We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A wonderful, welcoming experience.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hob Knob Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Hob Knob Inn to your Saves list
Hob Knob Inn
2.5 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   2364 Mountain Rd. - PO Box 3363, PO Box 3363, Stowe, VT 05672   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #7 of 25 Stowe B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Brisbane, Queensland, Australia
1 review
“A wonderful, welcoming experience.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2013

The host family were exceptionally warm and friendly; you are made to feel like a member of the family. Lovely grounds, good restaurant. Rooms are larger than usual from several we saw. A delightful change from being anonymous as you are in most places you stay, even smaller ones.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

140 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    84
    28
    18
    5
    5
See reviews for
41
54
3
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Ireland
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
67 helpful votes 67 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2013

Arriving in Stowe after a long journey including a two hour flight delay (and a 200 metre dash for a connecting flight at JFK) we were treated to the lovely aroma of home cooking as we parked outside the kitchen. Our room was spacious and cosy, with a porch/ski storage area which would have been perfect for the winter ski season.

We were very impressed by our first dinner in the US - the steak was cooked perfectly but the star was the loaf of freshly baked bread made with molasses. Husband said it was better than the Irish bread that his 90 year old mom makes - now that's a compliment!

The owner was very friendly and gave us maps of the area and excellent advice for touring. Although we were too early for the foliage the countryside was beautiful and we are still savouring the bottle of Vermont whisky we brought home from the distillery up the road!

Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2013

The location is on the mountain road so a plus for convenience and the grounds are very neat. The owner is very pleasant which is another plus. The restaurant isn't open all the time so check for days if you planned on eating there. I don't consider it an Inn - it's what I would refer to as a motel...drive up to your door. no frills at all. The room was large enough but the decor and bathroom are outdated but clean. The TV worked but really poor picture quality (the Pats looked like they were playing on a snow covered field when it was a 50 degree Sunday night!).

I don't think I would stay here again because there are so many other choices on the mountain road for what I would consider the same value.

Room Tip: All of the rooms are a good distance from the road so it was quiet (although there were no other gue...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancaster, Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2013

From the dog escorting us into the office, to the owners going out of their way to make sure we had an enjoyable stay, this is a great place in Stowe. The room was VERY spacious and comfortable. Sure, the room could use some updating, but it was clear that the furnishing were top quality in their day. The view from the window was an added, unexpected bonus.

The breakfast was a notch above what most hotels serve for continental breakfast. But the best part of breakfast was the attention given by the owners, making sure we knew what we wanted to do for the day. Their advice was practical, rather than spurned by the desire to send us to the tourist traps.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochester, New York
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2013

We were in town for a wedding. Our room was NOT CLEANED because we requested service at the "oh so late hour" of 1PM...early afternoon! We had hung the "do not disturb" sign on the door that morning because we were only out briefly for breakfast and a trip to town. We thought they'd have more time to clean our room after we left for the day at 1PM, at which time we hung the "please clean" sign. WE HAD NO IDEA THE HOUSEKEEPER HAD GONE FOR THE DAY! There was no verbal or written notification of that policy. So we returned at 10PM to unmade beds and wet towels! The owner was very unapologetic, sarcastically stating "we don't have 24 hour housekeeping service." The only thing she did to remedy the problem was to bring us clean towels. When I suggested an adjustment in our bill to compensate for this inconvenience, she said "I'll take that under advisement", but was again sarcastic, and had no intention of doing so. The rates were very high for what is your average motel, especially well before peak season. One would expect flexible accommodations and a pleasant attitude to follow. A very disappointing experience!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairfield, Connecticut
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2013

During a recent ladies weekend at a timeshare resort, we decided to have dinner at the Hob Knob Inn. I can't say enough how much we enjoyed the evening. First off, the staff was friendly and more than accommodating. The signature drinks were fabulous and the meal was the best I've had in months. The scallops wrapped in bacon were delightful and the filet cooked to perfection. The ambiance is cozy Vermont. I will definitely return the next time I am in town.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Top Contributor
182 reviews 182 reviews
40 hotel reviews
Reviews in 53 cities Reviews in 53 cities
74 helpful votes 74 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2013

I would really love to say that this place deserves four-stars because it is managed by a very nice family. The restaurant is nice and the service is pretty good. It is a very well managed property. However, the rooms are outdated and are missing some basic amenities. There is no way this can be attributed to being "rustic". For the money they charge (top season surcharge is accounted for), not really a great value for your dollar. A huge plus is that they are very dog friendly, but make sure you book in advance and call to confirm.

Room Tip: Try to get a bigger room with a wood burning stove. No matter what room you stay in, check your brak...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hob Knob Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hob Knob Inn

Address: 2364 Mountain Rd. - PO Box 3363, PO Box 3363, Stowe, VT 05672
Location: United States > Vermont > Stowe
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Kitchenette Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 25 B&Bs / Inns in Stowe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hob Knob Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hob Knob is a family owned and operated inn & Restaurant. Built in 1937 as the first ski lodge in Stowe, the Hob Knob is now completely restored. All of our guestrooms and facilities have been recently renovated for a comfortable home like feel in an original ski lodge. Each nights stay includes a free full breakfast in our lounge.With 20 spacious guestrooms on 10 acres of land, a walking trail, pool, hot tub, restaurant and bar, 2 ponds and a plethora of wildlife the Hob Knob is the perfect Stowe getaway. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your Hob Knob Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hob Knob Hotel Stowe
Hob Knob Inn Stowe, Vermont

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hob Knob Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.