We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Over the top service” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Flannel

Flannel
4000 Mountain Road, Stowe, VT 05672 (Formerly Norma's at Topnotch Resort & Spa)
802-253-6445
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Flannel is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #14 of 78 Restaurants in Stowe
Price range: $8 - $34
Cuisines: American, Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Doing business, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: Mountain Road
Transit: Stowe Area Trolley, seasonal.
Description: Flannel is the signature restaurant at Topnotch Resort and Spa in Stowe, Vermont, a AAA Four Diamond Resort. Set before alluring mountain views, the patio-style restaurant beckons with a striking atmosphere, an inviting open kitchen, and an innovative menu featuring chic country cuisine created from locally grown organic provisions. The restaurant is adjacent to the resort’s new outdoor swimming pools and al fresco lounge area. With 65 seats inside and another 75 on an expansive terrace, Flannel sets a welcoming scene for astute diners who appreciate casual yet creative cuisine. The open kitchen is a defining touch, creating a captivating scene of culinary sights and sizzles for diners savoring the bounty of organic farms from throughout the state. High coffered ceilings and a tamped-down color scheme round out a contemporary setting. We focus our expertise on presenting creative dishes that express Flannel's new food attitude: vibrant, delicious and satisfying.
Stowe, Vermont
1 review
“Over the top service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2013

We had a business event at Top Notch in there new space beautifully done. Then a very nice evening at Flannel had drinks and appetizers. I would like to mention and thank Joshua and Rachael for being great host at the bar last night. Great food, great atmosphere and great service. We look forward to going back... Marc and Trudy

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

220 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    120
    68
    20
    9
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Montreal, Canada
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
“TASTY FOOD”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2013

I love this restaurant. The food and service was great. All the food is great here but the burger with the Heady Topper onions was fantastic and the fries were perfect.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
“Good food, nice place for breakfast.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2013 via mobile

Nice atmosphere! We ordered the french toast and yogurt parfait and left satisfied! Great mountain views from our table too!

  • Visited September 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
“Best view in town!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2013

Flannel is one of the best restaurants in town, and definitely has the nicest view! Entrees were delicious, and they even have a kids menu suitable for the pickiest of eaters! Always a great dinner with excellent service!

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bryn Mawr, PA
Top Contributor
229 reviews 229 reviews
128 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 85 cities Reviews in 85 cities
230 helpful votes 230 helpful votes
“Excellent Food, Pretty Setting”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2013

The recently-opened Flannel, whose name suggests a more casual experience than it actually offers, replaces the former Norma's at Topnotch and has such fine fare that I agree with another reviewer that this should be the #1 restaurant in Stowe -- at least, based on cuisine. Everything we tried was excellent: the heirloom tomato side dish, Misty Knoll chicken, king salmon, and pea spaetzle could not have been better. Service was also very good. But it's a four-star place, not five, in my view, because of the physical elements. Open kitchens add interest when they're sleek and streamlined, but Flannel's is a bit reminiscent of a school cafeteria kitchen --you get to see perhaps more than you'd like. Also, the dark-brown decor is so spare as to be almost institutional as well; a little more color and some soft features would make the room fit better with the fine food. Finally, as beautiful as the view of the mountains is, it is a bit odd to be admiring it over the heads of the families lounging by the swimming pool located right next to the dining patio. Granted, this is only noticeable during the warm weather. On the whole, this is a terrific addition to the Stowe restaurant scene, and we will definitely return.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Flannel also viewed

 

Been to Flannel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Flannel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.