We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We had a very enjoyable, quiet weekend for our 25th Anniversary!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Stowe Mountain Lodge

Save Saved
You added Stowe Mountain Lodge to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Stowe Mountain Lodge
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   7412 Mountain Road, Stowe, VT 05672   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Spring into Stowe Savings
Ranked #2 of 23 hotels in Stowe
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Galeton, Pennsylvania
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“We had a very enjoyable, quiet weekend for our 25th Anniversary!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2012

With it being November we got a good deal on the room we reserved! My husband and I just wanted a nice place to stay with a fireplace and comfortable bed for the weekend to celebrate our 25th anniversary! It was nice and quiet. Did not even hear the snow machines going outside our room. Very nice staff! Though the food was good at the Solice Resturant, for the price, it is not worth it. Rather go to one of the other resturants in Stowe.

Room Tip: Our room was nice and quiet! It was the Timberline Room with a fireplace and kItchen on the second f...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

955 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    632
    202
    70
    32
    19
See reviews for
400
354
20
55
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (252)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
South Burlington, Vermont
Top Contributor
138 reviews 138 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
66 helpful votes 66 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2012

The hotel is HUGE! It's very modern with a mountain, nature feel to it. It is literally at the base of Spruce Peak, only 20 yards from hotel to base lodge. Or, you can walk 10 yards to board the gondola that whisks you across the street to Stowe Mountain base lodge and the gondola that takes you to the summit and Cliff House restaurant. Plus, it's only about a quarter mile to the Smuggler's Notch road which is closed in the winter so you can walk, walk your dog off leash, cross country ski or snowshoe.
If walking is difficult for you, ask for a room close to the lobby. It's Disney Resort huge so you could have a lot of walking.
The Stowe Performing Arts Center is in the back yard. They have a decent web site with many shows to choose from.
The pool is an outdoor pool that is plenty warm for winter use...low 90's. We swam when the outdoor air was in the low 20's and a slight breeze and it was awesome. There are two outdoor jacuzzis. The fitness room is very large and well equipped. We did not use the spa but it is rated one of the top spas in the world.
Everyone on the staff was very friendly and helpful. They clearly have had training in customer service. A heads up that it's $19 for your car. A valet parks it but the bonus is that it stays in a heated garage which can be sweet when it's freezing or snowing. It's 1 hour from Burlington door to door. There are a few restaurants to choose from. Obviously, they are a little pricy because you're at a ski resort. But, if you're snowed in, no worries, you could stay a long time and never need your car. This is a dog friendly hotel so you can bring your whole family.

Room Tip: The higher the room, the better the view. Rooms that face South and West have great views of the mo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StoweMountainLodge, Manager at Stowe Mountain Lodge, responded to this review, December 3, 2012
Thank you for choosing Stowe Mountain Lodge for your Vermont staycation. We appreciate such a thorough review of all our services and amenities. Being at the base of Mt Mansfield and Spruce Peak offers our guests a unique set of amenities including the slopeside access to the best skiing in the east and access to Smugglers Notch. We hope to welcome your family back soon for your next winter vacation.

Regards,
Heinrich von Puschendorf
Director of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2012

My husband and I are writing this well-deserved review as we are toasting by the fire and enjoying the view of the mountains. Stowe mountain lodge far exceeded our expectations! From the minute we checked in we have been treated with first class, warm luxury. It might be because it is early in the ski season, but it has been pleasantly not crowded and the staff here really wants to make your day. We were given a complimentary upgrade to a studio simply because it was our one year anniversy! The heated pool while checking out the snow capped mountains was perfect after a day of hiking. Plus, we asked for a late check out and they had no problems accommodating our "desires". Stowe mountain lodge, thank you so much for making our first time in Vermont incredibly romantic and treating us like royalty!

Room Tip: The studio comes with a great kitchenette that even includes a cool dishwasher! Worth it to cook and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StoweMountainLodge, Manager at Stowe Mountain Lodge, responded to this review, December 3, 2012
Happy Anniversary!! We are honored you chose Stowe Mountain Lodge as your anniversary destination. Even in early season, there is still great skiing available with the new snow making systems just installed, not to mention the other outdoor activities like the hiking -- topped off with some time in the pool, and it sounds like you found a great day. Thank you again for letting us help you celebrate your special day and we hope to welcome you back again next year...if not before!

