We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“nice hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Sun & Ski Inn and Suites

Enter dates for best prices

Best prices for your stay
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Expedia.com Booking.com
and 6 more sites!
Sun & Ski Inn and Suites
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1613 Mountain Road, Stowe, VT 05672   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
Spring Ski Sale 15% Off
Ranked #5 of 23 hotels in Stowe
Write a Review

268 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    136
    88
    24
    12
    8
See reviews for
96
91
14
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (47)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Worcester, MA
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2013

The Sun & Ski Inn and Suites was the perfect little get away with my two kids. We were very comfortable in one of the newly renovated, two Queen rooms located on the very end. Room was clean, beds were clean and comfortable. There was plenty of room for the kids to roam around the room, they really enjoyed having the river right outside the back of the Inn. They could have spent hours throwing rocks into the water and detoring the water with their rock creations if I let them. (Just what some city kids needed!) The owners were wonderful and very attentive to their guests needs. The rec. path is right across the street, it is paved; perfect for biking, walking, roller blading. The scenery can't be beat! Indoor pool was a plus, there is a changing room in the building.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mark v, Owner at Sun & Ski Inn and Suites, responded to this review, June 23, 2013
Thank you very much for your kind review! Rest assured, the Little River is still flowing like it did before your stay. :-) We're glad you and your family had such a good time at the Sun & Ski!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Windsor, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2013

The Sun & Ski Inn and Suites was one of the best places I've stayed. You wake up and look outside to a beautiful stream of water! You can relax on the hammocks or in the hot-tub or go swim in the pool. I stayed for a week and every morning I was greeted by the friendly workers/owners. They were always there to accommodate any of our needs. The continental breakfast was the perfect way to start the day. My king sized suite was clean and had all the necessities. It's right next to the recreation path and led to many awesome restaurants within walking distance! When I go back to Stowe, I am staying at Sun and Ski again hands down.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mark v, Owner at Sun & Ski Inn and Suites, responded to this review, June 23, 2013
Thank you so much for your nice review! It was really nice having you, and we're very happy you had such a good time!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lynnfield, Massachusetts
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2013

The Sun and Ski Inn and Suites was such a pleasant experience even the rain. The room was clean and comfortable. It was within walking distance to the town and many restaurants and shops.
The pool is large and clean and with mini golf on the property there is plenty to keep families happy. The management team is very personable and knowledgeable and Miss Cleo the cat gets the employee award. The continental breakfast was better than most places. We will definitely stay at Sun and Ski Inn again.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mark v, Owner at Sun & Ski Inn and Suites, responded to this review, June 23, 2013
Thank you for your kind review! Your compliments on our staff and cat have been passed on to them! We're glad you enjoyed your stay, and hope to see you again some time soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Savannah, Georgia
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2013

I really love the area and the property is nice--patios, swimming pool, mini golf. However, my king sized suite smelled. The bathroom and back area really smelled like urine. We were only there overnight and had to get up early to leave for the airport, so i did not complain, but if I had planned to stay there longer, I would have asked for another room.

Room Tip: We had room number 12. So, I guess avoid that one.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mark v, Owner at Sun & Ski Inn and Suites, responded to this review, June 23, 2013
As I've already expressed in our telephone call, I'm extremely sorry your stay with us was a disappointment due to an unpleasant smell. We would have done everything within our power to correct the issue, but unfortunately you had to check out early on the next morning. It turned out that your toilet was leaking into the basement, and we're very thankful you brought it to our attention.

We hope you'll give us a second chance if or when you visit Stowe again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Farmington, Connecticut
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2013

This is an excellent facility that brings me back to my earlier travel years. It was extremely clean, central to all popular vacation points, one level, a nice continental breakfast and mini golf should you care for a day break of area activities. The manager could no have been more accommodating and concerned with our needs.

This is more of a locally owned facility that doesn't have the lush carpeted lobby, indoor hallways, overstuffed furniture, etc. but having traveled VT for over 50 years this is why I come to VT for occasional vacations and long weekends. The hominess of the local people earning a living is refreshing in this day and age. If I want the corporate vacationing amenities I'll revisit Vegas, Cancun, Orlando or any of the other tourist area I've been lucky enough to spent time. Vermont is for relaxing and that is the exact environment supported by this unassuming vacation home base.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mark v, Owner at Sun & Ski Inn and Suites, responded to this review, June 23, 2013
Thank you very much for your review! We take your comments about us being a locally-owned rather than corporate property as a nice compliment, since we're indeed family-owned and operated. As we are planning to do some significant renovations and expansion down the road, we will definitely strive to maintain the relaxing atmosphere and personal attention that our guests value so much.

We're very happy you enjoyed your stay with us, and we hope to see you again some time in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, Maryland, United States
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2013

I was in town with my family for a wedding. We arrived and was greatly warmly by the owner's cat CLEO. The owner wasn't at the desk but within minutes she arrived. I was greeted pleasantly and thus began a great weekend, despite the rain. The staff were very helpful and warm. The breakfast was continental style--so if you are looking for a BIG breakfast, this is not the place. The dining area is a bit small. HOWEVER, it is built like a home so just go around to the next room and there is a fantastic living room with a library, games, a fireplace, additional tables, a couch, chairs and a fantastic view. There is a heated pool, great scenery and a wonderful trail across from the Inn. The location is ideal as it is within minutes of a myriad of shops, restaurants, and other local businesses. We were about 20 minutes from Waterbury which has the Ben and Jerry's factory and downtown Waterbury. We are 10 minutes from the ski slopes, so if that is your flavor, you are close by. The front desk also has extended hours so if you arrive late, there will be someone there at least until 10:30. They will also leave your key if you arrive after that point. Please be mindful that it is a pet friendly place. If you do not like pets, or are allergic, consider another venue. CLEO is always present, sitting, watching the birds, or greeting you when you come. She was a sweetheart. Do not expect to be electronically plugged in either. Although there is WIFI, you are in the mountains..so be realistic. In fact, TURN OFF THE TECHNOLOGY and enjoy the stay even more. There is a LOT of natural beauty and I can't say enough how peaceful this place was. Oh, and the granola is great--get the recipe! We (husband and 2 kids) are very happy we came and look forward to coming back! FYI, the kids activities were average because we didn't get a chance to experience them. We were in a double room, and it was a little small for us, so look to other reviews to check out what other rooms will look like and to see how the swimming and golf park would be for families.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mark v, Owner at Sun & Ski Inn and Suites, responded to this review, June 23, 2013
Thank you for your kind review! We will pass on the compliment to Cleo! :-) I would like to add we have Loft Suites which sleep up to 6 people and would be a great fit for families our small groups.

We hope to see you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Sun & Ski Inn and Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sun & Ski Inn and Suites

Also Known As:
Sun & Ski Hotel Stowe
Sun & Ski Hotel
Sun And Ski Inn And Suites
Sun And Ski Hotel
Sun And Ski Stowe
Sun & Ski Inn And Suites Stowe, Vermont
Address: 1613 Mountain Road, Stowe, VT 05672
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Vermont > Stowe
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#7 Family Hotel in Stowe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Sun & Ski Inn and Suites 2.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Bordered by the Little River and shadowed by Mount Mansfield, Sun & Ski Inn and Suites offers comfortable lodging rooms and amenities for the best vacation. Experience the enrichment of a peaceful mountain setting as well as the excitement of being near the fun! Located between the historic village of Stowe, Vermont and the mountain, Sun & Ski Inn and Suites has something to offer to the skiers, hikers and mountainbikers as well as to those longing for the famous New England warmth and hospitality. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Tingo, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotels.com and Venere so you can book your Sun & Ski Inn and Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sun & Ski Inn and Suites, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Sun & Ski Inn and Suites to your Saves list