We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“High-end property, but I got shorted.” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Stowe Mountain Lodge

Save Saved
You added Stowe Mountain Lodge to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Stowe Mountain Lodge
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   7412 Mountain Road, Stowe, VT 05672   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save Up to 30% Off!
Ranked #3 of 23 hotels in Stowe
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Rumney, NH
Top Contributor
80 reviews 80 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
“High-end property, but I got shorted.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2013

I was recently here at this property for a conference, I booked my room many months in advance and requested a King bedroom. Upon checking in I got the Lock-off 2 double bed room of a larger suite. I knew there was little that could be done since they were sold out. Besides for being a small room it was nice and was clean. It had a balcony and the bathroom was really nice, even though it was almost a big as the room. The staff was great, where ever you walked they always said hello. My room had key issues and one night I had to go back 3 times in 10 minutes since the key would not work. Eventually they had a maint. person waiting for me to help me get into my room. The meeting facilities were very nice, but the food was average. One day we had Turnovers for snacks and then for lunch we had 3 courses all were pastry based, almost like they had been leftover after the winter and they needed to get rid of them. The pool looked real nice, but I never got chance to try it.

Room Tip: I would say try to get rooms with just 3 number the 1000s rooms are far away!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StoweMountainLodge, Manager at Stowe Mountain Lodge, responded to this review, June 3, 2013
Thank you for your review of Stowe Mountain Lodge. We apologize for not being able to meet your room configuration request - we do our best to meet these requests however are not able to guarantee these requests with limited inventory. We appreciate your acknowledgement of our friendly staff who go out of their way to create a memorable experience for our guests. Thank you for joining us during your event and we hope to welcome you back soon.

Regards,
Matt Quick
Director of Rooms
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,007 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    671
    208
    75
    34
    19
See reviews for
414
376
21
60
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (267)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ledyard, Connecticut
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2013

This was an enjoyable stay from start to finish..warm, welcoming, efficient, dog friendly, gorgeous views, eco-friendly..I could go on and on. Rooms were comfortable, patio was enjoyable, fireplace warmed us up and kitchen area was impressivelystocked for being such a small space! We will, without doubt, return again and again. Great staff..everywhere!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lynnfield, Massachusetts
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2013

Staying at the Stowe Mountain Lodge for a conference. The facilities are immaculate and the property offers a posh take on rustic lodging while still incorporating much of Vermont's charm's artistic charm. Even standard rooms are ample size with large bathrooms and a fireplace. Proximity to local trails and the Mountain couldn't be better.

The only negative is that it's a distance from the downtown area and restaurants on Mountain Road. That said, if you come here with that in mind, you won't be disappointed. You really do have so much at your finger tips mountainside.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StoweMountainLodge, Manager at Stowe Mountain Lodge, responded to this review, May 6, 2013
Thank you for posting such a wonderful review of Stowe Mountain Lodge! We also appreciate working in a property central to some of Vermont’s finest trail systems and local attractions. Our location allows for convenient access to Stowe’s farmers markets, fine golf courses, and summer events.

We truly look forward to your return!

Regards,
Matthew Quick
Director of Rooms
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Massachusetts
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
206 helpful votes 206 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2013

The Stowe Mountain Lodge is a beautiful resort with comfortable upscale amenities. The rooms were comfortable. I stayed in a Timberline Studio. Our gas fireplace was not working but was fixed with a quick phone call.
The kitchen area is small but adequate if needed. The bathroom was large and well appointed. Bedding was very comfortable and as has been mentioned before the sheets were extremely soft but the mattress pad underneath made it extremely warm. Room was well cleaned.
The spa area is very relaxing and worth going to. I did not have any treatments but used the facilities for steam and sauna. Very nice. The outdoor pool was a little cool when I went but if you had the stamina you could use it even in the winter.
The small bar area on the floor above the reception was welcoming. Enjoyed a nice wine and cheese platter before dinner.
All staff was very attentive and friendly. The only issue that we actually ran into was with the restaurant. There was only one open (Solstice) when we went. It was crowded but that really wasn't the problem. The issue was that there was only one waitress for the entire restaurant. The manager on duty helped out but it was less than a relaxing experience. Some of the flavors of the food was very overpowering. I think that if the waitstaff had a little more time they could explain dishes better. We had to actually ask for side dishes. I think that if we were to go at another time when the waitstaff was fully staffed it would have been a much more enjoyable experience.
All in all this resort is very relaxing and well worth the money. I would return again in a minute.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2013

We stayed at the Beautiful Stowe Mountain Lodge in October 2011. It was just a short, 3-day trip to Vermont to drive along the gorgeous roads and visit the Ben & Jerry's factory and a cute little cider place not too far away.

