We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Food and Time” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Mr Pickwick's Gastropub & Steakhouse

Mr Pickwick's Gastropub & Steakhouse
433 Mountain Rd, Stowe, VT 05672
802-253-7558
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #49 of 78 Restaurants in Stowe
Price range: $29 - $31
Cuisines: British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Takeout, Late Night, Dessert
Dining style: Casual Dining
Cross street: Route 108
Transit: Local Winter town shuttle bus every 20 minutes until 10pm
Description: Our famous menu is the result of 30 years testing and constant refinement using only the freshest Vermont foods and produce available. Featuring delicious Certified Angus steaks, fresh seafood, poultry, pasta with creative vegetarian dishes and WILD GAME from all corners of the world. Our desserts are legendary. The recipe for our 'signature' dessert was requested by Gourmet magazine. We feature 150 Ales and Lagers (28 on tap). A deep wine cellar and 70 single malt Scotches. We offer private dining rooms for special functions catering to groups up to 200. Special theme dinners are featured monthly.
Seaford, Delaware
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
“Great Food and Time”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013

Great food, lively pub atmosphere, a legendary beer offering! We had a wonderful time! Highly Recommended

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

256 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    90
    56
    36
    30
    44
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
New York City
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Great food and service!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2012

We ended up here somewhat by accident, but it was the most pleasant surprise! We had a great meal, kind service, and an all around good time. It was recommended to us by the concierge at the Stowe Mt. Lodge, and they were right.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
worldwide
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
“Excellent Beer and Ale menu”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2012

We ate one afternoon from the bar menu, Charles the barman was very helpful in explaining some of the more popular beers and ale on the menu. The meal itself was excellent bar fare and we took a look at the fuller dinner menu. It was the decider for us to spend a night the following night in the Inne itself. When we dined we began with oysters. My main was the Beef Wellington. It was done beautifully in a traditional style. The beef itself was still rosy and tender and all in all it was a fabulous meal. My husband had the game sausage platter and that was a super meal too, there was a great variety of 4 various game served with specific accompaniments. It was a great meal in a lovely warm environment.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Maine, United States
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
“Great place, appetizers outdid main course”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2012 via mobile

Stopped in on our first night in Stowe. The onion soup is to die for! The pulled pork small plate was equally impressive.

The burger was just ok and I was not a fan of the steak fries. They were large, hard, quarter potatoe type fries that didn't hit the spot.

Overall enjoyed the experience and would visit again but maybe just for drinks and appetizers.

    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
“Great time”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2012 via mobile

We started off in the bar with drinks and apps. Ross was a great bartender! Dining room was an amazing setting for our delicious dinner! Suprised by some of the bad reviews on here? This place has great service, beer, scotch, food, and ambience. Bad reviewers need to relax and soak this place up cause its awesome!!

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mr Pickwick's Gastropub & Steakhouse also viewed

 

Been to Mr Pickwick's Gastropub & Steakhouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mr Pickwick's Gastropub & Steakhouse, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.