We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Words can't explain” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Stowe Mountain Lodge

Save Saved
You added Stowe Mountain Lodge to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Expedia.com Booking.com
and 5 more sites!
Stowe Mountain Lodge
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   7412 Mountain Road, Stowe, VT 05672   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Savings up to 30%
Ranked #2 of 23 hotels in Stowe
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Raleigh, North Carolina
1 review
“Words can't explain”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2012

Me and my family stayed there 11/25 - 11/30/12 and its was the best. It was VERY clean & well maintained. We went hiking, sightseeing, visited the local shops, and just enjoyed the scenery. The staff was was amazing and attentive. The managers ( Steven & Ryan ) were there to assist with anything the Valet Gentlemen, was always willing to help. The bar and lounge was perfect, and the one bartender I got the chance to speak with ( Zach ) is the best. These are a few of an overall wonderful staff. I HIGHLY RECOMMEND YOU VISIT IF CONSIDERING. This will be a place I will return because the people made the lodge and town even more memorable.

Room Tip: The Jr. Suite is a great value, but if any problems come up just talk to the staff, because from my...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

959 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    635
    203
    70
    32
    19
See reviews for
403
355
20
55
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (253)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Boston, Massachusetts, United States
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2012

We stayed for Thanksgiving with our 2 children age 12 and 8. Staff were attentive and friendly at check in and departure. Food was great and advice on local hikes.
We came back from Vertmont relaxed and impressed with that independent spirit.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StoweMountainLodge, Manager at Stowe Mountain Lodge, responded to this review, December 3, 2012
Thank you for sharing your Thanksgiving holiday with our family at Stowe Mountain Lodge. We are thrilled you were able to escape to take in the hiking and holiday dinner together, leaving refreshed. We hope to welcome you back whether for a holiday or simply a winter escape.

Regards,
Heinrich von Puschendorf
Director of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lagrange, NY
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2012

Although I guess "pricey" would be the obvious conclusion given that it's a five-star, although the room we got wasn't too badly priced at ~ $350/night. What a room, though - very tall ceilings, gas fireplace, wonderfully comfortable bed, granite countertops, a mini-kitchen and a very nice bathroom with glass shower and a separate commode room. I can only imagine what the one- and two-bedroom suites were like, although I just didn't have that kind of dough to spend. The on-site amenities will add up, so be prepared. For example, the breakfast buffet was $120 for the four of us, albeit very tasty. Your car is valet-parked which is a nice convenience, although I'm so used to being able to simply walk out to mine at any time that I did find myself wishing I had that choice so that I could easily run down Mountain Rd. and check out the shops and restaurants and such. No biggie, though. There's a spa onsite that my fiance (who doesn't ski - yet) visited and she loved it. There's a really cool heated outdoor pool that my daughter and I tried out the night before we left. It was pretty neat being in that while the wind and snow were howling. We jumped into one of the hot tubs from there and hung out for awhile. Very nice. The lodge is located at the base of Stowe Mountain and even though it's very early in the season, a fair number of trails were open and in pretty good shape, and the snowmakers were blasting away on the other trails so I'd imagine they're going to be up to full speed fairly soon. The whole complex, hotel and lodge, was spotless and very attractive and the staff there practically trip over themselves to help you. Definitely plan on staying here again.

Room Tip: I went with the upgrade from the basic room @ $200 to get the fireplace and sofa bed for my two girl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2012

We stayed here one night and were immediately impressed with the place. The lobby is large and well decorated.

The staff is incredibly accommodating and friendly (calling us by name).

The room and bathroom were large and well decorated.

The outdoor pool is huge - there's a separate area to do laps.

This is an expensive hotel but from our experience, you get what you pay for.

One minor thing:

I wasn't too crazy about shelling out more money for the valet parking (no other options). The hotel is in a quiet wooded area, it's not we were in the middle of a busy city.

I would stay here again.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StoweMountainLodge, Manager at Stowe Mountain Lodge, responded to this review, December 3, 2012
Thank you for staying at Stowe Mountain Lodge and sharing your experience with fellow travelers. Our staff genuinely welcomes our guests to their home away from home and hope you found this to be such. As for the parking fee, we do offer a heated underground garage and valet services and charge for the service as we don't have control over the adjacent parking lots. We look forward to welcoming you and your family back in the future.

