We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great staff and food, atmosphere A+” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Harrison's Restaurant & Bar

Harrison's Restaurant & Bar
25 Main St, Carlson Bldg, Stowe, VT 05672
802-253-7773
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Harrison's Restaurant & Bar is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #2 of 78 Restaurants in Stowe
Price range: $8 - $27
Cuisines: American, Seafood, Bistro
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Local cuisine, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night, Dessert
Dining style: Casual Dining
Transit: the local mountain shuttle drops off just steps away from the restaurant. Check with your hotel front desk for updated route schedules
Description: located in historic Stowe village. Serving seafood, steaks, burgers and homemade desserts. Dinner nightly. Experience a local favorite in a cozy atmosphere. Patio dining on Main Street available in summer months
Orillia
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Great staff and food, atmosphere A+”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2012

I spent 5 nights in Stowe, Vt. in the middle of October and had some wonderful meals. Two times I went for dinner to Harrisons, once by myself and again with my son and his wife. It is a small, intimate restaurant with great atmosphere and wonderful food. The staff are friendly and knowledgeable, particularly Cathy, one of the hostesses. I would suggest reservations as it's a small restaurant with limited seating. The bar area is small and cozy and the upper booths nearby are good places to sit. Down below, there are tables by the fireplace with great atmosphere. We tried different meals and I don't think you can go wrong with any of them. I have just booked a week for next October in Stowe and I know I'll be back to Harrisons!

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

690 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    435
    169
    62
    15
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Hong Kong, China
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Excellent food!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2012

very cozy. service very good. i had crab cake (this is the best I've ever had) & scallop. food is very well done. family owned & run restaurant. highly recommended.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northbridge, Massachusetts
Top Contributor
98 reviews 98 reviews
56 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
“Creative food, well executed”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2012

Loved the beet and goat cheese salad even though I don't usually like beets. Great soups on a cold night. Friendly service. Intimate, low ceiling room can seem friendly or crowded, depending on the noise level. Recommendations required, always a good sign!

  • Visited November 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bel Air, Maryland
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Harrison's, a must do for dinner”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2012

My family was visiting Stowe, VT for the first time and we had a wonderful Thanksgiving weekend here. We ate out every meal for several days and Harrison's was top on our list for dinner. We all thoroughly enjoyed our meals, including a 19 and 16 year old. We shared the PEI mussels and boneless wings. The pecan encrusted tuna was done perfectly for each of our tastes and the slices were very thick. My husband and son are still raving about the lobster mac n' cheese and the steak tips. Although we don't normally eat dessert, we did share the frozen mocha cheesecake and are very glad we did; it was a great topper to the evening.
Everything was very good and the service was on point as well.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Randolph, New Jersey
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Lovely restaurant, but was not impressed”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2012 via mobile

I still take trip advisor seriously but sometimes places fall short of its ratings! Service was great and I think what I ordered was good but not great! My husband is a bit of a food snob and he just thought it was ok and my kids didn't like anything they ordered
Again pretty. Place but food was not worthy of a number one rating in the town

    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Harrison's Restaurant & Bar also viewed

 

Been to Harrison's Restaurant & Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Harrison's Restaurant & Bar, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.