We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent but pricey” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Stowe Mountain Lodge

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Stowe Mountain Lodge to your Saves list
Stowe Mountain Lodge
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   7412 Mountain Road, Stowe, VT 05672   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 25 Hotels in Stowe
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Lagrange, NY
Level Contributor
25 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Excellent but pricey”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2012

Although I guess "pricey" would be the obvious conclusion given that it's a five-star, although the room we got wasn't too badly priced at ~ $350/night. What a room, though - very tall ceilings, gas fireplace, wonderfully comfortable bed, granite countertops, a mini-kitchen and a very nice bathroom with glass shower and a separate commode room. I can only imagine what the one- and two-bedroom suites were like, although I just didn't have that kind of dough to spend. The on-site amenities will add up, so be prepared. For example, the breakfast buffet was $120 for the four of us, albeit very tasty. Your car is valet-parked which is a nice convenience, although I'm so used to being able to simply walk out to mine at any time that I did find myself wishing I had that choice so that I could easily run down Mountain Rd. and check out the shops and restaurants and such. No biggie, though. There's a spa onsite that my fiance (who doesn't ski - yet) visited and she loved it. There's a really cool heated outdoor pool that my daughter and I tried out the night before we left. It was pretty neat being in that while the wind and snow were howling. We jumped into one of the hot tubs from there and hung out for awhile. Very nice. The lodge is located at the base of Stowe Mountain and even though it's very early in the season, a fair number of trails were open and in pretty good shape, and the snowmakers were blasting away on the other trails so I'd imagine they're going to be up to full speed fairly soon. The whole complex, hotel and lodge, was spotless and very attractive and the staff there practically trip over themselves to help you. Definitely plan on staying here again.

Room Tip: I went with the upgrade from the basic room @ $200 to get the fireplace and sofa bed for my two girl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank moconnor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,458 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
71 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2012

We stayed here one night and were immediately impressed with the place. The lobby is large and well decorated.

The staff is incredibly accommodating and friendly (calling us by name).

The room and bathroom were large and well decorated.

The outdoor pool is huge - there's a separate area to do laps.

This is an expensive hotel but from our experience, you get what you pay for.

One minor thing:

I wasn't too crazy about shelling out more money for the valet parking (no other options). The hotel is in a quiet wooded area, it's not we were in the middle of a busy city.

I would stay here again.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Terry S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StoweMountainLodge, Manager at Stowe Mountain Lodge, responded to this review, December 3, 2012
Thank you for staying at Stowe Mountain Lodge and sharing your experience with fellow travelers. Our staff genuinely welcomes our guests to their home away from home and hope you found this to be such. As for the parking fee, we do offer a heated underground garage and valet services and charge for the service as we don't have control over the adjacent parking lots. We look forward to welcoming you and your family back in the future.

Regards,
Heinrich von Puschendorf
Director of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
attleboro, ma
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2012

My husband and I spent three nights, Nov. 8-10, at Stowe Mountain Lodge. We stayed in the Timberline Studio and had a great view of the mountains. The room was very clean, just a little smaller than expected.The bathroom was very nice and spacious; a tub and shower seperate from each other. We made coffee every morning in the room and brought drinks and snacks knowing there was a fridge. There was also a stove top which we did not use.The bed was very comfortable. There were plenty of pillows and the sheets were so soft and comfy. We had purchansed the "bed and breakfast" package so we ate breakfast in the Solstice Restaurant every morning. The staff was awesome...very attentive and friendly. Breakfast was very fresh and they use ingrediants from local farms. We ate in the Hourglass two nights and enjoyed the atmosphere very much. The food was above average and the bartender and servers were very friendly. To our surprise, the Spruce Peak Performing Arts Center, located on the property, was having a reciital by the Perlman School of Music. We went on Friday night and were amazed at the performance by the young musicians and were shoulder to shoulder with Itzhak Perlman! He was there as was his wife, Toby. What a pleasant, wonderful experience! The town of Stowe has a lot to offer. We shopped, hiked, and ate lunch at great little markets. We also went in the heated outdoor pool. It was awesome! The people we met we great and it was so fun. They also light a bonfire at night near the pool which looked like a fun thing. We will return here for another great weekend away from it all. The reason I am not giving it 5 stars is the room was small for the price and a housekeeper walked into the room one evening. We were sitting having a drink and heard a knock at the door. My husband was getting up to go to the door as the woman walked in. She was surprised that we were in the room; she said it was a vacant room on her list. When I told the front desk what happened they said they didn't know why, as we were checked into that room the entire time. All in all it was a wonderful weekend.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ipopcorn2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2012

A great hotel, in a reasonable price for what you get.
Have been in numerous hotels in 4 continents - this is one of the top ten.

However, we did face one dissapointment: We booked a place in Saturday for the hotels main resturant for Sunday evening, and when arriving to eat at Sunday evening- we were suddenly told that the restaurant is closed and we were directed to the hourglass bar. That is although the day before we booked a place in the restaurant itself!, and no one told us it will be closed. It is not what is expected from an hotel at this level. We were indeed disappointed. Otherwise, everything was great.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank barak205
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StoweMountainLodge, Manager at Stowe Mountain Lodge, responded to this review, December 3, 2012
Thank you for visiting Stowe Mountain Lodge. We are thrilled that out of all the options in Stowe for you to choose from, you chose to stay with us for your winter vacation and on top of that, bestow upon us your personal accolade on a top ten hotel! We do apologize for the confusion regarding your dinner reservation. This is not indicative of the service we intend to deliver to our guests and will be looking into the issue to remedy it for your next visit.