This hotel was gorgeous. We ate at Solstice the first night, and while pricey - the food was delicious. They overcooked my beef tenderloin, but when I mentioned this to the waiter, the chef happily cooked me another one and said it was his fault. Definitely didn't ruin the experience at all. My hubby ordered the tasting menu and the first few courses were far superior to the main... overall a pretty good dinner and a nice splurge. Oh and they threw in a free desert for me for messing up my steak... Excellent customer service, in my opinion.

The room itself was gorgeous. The bathrooms were large and beautiful with tub and shower, and a separate toilet "room". We even had a small kitchenette if we needed it.

The bed was huge and we had a nice sofa as well. We could have brought two more people with us easily to sleep in that room.

My only good/bad thing about the hotel room itself were that there were markings on the sheets. They use eco friendly cleaners (the good), but they don't remove stains... that was the only real downside and slight "gross out" of the trip.

However, the real beauty of our trip was the heated outdoor pool! You enter through an inside room and swim out into the cool fall air. It is the most beautiful view at night as your nestled in the trees and the beautiful lodge. So gorgeous. We loved it so much we have been trying to find a good time to go back!

Would be a beautiful place for a wedding too!

Anyways, mostly good things to say about this gorgeous place!

Room Tip: Try to get a room on a higher floor - the pool area is noisy and if your on a lower floor you can he...
See more room tips
Green Features: While I do enjoy these environmentally friendly cleaning supplies and the general attitude, it was pretty gross to find sheets with markings all over them... I know they were clean, but it was still pretty gross.
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ridgefield, Connecticut
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2013

Stowe Mountain Lodge is very upscale and obviously expensive, but if you like the convenience of having your skies and boots checked and everthing waiting for you in the morning, then this is the place to be at the foot of the lifts. Paying $20/ day for parking when already check in was an irritation as well as tipping every time you wanted to drive in our out of the resort.
The rooms and bathrooms were lovely especially with the mountain view. There was a small refrigerator, microwave and sink, so you could do minimal cooking in. We brought our own breakfast and coffee was supplied. There are two restaurants, a big outdoor heated pool and two hot tubs. It was below freezing when we were there with a snow storm raging and the pool was not hot enough with the low temperature. All in all, it was a good splurge and the price dropped after Easter, yet the ski conditions were great.

Room Tip: Go at the beginning or end of the season as the rate drop.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StoweMountainLodge, Manager at Stowe Mountain Lodge, responded to this review, May 6, 2013
Thank you for reviewing Stowe Mountain Lodge for your Vermont ski vacation. Our ski in/ski out access is the only one of its kind in Stowe and offers superb views and access to the trails. The ski valet service will make sure that your skis and boots are ready for you in the morning to only speed up your rush to the slopes. We look forward to welcoming you back to Stowe for your next spring ski vacation.

Regards,
Matthew Quick
Director of Rooms
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Caracas, Venezuela
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2013

I had a great time at the hotel with my family. The location is great just steps from the gondolas. The ski valet service is excellent. The only thing the hotel needs to have more restaurants choices. The are only two and the room service that is the same menu as one of the restaurant.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Stowe Mountain Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Stowe Mountain Lodge

Address: 7412 Mountain Road, Stowe, VT 05672
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Vermont > Stowe
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Ski-In / Ski-Out Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Stowe
#1 Green Hotel in Stowe
#2 Romantic Hotel in Stowe
#3 Family Hotel in Stowe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Stowe Mountain Lodge 4.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Tingo, Travelocity, Otel, HotelsClick, getaroom.com, Despegar.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Hotels.com, Venere, Agoda and Jetsetter so you can book your Stowe Mountain Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Stowe Mountain Hotel Stowe
Stowe Mountain Lodge Vermont

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Stowe Mountain Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.