Regards,
Heinrich von Puschendorf
Director of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burlington, Vermont
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2012

I love coming to Stowe every year. The staff always takes care of me and is very attentive to my guests. They know exactly what I like and don't like and make me feel at home. I attend a conference here ever year and they always have enough staff and have learned over the years how to better work with us improving the experience every time without my knowing it needed to be improved. I highly suggest a wedding here or a corporate event. They make you feel like family and rarely say no to a request (usually it is a safety issue).

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StoweMountainLodge, Manager at Stowe Mountain Lodge, responded to this review, December 3, 2012
Thank you for such a fantastic review of Stowe Mountain Lodge! We appreciate any and all feedback, but reviews from frequent travelers who know us well we especially take to heart since they have experienced our amenities so often. Our goal is to welcome our guests back as friends and family and make them feel as if this is their home away from home - we are pleased to hear that we have succeeded. We look forward to welcoming you back again for your next trip to Stowe, Vermont!

Regards,
Heinrich von Puschendorf
Director of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012

What a beautiful place. We will visit again, for sure. Went with the entire family for a quick get away. We had no idea we would enjoy our stay as much as we did. What a wonderful surprise..:)

We used the exercise room, we swam in the amazing outside pool..we shopped at their beautiful store and ate dinner in their amazing resteraunt. The only thing we did not have time for was the spa..

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Crystal River, Florida
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2012

I visited in late October ('12) and found a wonderful extended weekend getaway Lodge with first rate service and amenities awaiting me. Pricy, but worth it! The spa in particular was up to any i had experienced anywhere. The lockeroom facilites are first-rate and spacious, while the various culinary offerings in any one of the several available venues made for an excellent gastronomic dining experience. I will be back, and having stayed at several other "top shelf" hotels/inns in the Stowe area over the last year, I can certainly say that the Stowe Mountain Lodge has the others beat hands-down.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StoweMountainLodge, Manager at Stowe Mountain Lodge, responded to this review, December 3, 2012
Thank you for visiting Stowe Mountain Lodge and taking advantage of the many amenities and services we have to offer! No trip to Stowe, Vermont is complete without sampling one of the time spas, including The Spa at Stowe Mountain Lodge, which we are thrilled to hear your loved! The Spa focuses on long-term wellness - not just on the escape and relatation while you are with us. Our hope is that you walked away with a step or plan you could incorporate into your everyday routine, but do also hope we can welcome you back again.

Regards,
Maggy Dunphy
Spa Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winsted, Connecticut
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2012

Loved this place. Staff was very friendly, proffesional and gave VIP service. Rooms were more than exceptional and clean. Fire pits, always blazed at night, the pool glowed and steamed all day, excellent views when swimming and it's 30 degrees or colder out. Every room has a propane fireplace on demand, I was never cold! there is also a functioning kitchen were you can save money by making your own meals! Not over crowded, food was excellent. The valet staff were very helpful and quick to attend. If you visit, you must drive through Smuggler's Notch, it's magical, bring a bagged lunch or some take out, you will stay there for hours just starring at everything. Downtown was filled with cute shops, excellent atmosphere at this lodge as well as the town!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Stowe Mountain Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Stowe Mountain Lodge

Also Known As:
Stowe Mountain Hotel
Stowe Mountain Hotel Stowe
Stowe Mountain Lodge Vermont
Address: 7412 Mountain Road, Stowe, VT 05672
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Vermont > Stowe
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Ski-In / Ski-Out Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Stowe
#1 Business Hotel in Stowe
#3 Family Hotel in Stowe
#6 Romantic Hotel in Stowe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Stowe Mountain Lodge 4.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Amex, Booking.com, Expedia, HotelsClick, Otel, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Hotels.com, Venere, Agoda and Jetsetter so you can book your Stowe Mountain Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Stowe Mountain Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.