable upscale amenities. The rooms were comfortable. I stayed in a Timberline Studio. Our gas fireplace was not working but was fixed with a quick phone call.
The kitchen area is small but adequate if needed. The bathroom was large and well appointed. Bedding was very comfortable and as has been mentioned before the sheets were extremely soft but the mattress pad underneath made it extremely warm. Room was well cleaned.
The spa area is very relaxing and worth going to. I did not have any treatments but used the facilities for steam and sauna. Very nice. The outdoor pool was a little cool when I went but if you had the stamina you could use it even in the winter.
The small bar area on the floor above the reception was welcoming. Enjoyed a nice wine and cheese platter before dinner.
All staff was very attentive and friendly. The only issue that we actually ran into was with the restaurant. There was only one open (Solstice) when we went. It was crowded but that really wasn't the problem. The issue was that there was only one waitress for the entire restaurant. The manager on duty helped out but it was less than a relaxing experience. Some of the flavors of the food was very overpowering. I think that if the waitstaff had a little more time they could explain dishes better. We had to actually ask for side dishes. I think that if we were to go at another time when the waitstaff was fully staffed it would have been a much more enjoyable experience.
All in all this resort is very relaxing and well worth the money. I would return again in a minute.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank BlushPell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2013

We stayed at the Beautiful Stowe Mountain Lodge in October 2011. It was just a short, 3-day trip to Vermont to drive along the gorgeous roads and visit the Ben & Jerry's factory and a cute little cider place not too far away.

This hotel was gorgeous. We ate at Solstice the first night, and while pricey - the food was delicious. They overcooked my beef tenderloin, but when I mentioned this to the waiter, the chef happily cooked me another one and said it was his fault. Definitely didn't ruin the experience at all. My hubby ordered the tasting menu and the first few courses were far superior to the main... overall a pretty good dinner and a nice splurge. Oh and they threw in a free desert for me for messing up my steak... Excellent customer service, in my opinion.

The room itself was gorgeous. The bathrooms were large and beautiful with tub and shower, and a separate toilet "room". We even had a small kitchenette if we needed it.

The bed was huge and we had a nice sofa as well. We could have brought two more people with us easily to sleep in that room.

My only good/bad thing about the hotel room itself were that there were markings on the sheets. They use eco friendly cleaners (the good), but they don't remove stains... that was the only real downside and slight "gross out" of the trip.

However, the real beauty of our trip was the heated outdoor pool! You enter through an inside room and swim out into the cool fall air. It is the most beautiful view at night as your nestled in the trees and the beautiful lodge. So gorgeous. We loved it so much we have been trying to find a good time to go back!

Would be a beautiful place for a wedding too!

Anyways, mostly good things to say about this gorgeous place!

Room Tip: Try to get a room on a higher floor - the pool area is noisy and if your on a lower floor you can he...
See more room tips
Green Features: While I do enjoy these environmentally friendly cleaning supplies and the general attitude, it was pretty gross to find sheets with markings all over them... I know they were clean, but it was still pretty gross.
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kimiko S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ridgefield, Connecticut
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2013

Stowe Mountain Lodge is very upscale and obviously expensive, but if you like the convenience of having your skies and boots checked and everthing waiting for you in the morning, then this is the place to be at the foot of the lifts. Paying $20/ day for parking when already check in was an irritation as well as tipping every time you wanted to drive in our out of the resort.
The rooms and bathrooms were lovely especially with the mountain view. There was a small refrigerator, microwave and sink, so you could do minimal cooking in. We brought our own breakfast and coffee was supplied. There are two restaurants, a big outdoor heated pool and two hot tubs. It was below freezing when we were there with a snow storm raging and the pool was not hot enough with the low temperature. All in all, it was a good splurge and the price dropped after Easter, yet the ski conditions were great.

Room Tip: Go at the beginning or end of the season as the rate drop.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DottyRiidgefield_CT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StoweMountainLodge, Manager at Stowe Mountain Lodge, responded to this review, May 6, 2013
Thank you for reviewing Stowe Mountain Lodge for your Vermont ski vacation. Our ski in/ski out access is the only one of its kind in Stowe and offers superb views and access to the trails. The ski valet service will make sure that your skis and boots are ready for you in the morning to only speed up your rush to the slopes. We look forward to welcoming you back to Stowe for your next spring ski vacation.

Regards,
Matthew Quick
Director of Rooms
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Caracas, Venezuela
Level Contributor
57 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2013

I had a great time at the hotel with my family. The location is great just steps from the gondolas. The ski valet service is excellent. The only thing the hotel needs to have more restaurants choices. The are only two and the room service that is the same menu as one of the restaurant.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ACJI97
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Stowe
4.8 mi away
Trapp Family Lodge
Trapp Family Lodge
#7 of 25 in Stowe
4.0 of 5 stars 929 reviews
2.6 mi away
Edson Hill
Edson Hill
#1 of 25 in Stowe
5.0 of 5 stars 68 reviews
6.2 mi away
Field Guide
Field Guide
#4 of 25 in Stowe
4.5 of 5 stars 31 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.4 mi away
Sun & Ski Inn and Suites
14.8 mi away
The Essex, Vermont's Culinary Resort & Spa
20.3 mi away
Green Mountain Suites Hotel
Green Mountain Suites Hotel
#2 of 15 in South Burlington
4.5 of 5 stars 512 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Stowe Mountain Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Stowe Mountain Lodge

Address: 7412 Mountain Road, Stowe, VT 05672
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Vermont > Stowe
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Stowe
#1 Green Hotel in Stowe
#2 Family Hotel in Stowe
#2 Romantic Hotel in Stowe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Stowe Mountain Lodge 4.5*
Number of rooms: 300
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Sabre Hospitality Solutions, Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, Odigeo, Hotels.com and Jetsetter so you can book your Stowe Mountain Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Stowe Mountain Hotel Stowe
Stowe Mountain Lodge Vermont

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing