We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“This is a must place to eat” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Bistro at Ten Acres

Bistro at Ten Acres
14 Barrows Road, Stowe, VT 05672
+1 802-238-5538
Website
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Bistro at Ten Acres is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #2 of 79 Restaurants in Stowe
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $12 - $30
Cuisines: American, European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: Luce Hill Road
Forfar
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“This is a must place to eat”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2013

We all really enjoyed our food at 10 Acres Bistro. We visited in early June and the food was so good we decided to come again. And again.

We can't believe the Tbone review posted and believe this must be an envious competitor!

Please ignore that review and look at the others - you must believe this is a must restaurant to visit. I would say make this your first choice and like us you will visit again.

Fresh food, good size servings and great service. All the staff were very friendly and the owners are putting in so much work to keep all customers happy.

I tend to only provide reviews when a place is excellent or poor. This is excellent. We will be back.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

272 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    199
    46
    15
    8
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Excellent meal”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2013

We have been staying at the ten acres lodge for the past few nights and going to the bistro each night for a meal without fail.

Their extensive menu offers options for all, furthermore every meal has been exceptional.

I would highly recommend the bistro to anyone seeking a lovely meal!

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“You must try this new restaurant”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2013

We came across the Bistro at Ten Acres while on our family vacation.
The food and ambience were so good we ate here on quite a few occasions and tried something different every time. We are a family of 4 and all of us really enjoyed everything we ate. Big portions full of quality. Everything is fresh and so achieves the desired result of brilliant food. We got introduced to the chef Gary and thanked him for all the great foods from homemade breads, soup, oysters, steaks, pasta, burgers etc.
The owners Linda and Mark should be congratulated on the creation of this gem of a place. We will return on our next visit to Stowe.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Danbury, Connecticut
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Great job with this old favorite”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2013

My wife & I have seen many restaurants come and go at Ten Acres in the 30+ years we've been coming to Stowe. These guys are finally bringing it back to where it should be. Pork Shank was delicious but too much - great sandwich next day though! My wife thoroughly enjoyed her sole which was moist and tender. I like what the new folks have done with the place and thought the young man that served us was top notch. Terrific job - we'll be back soon to try the summer menu you talked about.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kingston, New York
Top Contributor
133 reviews 133 reviews
57 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 51 cities Reviews in 51 cities
86 helpful votes 86 helpful votes
“Great new spot in Stowe”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2013

We own a time share at Trapp Family Lodge, so we've been to Stowe a number of times and have seen this particular restaurant location change hands many times. We've always thought it looked appealing from the outside, but never ventured in.

On our last visit this spring, we looked up the new place on tripadvisor and lo and behold, it had garnered in a few short months the #1 rating for Stowe! So we were thrilled to go! The new owners are simply lovely - Linda greets you at the door with a big smile and their kids discreetly run from the kitchen upstairs to their living area there. The vibe is excellent - with a great bar at the entrance and lovely views of the valley below and hills off in the distance!

The food was so good our first night, we decided to come back again the next night! Our first meal was Local Trout with Fiddlehead Ferns (such a spring delicacy in the Northeast) and a Seafood Stew which was packed with shrimp, scallops, mussels, haddock, salmon, tomato, onion and all of this in a delightful sweet potato broth! Quite unusual and delicious!

The second night we had Roasted Chicken with Winter Veg and a Sherry Jus - and Steak Frites with hand-cut fries, mesclun salad with an olive relish. Richard felt the olive relish was too overbearing and that it would have been better with frizzled leeks or crispy shallots.

We had to try their desserts at least one night, so we shared a Bourbon Pecan Pie - which was fabulous!

We wish these folks great success with their new venture and were thrilled to have had such a delicious meal two nights in a row in Stowe!

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bistro at Ten Acres also viewed

 

Been to Bistro at Ten Acres? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bistro at Ten Acres, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.