We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Relaxxxxxxxx or Not” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Stowe Mountain Lodge

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Stowe Mountain Lodge to your Saves list
Stowe Mountain Lodge
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   7412 Mountain Road, Stowe, VT 05672   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Ski & Stay in Stowe, VT
Ranked #2 of 23 Hotels in Stowe
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
toronto
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
“Relaxxxxxxxx or Not”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2012

We arrived in the middle of the night exhausted and hungry to an exquisite lobby. We were upgraded to a King deluxe room, dropped our bags and went to eat. Lisa at the front desk was the kindest person. I wanted to hug her. Her warm smile and positive energy was the beginning. She suggested hikes and bicycle paths as well as Spa treatments that were heavenly.
Warren the manager at the Fine dining restaurant suggested the yummiest wine and served us himself. He was delightful and professional. We went to sleep and did so quite sucessfully. Both my husband and i are insomniacs and this was not a problem here.
The next day we woke up late and missed breakfast. Not to worry, the kitchen made a special breakfast for us that was much appreciated.
My husband went for a hike and i went for a massage. Life does not get any better. The staff at the Spa were unbelievable. After my massage they suggested the jacuzzzi, sauna, shower with himalayan salts, chamomile tea, drink lots of water and alot of TLC plus the use of the spa all day. i relaxed and relaxed some more. We went again for dinner and which not surprisingly was delicious. Once again, the staff was friendly and courteous.
The next day, my husband again went hiking and i hit the gym. While at the gym i got a call from my husband who was lost at the top of the mountain. i felt panic start to set it and caught the eye of a staff person. i handed him the phone and told him my husband was lost. He knew exactly where my husband was, and calmly instruced him to an area where he could continue on his hike and work his way down. I went for a facial and continued to relax and again used the spa. It should be noted that i go for regular facials - this was the best.
I again met my husband and off we went to our next destination.
The best thing here is that there is something for everyone. Families with young children, older children, couples or a private escape. You won't be disappointed.
If your looking for friendly, professional, informative customer service. This is the place. If your looking to relax, ride your bike, go for a hike or swim, this is the place to go. If your looking to be pampered and breath some clean fresh air, this is the place to go. The bonus - is the food.

Room Tip: We faced the mountain - what more can you ask for.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StoweMountainLodge, Manager at Stowe Mountain Lodge, responded to this review, August 28, 2012
What an incredible review! Thank you for reviewing Stowe Mountain Lodge and sharing your story about your private retreate. We are thrilled to hear that Warren took such good care of you in the restaurant, that your facial met your high expectations and that everyone made it home safely from hiking! We hope that you would consider joining us again during your next trip to Stowe, Vermont so we can welcome you back and create another experience of a lifetime.

Regards,
Heinrich von Puschendorf
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,108 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    739
    227
    85
    37
    20
See reviews for
441
421
23
72
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (303)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Miami, Florida
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2012

I cannot say enough about our experience at the Stowe Mountain Lodge. It is an absolute gem in the mountains of Vermont. The staff is exceptional, the amenities are first class and the accomodations are deluxe. We loved every aspect of our 5 night stay, and wished it could go on for another week. Literally, the staff cannot do enough to accomodate and will bend over backwards to make you feel welcome. By the second day, we were greeted by name and made to feel like royalty. We have stayed at top resorts before, including Ritz Carlton, Four Seasons and others, but the Stowe Mountain Lodge ranks at the top. We hope to return many times.

Room Tip: We had a one bedroom suite with a full kitchen and washer/dryer. Very nice for families.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2012

We loved Stowe Mountain Lodge with our 15 and 11 yr. olds. From the moment you arrive EVERY one on staff is friendly, helpful and always has a smile. Two bdrm 5th fl. Alpine Suite was spacious, very clean, extremely comfortable beds & pillows all with an amazing view! Kitchen well supplied. Only complaint was not enough dresser drawers to unpack-would recommend bringing hangers. Spa was incredible! Amy gives an amazing deep tissue massage! Large well equipped gym overlooking the pool! Alpine slide, bungee trampoline & rock climbing right on property were very enjoyable. Pool & hot tub clean and not overly crowded. Good but expensive poolside food. Our favorite dining out places were Piecasso for the best dine in burgers and Pie in the sky for quick inexpensive delivery. Nearby must dos that we enjoyed were Arbortrek Canopy Adventures for Zip-lining- great for the whole family 8yrs & up, hike down to Bingham Falls to swim in the waterfall pool, Edson Hill Manor for beginners trail horseback riding, Gondola ride up mountain to Cliff House for lunch. Stowe offers a Mercedes 2 hr. test drive for free, no sales pitch. We enjoyed the ride around town in it! Toll Road to Mt. Mansfield was enjoyable & picturesque. Much colder up there and mention you're a Lodge guest to get a discount. Nordic Barn to rent the newest bikes to ride on amazing & peaceful 5 mile trail right behind rental place. Shaw's for groceries and Macs Market for quick items. Ben & Jerry's tour was great for a rainy afternoon. Gets crowded but enjoyable. Stowe Mountain Lodge is a beautiful facility and gave us memories to last a lifetime!

