We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“So friendly!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Riverside Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Riverside Inn to your Saves list
Riverside Inn
2.0 of 5 Inn   |   1965 Mountain Rd., Stowe, VT 05672   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #13 of 25 Stowe B&B and Inns
Cambridge, Massachusetts
1 review
“So friendly!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2013

We called last minute having never stayed before and got a dog friendly room. I skied but my wife doesn't and I accidentally took the car keys with me as I skied with a friend. This left my wife and dog stranded in the room and unable to check out on time. The hosts completely and graciously accommodated them until I got back after four allowing them to stay dog, bags, and wife in the room until I arrived. We were very embarrassed by our mistake, but the hosts were just fantastic to us.

So, great price, clean room with nice view and comfortable bed all on the shuttle and walking path and great, gracious hosts.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

89 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    50
    21
    7
    7
    4
See reviews for
11
21
9
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2013

We stayed in one of the motel rooms, and it was exactly what I expected for such a low price. A little shabby, but was clean, the room was large and roomy, and having a fridge and microwave in your room for a ski weekend is always a bonus. The Inn is on the mountain side of Stowe but still super close to shopping and dining. Really the only complaint would be that the shower curtains were overdue for a change. Overall we were very pleased.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Massachusetts
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

I stayed here while riding at Stowe & Sugarbush. I was solo, but my room had two dbls and a twin sized bed, all for under $100 a night over the weekend; so for a group, this would be a steal. I stayed in one of the motel units in the back, which was nice and quiet, not that anyplace along the access road is real noisy. The room was nothing special; I'm guessing the place was built back in the 50s, judging from the fact it shared many features with the house my grandfather built. This was quaint, but also reflected 60+ years of wear and tear; not dirty, but not luxurious. It is what it is, a total steal for Stowe; I would easily stay here again, but I wouldn't try to impress a woman with it. Another perk is it's location, directly next to Piecasso which makes great food and serves some awesome local brews; try anything by Hill Farmstead or Lawsons and/or the Heady Topper. Super close to the mountain.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2013

This is not a fancy place, but the rooms are neat, tidy, and clean. The location is great, midway between the mountain and the village with many good restaurants within walking distance. The innkeepers were very friendly and helpful.

Room Tip: There are rooms in the main house, and newer motel type units behind the main house that can accommo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, England, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012

My friend and I recently stayed at the Riverside Inn during our road trip around America and we both agree that this place was the best place we stayed in the whole two months. Julian and Kay are just amazing (always there to offer advice and help in any way they can) and make you feel so welcome in their lovely home. The rooms are great, location perfect and it is incredible value for money in Stowe. We really could not recommend this place enough and we cannot wait for our return trip. Julian and Kay have nailed it!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nashua, New Hampshire
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2012

Reviews have to be relative while writing, and you always compare the thing to review amongst a lot of it's kind and quite promptly this place sits right at the top when it comes to it's "Value for it's Price" parameter.Location, service, cleanness and and the warmth of the welcoming gesture, you think of these parameters and they stand out so very much for each of those that it won't take you really much time to attribute your superlatives to them, and that too at such an outstandingly competitive price at a place where lodging gets costlier than Times Square during autumn,

My strong strong recommendations for this place.

Room Tip: You don't have to be fazed if you get the Inn's Old House's accommodation and are not g...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wirral, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2012

Initially, we were just travelling thru but, after the first night the karma of the place got to us and we stayed another three nights!

Julian & Kay couldn't have been more welcoming and helpful and contributed greatly to our enjoyment of Stowe and it's surrondings.

We were there in late September in glorious weather which, of course, helped but The Riverside Inn is a place whichcompletely trumps our "pass this way once, never return" travelling rule!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Riverside Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riverside Inn

Address: 1965 Mountain Rd., Stowe, VT 05672
Location: United States > Vermont > Stowe
Amenities:
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 25 B&Bs / Inns in Stowe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Riverside Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 16
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline and Despegar.com so you can book your Riverside Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riverside Inn Stowe, Vermont

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Riverside Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.