We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great view to the mountain (in autumn foliage dress :-) and guest services” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Stowe Mountain Lodge

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Save
You added Stowe Mountain Lodge to your Saves list
Stowe Mountain Lodge
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   7412 Mountain Road, Stowe, VT 05672   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Ski & Stay in Stowe, VT
Ranked #2 of 23 Hotels in Stowe
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Aarhus, Denmark
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great view to the mountain (in autumn foliage dress :-) and guest services”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2012

We had an excellent view to the mountains that were dressed in the red and yellow foilage dress.
Please observe that valet parking is readily available and the easy option when arriving but it costs $19! The parking lot is non-existant but it may be possible to park yourself?

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,120 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    748
    228
    86
    37
    21
See reviews for
443
427
23
72
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (306)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Austin
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2012

Beautiful location. The drive in from the north was absolutely fantastic with leaves and tricky turns with one car passable, but all added to the charm of coming into Stowe Mountain Lodge. Our room had a good view of the mountains. The spa is very nice and massages are $150 for 50 minutes and for some reason we got a $100 special that we didn't know about until we went to check out. Happy surprise. Big granite and marble bath, all fairly new, comfortable bed and every amenity including a tiny kitchen with coffee which I wasn't expecting. The walk toward the Southwing has a huge picture window overlooking the pool and hot tub with the trees and mountain as a gorgeous back drop. People were swimming in October so it was heated. Easy check in and lots to do for the next several miles on Stowe Mountain. We will be back.

Room Tip: Ask about your view. We noticed several rooms are looking out onto other rooms so ask about that.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StoweMountainLodge, Manager at Stowe Mountain Lodge, responded to this review, November 1, 2012
Thank you for you review of Stowe Mountain Lodge. We love hearing about the foliage drives and Stowe, Vermont adventures, even if it is just the arrival process! The Smuggler's Notch is a beautiful pass to drive through adding to the local charm. Once you get here, we like to think that the Lodge incorporates that same local charm with a bit of modern luxury which you also seemed to enjoy. We hope you'll be back to enjoy it again!

Regards,
Heinrich von Puschendorf
Director of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2012 via mobile

Great hotel, a little too big in size. Lot of walking to get to rooms. Rooms great size and comfortable. A fireplace was a nice touch. The views out of our balcony were of the car park but the mountains behind were spectacular.The bar and seated areas of hotel great. Big comfy seats and fireplaces. Bar food good. Service good.
Only complaint really is having to pay for parking your car. Having spent a lot on the room it seemed unfair to pay $19 a night to have someone park your car, even though there seemed to have a car park at back of hotel. Because the hotel is up at top of mountain rd you need the car to go anywhere. ( no bus service except in ski season) so this also means tipping the valet parkers ever time.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florham Park, New Jersey
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2012

Went there for a romantic get-a-way with my girlfriend, and it was awesome. From the time we got out of the car upon arrival until we got into the car when leaving, the hotel, staff, etc. met the expectations of a first class resort. Even though we forgot to make dinner reservations and the whole area was booked, the concierge got us in places for great dinners. Friendliness and helpfulness of staff was excellent. Relaxing by the fire pit or in room fire place with after dinner drinks was a great cap to perfect days.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StoweMountainLodge, Manager at Stowe Mountain Lodge, responded to this review, November 1, 2012
Thank you for sharing your thoughts and the experience you had at Stowe Mountain Lodge. Our staff attempts to not only help with the products and services on property, but also with those around town. Our dedicated Alpine Concierge team is well connected in Stowe, Vermont and can not only make the great recommendations to enhance your trip, but also make the connections and help book them. We hope to welcome both you and your girlfriend back soon.

Regards,
Heinrich von Puschendorf
Director of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2012

We paid 160 pounds per night,And for that amount my expectations were high!
The room was nice, big with an amazingly bed, the bedding was extremely soft.
The view however was not the beautiful autum leaves - it was of the parking lot!
The ambience of the place is a little lacking.

Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NY
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2012

Start with the good things: Some of the staff are terrific and really try to keep the guests happy. BUT they aren't staffed adequately for peak periods eg waited at bar for over 18minutes one afternoon for a drink - we finally gave up. Concierges gave incorrect information and addresses 3 times. The resort is on-mountain, which is great as long as you don't mind getting in your car every time you want to do something (their courtesy vehicls were never offered, as was a peak weekend so the cars were probably very busy), so probably better as winter ski destination when you aren't driving as much as in summer or autumn (foliage!). The rooms are second-rate construction - can hear everyone walking down the hallways. Housekeeping had left dirty kleenex, no extra TP roll, and twigs in our nice room; but when i telephoned them, both housekeeping & engineering showed up immediately and graciously.

Room Tip: south wing rooms are newer but smaller; all rooms seem to have at least a partial view of road, driv...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2012

My family and I just returned from a long weekend at Stowe Mountain Lodge, from the moment we arrive it was evident that we had arrived at a Five Star destination. From valet, front desk to the warm and cozy room we were assigned nothing was missed. The entire team was extremely warm, friendly, but most of all genuine they could not do enough to make us feel comfortable. Solstice is not to be missed, for the freshest and most creative dishes we have experienced in a very long time.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StoweMountainLodge, Manager at Stowe Mountain Lodge, responded to this review, November 1, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to review Stowe Mountain Lodge. We are thrilled to hear that your experience was so comfortable and genuine. Hearing such a rave review about Solstice from someone who has so many dining options right in Boston validates our philosophy that our farm-to-table cuisine has an important place in the dining repertoire. We hope to welcome you back again soon!

Regards,
Heinrich von Puschendorf
Director of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Stowe Mountain Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Stowe Mountain Lodge

Address: 7412 Mountain Road, Stowe, VT 05672
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Vermont > Stowe
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Ski-In / Ski-Out Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Stowe
#1 Green Hotel in Stowe
#1 Business Hotel in Stowe
#2 Romantic Hotel in Stowe
#4 Family Hotel in Stowe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Stowe Mountain Lodge 4.5*
Number of rooms: 300
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Amex, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Sabre Hospitality Solutions, getaroom.com, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Tingo and Jetsetter so you can book your Stowe Mountain Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Stowe Mountain Hotel Stowe
Stowe Mountain Lodge Vermont

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Stowe Mountain Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.