We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cosy and tasty.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Harrison's Restaurant & Bar

Harrison's Restaurant & Bar
25 Main St, Carlson Bldg, Stowe, VT 05672
802-253-7773
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Harrison's Restaurant & Bar is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #2 of 78 Restaurants in Stowe
Price range: $8 - $27
Cuisines: American, Seafood, Bistro
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Local cuisine, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night, Dessert
Dining style: Casual Dining
Transit: the local mountain shuttle drops off just steps away from the restaurant. Check with your hotel front desk for updated route schedules
Description: located in historic Stowe village. Serving seafood, steaks, burgers and homemade desserts. Dinner nightly. Experience a local favorite in a cozy atmosphere. Patio dining on Main Street available in summer months
Guildford, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
97 reviews 97 reviews
55 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
66 helpful votes 66 helpful votes
“Cosy and tasty.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2013

Lobster mac and cheese was memorable in a great location , when we stayed here we ate there every night and always had good food , service and loved the vibe.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

691 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    435
    170
    62
    15
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Philadelphia, PA
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Hometown feel, good food!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2013

We dined at Harrison's while visting Stowe for the first time. First of all, it was perfect small town ambience, and very friendly staff. My husband had grilled scallops to die for . . . perfectly prepared! My lemon pepper fettucinni was just average, not much flavor, but I think there were too many flavors competing with one another. We probably waited 10 or so minutes before our waitress got our drink order. All this being said, it is absolutely worth the experience, because it feels like a mountain town and clearly a lot of locals patronize the restaurant.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ontario, Canada
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“Back again”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2013

We returned to Harrison's with friends this past week and again have nothing but good things to say. Apparently Stowe residents feel the same way, we made a reservation for dinner on a Monday evening and the only time available was at 8:30 pm. When we arrived the restaurant was packed.
As usual everything was great from start to finish and we are looking forward to returning the next time we are in Stowe.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
boston
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“so so”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2013

My wife and I ate at Harrison's Thursday night for the first time and we were underwhelmed by the food. The ambience was fine and fun and we could have really enjoyed it had the meals been better. I had a ribeye steak that was less than a half inch thick and loaded with fat and grizzle. It was plunked over a pile of mashed potatoes to make it look bigger. Paying $28 would have been fine if the meat was edible but it was not. My wife had a Harrison burger which also was tiny. Again, $13 for a burger was not an issue. A Big Mac has more meat and is more flavorful. Service was fine and the wine list offerings by the glass impressive. We will probably return but not for the meat.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sharon, Massachusetts
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Stowe's Finest”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2013

Although there are some pub type offerings, Harrison's is fine dining. Better make a reservation because the word has gotten out. Too bad for us. We eat there atleast once on our trips to Vermont and it's worth it. The fillet was tender and perfectly seasoned. I had the hallibut. Again, moist and tender. The chocolate decadence - just one because it was so rich - was a perfect ending. We'll be back.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Harrison's Restaurant & Bar also viewed

 

Been to Harrison's Restaurant & Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Harrison's Restaurant & Bar, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.