Regards,
Heinrich von Puschendorf
Director of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Galeton, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2012

With it being November we got a good deal on the room we reserved! My husband and I just wanted a nice place to stay with a fireplace and comfortable bed for the weekend to celebrate our 25th anniversary! It was nice and quiet. Did not even hear the snow machines going outside our room. Very nice staff! Though the food was good at the Solice Resturant, for the price, it is not worth it. Rather go to one of the other resturants in Stowe.

Room Tip: Our room was nice and quiet! It was the Timberline Room with a fireplace and kItchen on the second f...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LorraineMac81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Burlington, Vermont
Level Contributor
254 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 137 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2012

The hotel is HUGE! It's very modern with a mountain, nature feel to it. It is literally at the base of Spruce Peak, only 20 yards from hotel to base lodge. Or, you can walk 10 yards to board the gondola that whisks you across the street to Stowe Mountain base lodge and the gondola that takes you to the summit and Cliff House restaurant. Plus, it's only about a quarter mile to the Smuggler's Notch road which is closed in the winter so you can walk, walk your dog off leash, cross country ski or snowshoe.
If walking is difficult for you, ask for a room close to the lobby. It's Disney Resort huge so you could have a lot of walking.
The Stowe Performing Arts Center is in the back yard. They have a decent web site with many shows to choose from.
The pool is an outdoor pool that is plenty warm for winter use...low 90's. We swam when the outdoor air was in the low 20's and a slight breeze and it was awesome. There are two outdoor jacuzzis. The fitness room is very large and well equipped. We did not use the spa but it is rated one of the top spas in the world.
Everyone on the staff was very friendly and helpful. They clearly have had training in customer service. A heads up that it's $19 for your car. A valet parks it but the bonus is that it stays in a heated garage which can be sweet when it's freezing or snowing. It's 1 hour from Burlington door to door. There are a few restaurants to choose from. Obviously, they are a little pricy because you're at a ski resort. But, if you're snowed in, no worries, you could stay a long time and never need your car. This is a dog friendly hotel so you can bring your whole family.

Room Tip: The higher the room, the better the view. Rooms that face South and West have great views of the mo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Cindervermont
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StoweMountainLodge, Manager at Stowe Mountain Lodge, responded to this review, December 3, 2012
Thank you for choosing Stowe Mountain Lodge for your Vermont staycation. We appreciate such a thorough review of all our services and amenities. Being at the base of Mt Mansfield and Spruce Peak offers our guests a unique set of amenities including the slopeside access to the best skiing in the east and access to Smugglers Notch. We hope to welcome your family back soon for your next winter vacation.

Regards,
Heinrich von Puschendorf
Director of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2012

My husband and I are writing this well-deserved review as we are toasting by the fire and enjoying the view of the mountains. Stowe mountain lodge far exceeded our expectations! From the minute we checked in we have been treated with first class, warm luxury. It might be because it is early in the ski season, but it has been pleasantly not crowded and the staff here really wants to make your day. We were given a complimentary upgrade to a studio simply because it was our one year anniversy! The heated pool while checking out the snow capped mountains was perfect after a day of hiking. Plus, we asked for a late check out and they had no problems accommodating our "desires". Stowe mountain lodge, thank you so much for making our first time in Vermont incredibly romantic and treating us like royalty!

Room Tip: The studio comes with a great kitchenette that even includes a cool dishwasher! Worth it to cook and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CSuhShantz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StoweMountainLodge, Manager at Stowe Mountain Lodge, responded to this review, December 3, 2012
Happy Anniversary!! We are honored you chose Stowe Mountain Lodge as your anniversary destination. Even in early season, there is still great skiing available with the new snow making systems just installed, not to mention the other outdoor activities like the hiking -- topped off with some time in the pool, and it sounds like you found a great day. Thank you again for letting us help you celebrate your special day and we hope to welcome you back again next year...if not before!

Regards,
Heinrich von Puschendorf
Director of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Stowe
4.8 mi away
Trapp Family Lodge
Trapp Family Lodge
#7 of 25 in Stowe
4.0 of 5 stars 931 reviews
2.6 mi away
Edson Hill
Edson Hill
#1 of 25 in Stowe
5.0 of 5 stars 69 reviews
6.2 mi away
Field Guide
Field Guide
#4 of 25 in Stowe
4.5 of 5 stars 32 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.4 mi away
Sun & Ski Inn and Suites
14.8 mi away
The Essex, Vermont's Culinary Resort & Spa
20.3 mi away
Green Mountain Suites Hotel
Green Mountain Suites Hotel
#2 of 15 in South Burlington
4.5 of 5 stars 513 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Stowe Mountain Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Stowe Mountain Lodge

Address: 7412 Mountain Road, Stowe, VT 05672
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Vermont > Stowe
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Stowe
#1 Green Hotel in Stowe
#2 Romantic Hotel in Stowe
#2 Family Hotel in Stowe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Stowe Mountain Lodge 4.5*
Number of rooms: 300
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Sabre Hospitality Solutions, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Odigeo and Jetsetter so you can book your Stowe Mountain Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Stowe Mountain Hotel Stowe
Stowe Mountain Lodge Vermont

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing