We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Huge bed, large rooms good location on Mountain Road” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Sun & Ski Inn and Suites

Save Saved
You added Sun & Ski Inn and Suites to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Sun & Ski Inn and Suites
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1613 Mountain Road, Stowe, VT 05672   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Summer specials available
Ranked #5 of 23 hotels in Stowe
london
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“Huge bed, large rooms good location on Mountain Road”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2013

We stayed only for one night and were very pleasantly surprised with the comfy bed, large room, friendly staff and that breakfast was better than we had expected.
The pool was too cold to enjoy unfortunately and the hot tub area is looking tired

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mark v, Owner at Sun & Ski Inn and Suites, responded to this review, April 4, 2013
Thank you for your nice review! I'm happy to see you enjoyed your stay with us! Regarding your comment about our pool, its water is always around 82-83 F, which is a standard temperature for pools. I checked our maintenance log and there have been no issues with it. We realize our pool water always feels cold when you first step in, due to the high air temperature in the room, but this is normal for any pool. That said, we actually have been considering upgrading the hot tub room. That area gets a lot of traffic and could use some freshening up, which it will get in the near future.

Thanks again for your review, and we hope to see you again some day!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

279 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    146
    89
    25
    12
    7
See reviews for
102
96
14
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (50)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2013

This is my 2nd time visting Stowe and I don't remember having much fun during my 1st visit at a different hotel (Mountaineer Inn) until I got to stay at Sun & Ski Inn.

We just returned Stowe this past weekend. There were 8 of us and we had 2 rooms. The late arrival check-in process was smooth and we did not encounter any problem upon arrival. The room had everything we expected (4 towels, comfy bed, working TV and hot shower) - standard as it sounds but were important factors for us after driving 7-8 hours. The room was spacious (plenty room for 4 adults and bunch of snowboarding/ski gears) and I really liked that the sink was separated from the toilet/shower. The hotel even laid out 4 energy bars for us!

Breakfast was simple, but nutritious (fruits/cereal/bread/coffee/hot chocolate/juice/yogurt). They offer coffee/hot chocolate for refill during the day and cookies in the afternoon. Game room was a bit small but there weren't too many people using it so we had a lot of space to ourselves (they also have bunch of board games/puzzles). Also this hotel does not have a bar so you don't have to worry about all the noises at night.

The minor issues we had were that the hot tub did not work during the weekend we were there (March 1-3) and the lights in the solarium (where the pool was) was a bit dim. Also that the game room closes at 10pm so you can only hangout in your room or at a local bar at night.

Overall, we had great time at this hotel and all my friends praised me for choosing this hotel. The staffs were pretty friendly and accommodated us in every possible way!!

Room Tip: Room#1 was great, corner room, extra window and close walk to the office/pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mark v, Owner at Sun & Ski Inn and Suites, responded to this review, April 4, 2013
Thank you so much for your nice and detailed review! We're very glad you had such a good time at our hotel. My sincere apologies for the issue with the hot tub. It had a malfunctioning heat pump, and unfortunately we weren't able to have it fixed over the weekend. We realize our hot tub is an important amenity for our guests, so we, too, were rather disappointed about it.

Thanks again, and we hope to see you again some time!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2013

Our room was on the end of a motel-like building so we had the extra end window, rather than front and back only. With two queen beds, the room was still very, very large with the sink in an area outside of the actual bath/toilet room, but separated from the bed area.The atmosphere of the staff was friendly and accommodating; the motel/inn is well cared-for - clean towels by the pool and hot tub area, decent breakfast, plowed driveways, shoveled walkways and stocked brochure rack to find restaurants, ski rentals, activities, etc. Hooks in the room help to dry ski clothes at night. Excellent heat/temperature control in the room.
Although the outer look is somewhat motel-like, this is a step above that feeling with a fire in the lodge area. Nevertheless, the furnishings are modern, workable, rather than cozy, worn-in architecturally-designed. The nice aspect is that the entire inn is set back from Mountain Road, which is the two-lane highway leading to the ski area. Quiet at night.
The drive to the ski area takes about 12 minutes; there are many restaurants, ski shops, andconvenience stores close bye.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mark v, Owner at Sun & Ski Inn and Suites, responded to this review, March 7, 2013
Thank you for your nice and detailed review! We're happy you had a good time at the Sun & Ski. We would like to think of ourselves as an inn/hotel rather than a motel, and strive to provide the guest service you would expect from the former!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts, United States
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2013

Our family of five stayed here for three nights on a ski vacation. The loft suite was just the right size for us, clean and comfortable. Breakfast was simple but good, just right for a quick getaway to the slopes. The sitting room and library were very nice and homey. We would have used the sitting room more, I think, if we didn't have to go outside to get there (our loft suite was in an adjacent building), but that's not a big deal.

The only disappointment for the whole trip was the Mountain Road shuttle -- the service was unreliable and we ended up just driving the short distance to the mountain. But that has nothing to do with Sun & Ski.

All in all we had a great time and would definitely come back here -- it's hard to find value for a family of five, but this place was great.

Room Tip: If you are traveling with your family, get a loft suite. There was plenty of room for the five of u...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mark v, Owner at Sun & Ski Inn and Suites, responded to this review, March 7, 2013
Thank you so much for your nice review! We're very happy to see you enjoyed your stay and found our Loft Suites to be a great value for your family! I am a little sad to read about your experience with the Mountain Road Shuttle. You can be assured that your feedback will be relayed to its management.

Thanks again, and we hope to see you again some day!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Haven, Connecticut
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

Wow, I was really surprised by this hotel in a bad way after all the good reviews I read. Our 2 bedroom "suite" was not a suite at all but 2 adjoining rooms with one bathroom (no sitting room) in the main building. Our room was broiling hot and our daughters' room was freezing. The breakfast was awful, mostly carbs and the french toast sticks were disgusting. The driveway and parking area were covered with ice; I was afraid to walk to our car. The decor could euphemistically be called "shabby chic". We stayed four nights and only had our rooms cleaned once. The one thing about this place was the hot tub. The temperature was perfect and when we got there at 5pm most days there was no one else in it. I would not recommend this hotel to anyone.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mark v, Owner at Sun & Ski Inn and Suites, responded to this review, March 7, 2013
I am extremely sorry to hear about your experience at our hotel, but would like to thank you for your feedback.

Please allow me to start with noting a few things in our defense. First, we advertise the unit you stayed in not as a "suite" but as a "Two-Bedroom Unit" featuring "one room with a Queen bed, a second room with one King or two Twin beds, and one full bathroom." It is a one-of-a-kind unit in our hotel, and while admittedly not our nicest guestroom, many past guests - especially families - have found it to be a great value.

Second, our expanded continental breakfast is complementary for all of our guests and much appreciated by the vast majority of them. I would argue it is a great value, taking in mind that many comparably priced hotels in Stowe charge extra for a similar breakfast.

Third, the climate in Stowe - especially in February with temperatures hovering around 32 F - combined with the timing of the sand truck - which cannot get everywhere when cars are parked on our driveway - makes it extremely hard to avoid slippery spots. Every property in Stowe deals with this issue, but I'm sorry to hear it caused such an inconvenience to you.

All this said, there is no excuse for your issues with the heat in your rooms and the lack of housekeeping during your stay. We are working with a plumbing company to get to the bottom of the heat issue. And you can be assured our housekeepers are aware that I'm not happy you didn't receive cleaning three days of your stay.

It is my personal goal that every guest walks out of our hotel feeling that their expectations were not just met but EXCEEDED. The long list of glowing reviews below hopefully testifies to that, and I'm really disappointed we failed to meet this goal during your stay. I'd like to offer you my sincere apologies for that. I hope you will give us another opportunity to service and accommodate your family in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dartmouth, Massachusetts
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2013

We stayed here this past week during the kids' February vacation so that we could ski. Sun & Ski is ideally located, 5 miles from the mountain and about 2 miles from the Village of Stowe. There are also good family restaurant choices very close, our favorite being Pie-casso Pizza which is almost walking distance. The staff were very friendly and helpful. (They recommended Pie-casso, and also gave us the really helpful advise to make advance reservations since February break week is mobbed. It turned out to be critical advise and we were able to get into the restaurants of our choice). Our room was the perfect size for our family of 5 (we had a loft suite), and it was clean and comfortable. The pool and hot tub were great for evenings after a long day of skiing. Breakfast was good. Overall, we left with a very positive feeling, and would definitely stay there if we ski at Stowe again.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mark v, Owner at Sun & Ski Inn and Suites, responded to this review, March 7, 2013
Thank you for your nice review! It is great to hear you enjoyed your stay at our hotel, and we hope to see you again some day!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Syracuse, NY
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2013

I picked Sun & Ski for a two night stay in the summer of 2012 because I'd admired the place when I lived in Stowe, a few years earlier, and more current research showed me it was 'budget friendly'. And as someone who loves the convenience of motels, for me this place was perfect. Parked my car right in front of my room... big picture window looked out over the mountains in the front, and in the back of the room was a sliding glass door that opened out to my own little semi-private porch, the big, quiet, back lawn, and at the edge of the lawn, a wonderful little, shallow river to sit by or play in - very welcomed on a hot summer weekend. The room and bathroom were immaculate, bed was comfortable. There's a nice 'morning room' for continental breakfast, the grounds are very nice and well-maintained, and there's even a miniature golf course on the premises. The Sun & Ski is well-located in Stowe and easy to get to and the staff is friendly and helpful. I'll definitely stay there again.

Room Tip: All of the rooms are good, with parking in front of them, and the lawn and river behind them, access...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mark v, Owner at Sun & Ski Inn and Suites, responded to this review, February 24, 2013
Thank you so much for taking a moment to write a review of your stay with us, especially after such a long time! We loved the picture you posted, too: These doors were actually just installed when it was taken, and painted green not long after that! :-)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Sun & Ski Inn and Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sun & Ski Inn and Suites

Address: 1613 Mountain Road, Stowe, VT 05672
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Vermont > Stowe
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#7 Family Hotel in Stowe
#7 Romantic Hotel in Stowe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Sun & Ski Inn and Suites 2.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Bordered by the Little River and shadowed by Mount Mansfield, Sun & Ski Inn and Suites offers comfortable lodging rooms and amenities for the best vacation. Experience the enrichment of a peaceful mountain setting as well as the excitement of being near the fun! Located between the historic village of Stowe, Vermont and the mountain, Sun & Ski Inn and Suites has something to offer to the skiers, hikers and mountainbikers as well as to those longing for the famous New England warmth and hospitality. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, T4B, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Tingo, Travelocity, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Venere and Otel so you can book your Sun & Ski Inn and Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sun And Ski Inn And Suites
Sun & Ski Hotel Stowe
Sun And Ski Hotel
Sun And Ski Stowe
Sun & Ski Inn And Suites Stowe, Vermont

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sun & Ski Inn and Suites, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.