We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Really enjoyed it” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Flannel

Flannel
4000 Mountain Road, Stowe, VT 05672 (Formerly Norma's at Topnotch Resort & Spa)
802-253-6445
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Flannel is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #14 of 78 Restaurants in Stowe
Price range: $8 - $34
Cuisines: American, Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Doing business, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: Mountain Road
Transit: Stowe Area Trolley, seasonal.
Description: Flannel is the signature restaurant at Topnotch Resort and Spa in Stowe, Vermont, a AAA Four Diamond Resort. Set before alluring mountain views, the patio-style restaurant beckons with a striking atmosphere, an inviting open kitchen, and an innovative menu featuring chic country cuisine created from locally grown organic provisions. The restaurant is adjacent to the resort’s new outdoor swimming pools and al fresco lounge area. With 65 seats inside and another 75 on an expansive terrace, Flannel sets a welcoming scene for astute diners who appreciate casual yet creative cuisine. The open kitchen is a defining touch, creating a captivating scene of culinary sights and sizzles for diners savoring the bounty of organic farms from throughout the state. High coffered ceilings and a tamped-down color scheme round out a contemporary setting. We focus our expertise on presenting creative dishes that express Flannel's new food attitude: vibrant, delicious and satisfying.
Boston
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
90 helpful votes 90 helpful votes
“Really enjoyed it”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

Breakfast and dinner were both excellent. There is a fire pit outside which is nice to sit out and enjoy. Good drinks and good food.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

220 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    120
    68
    20
    9
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Dixon, California
Top Contributor
96 reviews 96 reviews
54 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
“Fit for foodies”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

We had both dinner and breakfast here and it was very satisfying. The short rib dinner is very tasty and the bread pudding dessert hits the spot. The views of the nearby mountains is very nice and the service was just right.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hauppauge, New York
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“excellent dinner”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2012

Norma's restaurant was recommended by our hosts in Stowe. It was the best dinner we had while there.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Top Contributor
126 reviews 126 reviews
85 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
68 helpful votes 68 helpful votes
“Very good experience”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2012 via mobile

We enjoyed the experience although there were a number of things we weren't so keen on at Norma's. let's start with the positives. The staff are delightful, friendly and knowledgable. The food was good. My steak was first class and cooked to perfection and the vegetables were cooked properly and neither raw nor stewed. Just great. The desert was such a disappointment. We were steered towards the apple pie which was a mistake. The pastry was awful and spoiled an otherwise great experience. The other thing that we didn't like was the smell of chlorine as you entered and left the restaurant via the hotel spa entrance.

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Essex, Vermont
1 review
“Amazing food!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2012

Just got back from an overnight stay at Topnotch Resort and Spa where we had two most memorable meals. Erika was a lovely and attentive hostess, our servers Kristel and Noelle were wonderful and the food was simply delicious. We ordered the Flank Steak and the Duck and both were cooked to perfection, succulent and juicy tender. The duck was crisp on the outside and incredibly tasty on the inside. The turtle cheesecake for dessert was also outstanding and the huge apple pie portion was an unexpected delight with tart apples and a perfectly flaky crust. Also had the turkey hash for breakfast this morning, great smoky flavor! We will definitely be back for more. So lucky to have such a great place right here in Stowe, Vermont.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Neil A, Manager at Flannel, responded to this review, October 20, 2012
Dear Reina802,
Thank you for taking a moment to share your experience with us and others. It was our pleasure to serve you at Norma's.

Sincerely,
Neil Archibald
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Flannel also viewed

 

Been to Flannel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Flannel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.