We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loved our stay at Timberholm!!!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Timberholm Inn

Save Saved
You added Timberholm Inn to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Timberholm Inn
3.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   452 Cottage Club Road, Stowe, VT 05672   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 26 Stowe B&B and Inns
Gilbert, Arizona
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Loved our stay at Timberholm!!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2012

This place is wonderful! I took my 14 year old daughter to Vermont to show her what fall is like for a mom & daughter trip. We are from AZ & she has never seen a real fall. She wanted to stay in a B&B, another thing she hasn't experienced, so we chose Timberholm. It was such a wonderful stay. The location is so quiet, the grounds are lovely with a gorgeous view. The beds are comfortable, the rooms are clean and Susan & Tom are lovely hosts. They make it feel like you are among friends when you are there. Tom makes such great breakfasts and they are very accommodating if you have food allergies, etc. We would most certainly stay here again!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tom B, Owner at Timberholm Inn, responded to this review, October 23, 2012
You are always among friends at the Timberholm Inn! We're glad your daughter's first stay at a B&B was a good one. Thanks for coming all the way from Arizona.

Tom & Suan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

282 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    230
    42
    6
    2
    2
See reviews for
51
173
7
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (46)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Arroyo Grande, California
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2012

First off Stowe Vermont is a very quaint, beauitful town. The Timberholm Inn was located just out of town but located close to restaurants and the main section of activity. Our hosts, Susan and Tom, were great and very hospitable. Breakfast was very good and talking with the many guest was fun. Beds were very comfortable which is a key for me. I would highly recommend The Stowe area and the Timberholm to any visitor. Fall colors are also beauitful is this area of Vermont.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tom B, Owner at Timberholm Inn, responded to this review, October 23, 2012
One of the best things about staying at the Timberholm Inn, is that it is located in Stowe...a great Vermont village. Glad you agree and enjoyed your stay with us.

Tom & Susan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, MA
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2012

The Timberholm is exactly what you want at a B&B - great people (Susan and Tom), great food, and and exceptional value. We really enjoyed Tom's home cooked breakfast and the game room was great for downtime. I would highly recommend it and I will stay there next time I'm in Stowe.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tom B, Owner at Timberholm Inn, responded to this review, October 23, 2012
And we look forward to your next stay!

Tom & Susan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2012

The Timberholm is quite simply an excellent place to stay - it feels just like every B&B should, and I think it's probably the nicest one I've ever stayed in.
Tom was an impeccable host; friendly, knowledgeable and helpful, and his home-cooked breakfast was substantial and tasty!

The only possible drawback of Timberholm is that you have to drive to any of the major restaurants or 'downtown' Stowe, but that said, we really liked the Sunset Bar & Grill just a few hundred metres down the hill. (It's a simple burger & fries bar, but friendly and great fun.)

Anyway, unless you like crowds I'd strongly advise people to stay a bit out-of-town - the Timberholm is secluded, and as such feels special. The lounge is large and 'beautifully appointed', but somehow also as cosy as it's possible to be. The garden and verandah are lovely, and if that's not enough there's always the outdoor hot-tub.

The Timberholm's reviews on this site set high expectations, but if you're after a warm welcome in a comfortable, genuine B&B, then this is the place for you.

Room Tip: There's a wide range of rooms, from the small/cosy Spruce Room up to bigger suites - it just dep...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tom B, Owner at Timberholm Inn, responded to this review, October 23, 2012
Thanks for your review. Your correct that we a little more than walking distance from some of the restaurants and the village. That is the trade-off if you want a quiet and secluded place, away from some of the road noise, etc. But there are 6 restaurants within 1/2 mile, so it's not too far. A decent walk after a great meal. Please come back and stay with us again next time your in the States!

