We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Terrific Addition to the Stowe Dining Scene” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Plate

Plate
91 Main Street, Stowe, VT 05661
+1 802-253-2691
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #6 of 78 Restaurants in Stowe
Cuisines: Californian
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Bryn Mawr, PA
Top Contributor
229 reviews 229 reviews
128 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 85 cities Reviews in 85 cities
231 helpful votes 231 helpful votes
“Terrific Addition to the Stowe Dining Scene”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2014

Plate is a definite "Wow". Excellent food, creative flavor combinations, and a lively vibe have already made this Main Street venue the place to go in Stowe after being officially open for only about a month and a half. Reservations are not taken except for large parties, so go early (by 6:15), even on a midweek night, or you may have to wait. The place was full by 6:30 on a Thursday and the noise level was an energetic buzz but not problematic; still, adding some soft material to absorb the sound wouldn't be a bad idea. Entrée portions are enormous -- neither of us could finish -- so it's surprising that anyone could leave hungry. We had the oysters, ramp soufflé, pork chop, and skirt steak marinated in maple syrup and soy sauce, and everything was outstanding. There were plenty of selections on the menu: we could have made a meal of appetizers alone, but we didn't want to miss out on the entrées! The culinary level here is more what you'd expect in a major city, so Stowe is lucky to have a restaurant of this quality. Service was very friendly and very well-informed. We are looking forward to returning soon!

  • Visited April 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

73 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    47
    19
    4
    1
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Boston
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Late Night Eats”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2014

This cute restaurant's charm is lost due to a noise level that makes intimate dining difficult.

It is best suited for a light meal after a movie or play. Dinner sections are limited. I had their hamburger; it was good, but I left the table hungry.

Visited April 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nassau, New Providence Island
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Super Food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2014

Great food, decent service, no reservations though. Still working out the kinks.
The noise level is over the top…..really need to address this issue

  • Visited March 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Long Beach, NY
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“A wonderful dining experience!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2014

Unique food, well priced, great wines and fabulous service! A Manhattan quality restaurant in Stowe! The owners made us feel very special. Look forward to our next visit

Visited April 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vermont
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Wonderful!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2014

The service was great, the food was so different and fresh tasting! My husband had the pork chop which was huge and melted in your mouth!
We will be back! Also my husban has celiac disease and so far he's not sick.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Plate also viewed

 

Been to Plate? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Plate, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.