We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent stay at the Butler House” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Butler House Stowe

Butler House Stowe
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Stowe
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Butler House Stowe
128 Main St, Stowe, VT 05672   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #7 of 26 Stowe B&B and Inns
Boston
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Excellent stay at the Butler House”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2014

My wife and I along with our two good friends just returned from staying at the Butler House for two nights this past weekend (Friday, 1/31/13 and Saturday, 2/1/14). This was our first time staying at the Butler House and I would highly recommend this great lodging option.
We have been coming to Stowe for over 15 years and have stayed at several different hotel and condo locations and we felt that the Butler House was by far the best option for the quality of the unit and the location.
We stayed in Room #2 (The two bedroom unit) which has a full kitchen, living room, and two good sized bedrooms each with a queen bed and there is 1 full bath in in the unit. The unit has two floors, so it felt like we were staying in a house and having a nice gas fireplace along with great furnishing - including all the glasses, plates, and kitchen items we needed. The unit really fit our needs perfectly and having the location on Main Street is great to be able to walk to restaurants and shops (Stowe Mountain is about a 10 minute drive).
I had the chance to meet the owners Laura and Paul and they both could not have been nicer. They were so down to earth and wanted to hear how we enjoyed the unit and I had told them what they did with the Butler House is amazing (as the building is historic and dates back to the 1800's, but the renovations they did are amazing) and we really can't wait to come back up for another stay.
I have already told so many of my friends that visit Stowe often that have not found a great place that is bigger than a hotel room and has a kitchen and living room and is located in a great location, so I know that they will love the Butler House.
I did a lot of research before we booked this trip and I am so glad I found the Butler House, as we could not have been happier with our choice.

Room Tip: There is only 1 two bedroom unit and the rest of the room are studios or 1 bedrooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

9 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    8
    1
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
2
5
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Anderson, South Carolina
Top Contributor
107 reviews 107 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2013 via mobile

After traveling to several large cities, stowe is a great place to settle. The butler house room 1 is nicely updated and is very nice. I would recommend this room for couples that appreciate small boutique style accommodations.

Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2013

This was a lovely little, exceptionally clean, inn at the edge of the village of Stowe, with proximity to coffee shops, dining and shopping, but most importantly, to the hiking! This was a super quiet inn, likely due to the closure of the restaurant on the main floor,which other reviewers have noted negatively. We stayed in the "loft" room, which was a great space as we went with another couple who stayed in the Murphy Bed room, which had very little seating. The loft bed was comfortable, and cozy and as such we never even cracked open the pull-out couch. We used this spot as a home base from which to take in the "IPA Highway," and take advantage of the long trail to the Chin of Mount Mansfield.

Room Tip: The loft bedroom was pretty cool. As adults, we don't often get the chance to sleep in a loft, s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ponte Vedra Beach, Florida
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2013

If you are planning a summer or fall trip to Stowe, you can't go wrong with the Butler House. It is literally across the street from the beautiful Stowe Recreational Path and steps away from great restaurants. Room 6 is airy and sunny- larger and nicer than expected. They warned us ahead of time for noise from the restaurant below so we were prepared for a bit of noise. Great bed & kitchen as well.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2013 via mobile

First time in stowe and at the butler house, i will be back for a second and third etc.... Stayed in room #5 with my partner and was very impressed! Very clean and comfortable. So close to everything also. Great place to stay all round

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burlington, Vermont
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2013

The nine of us stayed in rooms 2, 3 and 5 for an unforgettable weekend in Stowe. The rooms are beautiful, super comfortable and well stocked. (The kitchen in #2 had everything we could possibly think of). All of the rooms were beautifully decorated and designed. The kids loved the loft in #5. I trust that all the rooms are just as lovely. The location is ideal - right on the start of the bike path. We biked and walked everywhere, and had the best time. We would stay here again and again. Can't wait to go back.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
brisbane
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2013

We hadn't planned to stay in Stowe but this town is so picture perfect it's hard to drive though it and not want to stay. We enquired at the visitor centre for accommodation and we were lucky as it was a busy weekend and The Butler House had one room left which took four of us. The owner Paul apologised that it was a small room., but it was the last one left and I was just grateful to have somewhere. The rooms are very clean, cosy with everything you could want. Our family WERE VERY HAPPY. It's right in the Main Street, so very close to everything. We had car problems and special thanks to Paul the owner /manager who went out of his way to assist us to find someone to help us fix our car. (Many thanks Paul, it was appreciated.)

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Butler House Stowe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Butler House Stowe

Address: 128 Main St, Stowe, VT 05672
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Vermont > Stowe
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 26 B&Bs / Inns in Stowe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience the charm of New England mountain and village life. All of our light, airy apartments are newly renovated, well appointed and boast second floor views of Stowe Village and perhaps Vermont’s Green Mountains. Our location, across the street from the Stowe Recreation Path and on the Mountain Shuttle route, provides easy access to all the wonderful activities Stowe has to offer. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Butler House Stowe Vermont

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Butler House Stowe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Butler House Stowe to your Saves list