Regards,
Heinrich von Puschendorf
Director of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
attleboro, ma
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2012

My husband and I spent three nights, Nov. 8-10, at Stowe Mountain Lodge. We stayed in the Timberline Studio and had a great view of the mountains. The room was very clean, just a little smaller than expected.The bathroom was very nice and spacious; a tub and shower seperate from each other. We made coffee every morning in the room and brought drinks and snacks knowing there was a fridge. There was also a stove top which we did not use.The bed was very comfortable. There were plenty of pillows and the sheets were so soft and comfy. We had purchansed the "bed and breakfast" package so we ate breakfast in the Solstice Restaurant every morning. The staff was awesome...very attentive and friendly. Breakfast was very fresh and they use ingrediants from local farms. We ate in the Hourglass two nights and enjoyed the atmosphere very much. The food was above average and the bartender and servers were very friendly. To our surprise, the Spruce Peak Performing Arts Center, located on the property, was having a reciital by the Perlman School of Music. We went on Friday night and were amazed at the performance by the young musicians and were shoulder to shoulder with Itzhak Perlman! He was there as was his wife, Toby. What a pleasant, wonderful experience! The town of Stowe has a lot to offer. We shopped, hiked, and ate lunch at great little markets. We also went in the heated outdoor pool. It was awesome! The people we met we great and it was so fun. They also light a bonfire at night near the pool which looked like a fun thing. We will return here for another great weekend away from it all. The reason I am not giving it 5 stars is the room was small for the price and a housekeeper walked into the room one evening. We were sitting having a drink and heard a knock at the door. My husband was getting up to go to the door as the woman walked in. She was surprised that we were in the room; she said it was a vacant room on her list. When I told the front desk what happened they said they didn't know why, as we were checked into that room the entire time. All in all it was a wonderful weekend.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2012

A great hotel, in a reasonable price for what you get.
Have been in numerous hotels in 4 continents - this is one of the top ten.

However, we did face one dissapointment: We booked a place in Saturday for the hotels main resturant for Sunday evening, and when arriving to eat at Sunday evening- we were suddenly told that the restaurant is closed and we were directed to the hourglass bar. That is although the day before we booked a place in the restaurant itself!, and no one told us it will be closed. It is not what is expected from an hotel at this level. We were indeed disappointed. Otherwise, everything was great.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StoweMountainLodge, Manager at Stowe Mountain Lodge, responded to this review, December 3, 2012
Thank you for visiting Stowe Mountain Lodge. We are thrilled that out of all the options in Stowe for you to choose from, you chose to stay with us for your winter vacation and on top of that, bestow upon us your personal accolade on a top ten hotel! We do apologize for the confusion regarding your dinner reservation. This is not indicative of the service we intend to deliver to our guests and will be looking into the issue to remedy it for your next visit.

Regards,
Heinrich von Puschendorf
Director of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Galeton, Pennsylvania
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2012

With it being November we got a good deal on the room we reserved! My husband and I just wanted a nice place to stay with a fireplace and comfortable bed for the weekend to celebrate our 25th anniversary! It was nice and quiet. Did not even hear the snow machines going outside our room. Very nice staff! Though the food was good at the Solice Resturant, for the price, it is not worth it. Rather go to one of the other resturants in Stowe.

Room Tip: Our room was nice and quiet! It was the Timberline Room with a fireplace and kItchen on the second f...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Stowe Mountain Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Stowe Mountain Lodge

Also Known As:
Stowe Mountain Hotel
Stowe Mountain Hotel Stowe
Stowe Mountain Lodge Vermont
Address: 7412 Mountain Road, Stowe, VT 05672
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Vermont > Stowe
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Ski-In / Ski-Out Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Stowe
#1 Business Hotel in Stowe
#2 Romantic Hotel in Stowe
#3 Family Hotel in Stowe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Stowe Mountain Lodge 4.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Otel, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Hotels.com and Jetsetter so you can book your Stowe Mountain Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Stowe Mountain Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.