Room Tip: We enjoyed the 5th floor view of the Mountain and pool. No late night pool noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairfield, Connecticut
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2012

Stayed here with my wife and children for two nights on our way to Montreal. The resort is well located on the mountain and is clean and nice. The main problem for us was that everything took 3-4X longer than one would expect from a two star resort, much less a four or five star. Our luggage took over 30 minutes to get to the room and the valets were very disorganized both on our arrival and departure. The staff at the mountain activities, especially the alpine slide, was also very disorganized with no one who seemed to know what they were doing. Finally the restaraunts, which are expensive with average fare, took forever to get us our food- over an hour for dinner and 1.5 hours for a poolside lunch consisting of cold sandwiches! I spoke with both the restaraunt and front desk managers about this and though they discounted two of my meals, neither seemed truly sincere in their concerns and I felt that they just told me what they thought I wanted to hear. Would not stay there again!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StoweMountainLodge, Manager at Stowe Mountain Lodge, responded to this review, July 31, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to post this review – without feedback, we are unable to applaud successes and address challenges. We apologize that you experienced some challenges while you were here. While we can’t speak to the staff at the alpine slide, I can assure you the service levels you experienced in the restaurants and during check-in are not indicative of the level we know our guests deserve. As we strive to deliver top guest satisfaction and know we didn’t accomplish that with your stay, I encourage you to reach out to me directly by calling the hotel so we can remedy that situation while here on property, we learn from your feedback. Again, I am deeply sorry we didn’t meet your expectations and hope you might give us another chance in the future to show you our true service standards.

Regards,
Heinrich von Puschendorf
Director of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Massachusetts
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2012

Fantastic. This place was above and beyond our expectations. We stayed with our young children and extended family. It was the first time we put our children on skis - what an incredible experience. The rooms were immaculate, modern and very comfortable. Beds are heavenly. I can't say enough about the ski instructors, our kids can't wait to go skiing again. Everything was so convenient for our young family, the rentals and ski school are All right there. We will go back again very soon!

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mystic,ct
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2012

We could have not been more pleased with the Stowe Mountain Resort. The staff was so helpful, and our suite was incredibly spacious. We woke to an unexpected farmers market at the resort on Friday morning. The food was incredible, live music and friendly vendors. No one wanted to leave!!! The alpine slide was fun and the grounds were spectacular. I would highly recommend staying at this resort. There is so much to do regardless of the season!!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wayland, Massachusetts
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2012

This was our first visit and it will not be our last. From the moment you arrive you are greeted with smiles, authentic happy smiles...and everything was like that for the next 3 days. The concierges all wonderfully informed and helpful. The suite was clean and delightful. The Spa is fabulous...Brian was an awesome Massage Therapist and the associates were helpful with directing where to go when...beautiful facility. The pool is great..and the staff there was attentive and not harred..Aqua had a good selection of perfect pool side food..though it was a very crowded day and they had many folks to handle..they did so with a smile. The whole experience....was five star. It is a beautifully maintained and managed property....if you haven't been...I suggest trying it...we will go back in the Winter now...the rooms literally face out right onto the down hill ski trails...you feel like you could reach out and touch the skiers! Great hiking in area and good food.....lovely town to walk about in....Oh, one more thing..the Golf course is dramatic in it's views...my husband loved playing it! Enjoy.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Stowe Mountain Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Stowe Mountain Lodge

Address: 7412 Mountain Road, Stowe, VT 05672
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Vermont > Stowe
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Ski-In / Ski-Out Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Stowe
#1 Green Hotel in Stowe
#1 Spa Hotel in Stowe
#2 Romantic Hotel in Stowe
#3 Family Hotel in Stowe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Stowe Mountain Lodge 4.5*
Number of rooms: 300
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, Priceline, Odigeo, Orbitz, Otel, TripOnline SA, Tingo and Jetsetter so you can book your Stowe Mountain Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Stowe Mountain Hotel Stowe
Stowe Mountain Lodge Vermont

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Stowe Mountain Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.