Tom & Susan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2012 via mobile

We stayed with friends at the Timberholme Inn and had a wonderful time. On our arrival we were given a warw welcome by Susan who showed us all the facilities on offer and then to the the Sugar Maple suite we had booked which was very comfortable, had all the amenities you could wish for and a fantastic view across the garden to the mountains beyond. The breakfasts were a real treat, Tom is an excellent cook and every breakfast served was most enjoyable. The lounge is very comfortable with large sofas and rocking chairs to relax in and enjoy the views through picture windows. If, like me, your research all B&b's in the area before making your choice then look no further, this is an excellent place to stay for a visit to Stowe. Thanks to Tom and Susan for making this part of our New England trip a memorable one. Dave, Jan, Sean and Sheron.

Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tom B, Owner at Timberholm Inn, responded to this review, October 9, 2012
We love our overseas guests from the UK. Thanks for telling your friends and thanks for making us part of your holiday. We like what your said...looking for a B&B in Stowe?...look no further than the Timberholm.

Cheers,

Tom & Susan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bowmanville, Ontario, Canada
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2012

Just returned home from a wonderful road trip and stay at the Timberholm Inn. Upon our arrival Tom greeted us and welcomed us in to the beautiful Inn. He then informed us we had been upgraded to their Sugar Maple Suite and it was lovely. We couldn't have been more impressed with the Suite and their kindness. The breakfast was amazing, so fresh and we loved that it was homemade!

The grounds are so beautiful and are in a perfect part of Stowe. Away from the Main st but close enough to enjoy all that Stowe has to offer.

I would certainly recommend the Timberholm Inn to friends and family if they are traveling to Stowe!

Room Tip: Sugar Maple Suite is Beautiful and Spacious!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tom B, Owner at Timberholm Inn, responded to this review, October 9, 2012
Fresh, homemade and local is what our breakfast is all about and were glad you appreciated it. We also appreciate your recommendation to others. Thanks!

Tom & Susan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hot Springs Village, Arkansas
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2012

Timberholm is pushed into a quiet little piece of Vermont hillside with a lovely, restful view. We sat on the deck in the afternoons and counted birds and watched the leaves change. Followed that with a trip to the Hot Tub which was most relaxing. (I can imagine it after a day of skiing!) Tom and Susan are accommodating hosts without interfering. Breakfasts were delicious and different. Glad to always see the coffee pot on. We did not use the "playroom" on the lower level. It is definitely musty-smelling but I don't think that is "overcomable". Our room (#7) was on an upper floor and a corner so we had great breezes and lovely trees-only view. Tons of books of interest and games on the main floor.

Room Tip: This is definitely a ski country B&B. While our room was overly spacious, I think if you are out...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tom B, Owner at Timberholm Inn, responded to this review, October 9, 2012
Hope you will join us again in the Winter and see just how relaxing that hot tub and room can be after a great day of skiing!

Tom & Susan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Timberholm Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Timberholm Inn

Address: 452 Cottage Club Road, Stowe, VT 05672
Location: United States > Vermont > Stowe
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 26 B&Bs / Inns in Stowe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Timberholm Inn 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tucked into a quiet, wooded hillside with gorgeous views of the Green Mountains, the Timberholm Inn is a classic Stowe Vermont Bed and Breakfast Country Inn with the ambiance of a bygone era. Built in 1949, our nine-room bed and breakfast is recognized by the Stowe Historical Society as one of Stowe's very first ski lodges and it remains one of the most popular year round Stowe, Vermont lodging properties to this day. The rustic interior of our bed and breakfast is finished with rich knotty pine, exuding a warmth that only comes from natural wood. Inside our casual Vermont country inn you will enjoy a relaxed atmosphere, friendly and attentive New England hospitality, and memorable full country breakfasts and afternoon treats. Plus, amenities including a TV lounge, outdoor hot tub and of course free WiFi. Our bed and breakfast inn is conveniently located within the town of Stowe, Vermont between our historic village and Vermont's highest mountain, Mount Mansfield, a skiing and hiking Mecca that attracts visitors from around the world. Guests appreciate our tranquil location off the main road yet within close proximity to all that Stowe, Vermont has to offer. We bet that you will too! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline and BookingOdigeoWL so you can book your Timberholm Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Timberholm Hotel Stowe
Timberholm Inn Stowe, Vermont

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Timberholm Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.