We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loved the Stowehof” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Stowehof Inn

Save Saved
You added Stowehof Inn to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Stowehof Inn
3.0 of 5 Inn   |   434 Edson Hill Rd., Stowe, VT 05672   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #10 of 26 Stowe B&B and Inns
Wellesley, Massachusetts
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Loved the Stowehof”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2007

You never know what you're going to get when you get to a place after booking it - and this was one of the BEST mini-getaways we've ever had!

From the moment we called the inn to book, the staff was so friendly and accomodating. They were just as great face to face at check-in and we really felt great about our decision to stay there.

Our room was beautiful and very clean. I actually thought that the inn was much better than the website led us to imagine and we typically have somewhat high expectations. So in a nutshell, it was immaculate, friendly and fun. The views of the mountains were wonderful. This is a "Must Stay" kind of place!

We don't typically stay in Stowe, but after staying at the Stowe Hof, we'll make the time to go back again and again.

  • Liked — Location, location, Location!
  • Stayed March 2007, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

268 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    135
    63
    21
    29
    20
See reviews for
54
124
4
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (59)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
New York
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2007

We stayed at the Stowehof while catching the last great ski weekend of winter. It was much less crowded and we didn't experience the problems others have complained about. The inn is perfectly located between the town and the mountain, but off the main road so that it is really quiet. The architecture of the inn is really interesting, the front is supported by two trees, and the incredible views more than made up for the plainness of the bedroom, which we spent little time in anyway. Our bedroom (which we got at a special rate of $109) had a door to the wrap around balcony so we could step out and breathe the fresh mountain air. The staff were all extremely helpful and friendly, there is even a basket downstairs with energy bars to keep you going on the slopes. Not that you'll need them, the included country breakfast keeps you full so that you can enjoy an uninterrupted day of skiing. Apres-ski, we enjoyed the hot tub and sauna, and had a drink and delicious appetizers in the candlelit Coslin's pub. Chris, the owner, is very knowledgeable about wine and keeps the cellar well stocked. All in all, a great experience and we can't wait to go back.

  • Liked — architecture, service, food, drinks, location, views
  • Disliked — bedroom
  • Stayed March 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hartford
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2007

My fiancée and I arrived at the Inn after a long drive to find out we had been upgraded to the PREMIER room, which we assumed would be very nice. After repeatedly thanking the staff we arrived at our room astonished. This place is NOTHING like the pictures online. The pictures online make this place look
very elegant and beautiful, however, the Stowehof Inn is nothing of the sort. The curtains are an awful blue and white floral pattern from something out of the 70's (which needed to be cleaned), the bathroom had a heat lamp which did not work, the toilet literally sat about 10 inches off the floor, and the shower curtain barely reached the base of the tub. This place is SEVERLY outdated and needs to be updated. The room was relatively clean, but it being outdated caused it to look dirtier than it really was.
For dinner we ate at Coslin's pub because the main dining room was full. The bartender there was handling both the bar customer as well as the customers who were seated and he had more than he could handle. After waiting several minutes to order at our table, I went up to the bar to order and it took me a good 20-25 minutes to order there because it was so busy. The food there was mediocre at best and very expensive. We had a couple appetizers, drinks and dinner and our bill was almost $100, and definitely not worth it.
So we go to check out the following morning around 7:45am, when many people are checking out to head out skiing. There is no one at the desk and there is a sign saying they will be back at 8am. 7:45am is a prime time when people are checking out and there is no one at the desk?? Then the girl at the desk did not arrive until about 8:05am.
We were not at all impressed with our experience at the Stowehof Inn. It was very overpriced and outdated. We will not be heading back there anytime soon.

  • Stayed March 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
44 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2007

My family and I booked 2 rooms at this resort after an extensive search on the internet. The rooms looked lovely online and after speaking with the staff, they seemed very friendly. Since it was President's week, we expected to pay more, however, the $222 per night rate was high for what the room offered. The furnishings were shabby and did not seem to have a theme. Walls were covered with unfinished paneling which was painted white and timbers with large holes decorated the ceiling.(Rustic) There was a border on the walls and ceiling of the bathroom (Country). Our kingsize bed was just 2 twin beds pushed together (Colonial). The end tables were so small they just fit the lamp and clock. (Antique) The TV was so small that we needed to sit at the foot of the bed to watch. The bathroom had some new fixtures (Modern), however, the sink was so small that when we brushed our teeth, we had to be careful not to hit our head on the built-in shelf above it (Rustic). The nicest part of the room was the linens.
Breakfast was a bit unorganized. Considering it is a skiing hotel, it was odd that breakfast only began at 8 AM. This is the time when most serious skiers are already on their way to the mountain. On the first day, it seemed as if they had never served breakfast before. There was no decaf coffee and I needed to ask 3 times for some. I would have settled for tea, however, there was hot water, but no teabags. There was juice, but no juice glasses. The next day there was coffee, but no cups. Then they ran out of regular coffee. There were no eggs until I had finished my breakfast. The rest of the week seemed to be a bit more organized, however, the eggs never made it to the buffet before 8:10 AM.
This hotel would have been fine at $150, but at $222 I felt a bit cheated.

  • Liked — The linens
  • Disliked — The complete room
  • Stayed February 2007, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pennsylvania
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2007

Our first visit to Vermont - we're coming back and only looking to stay at Stowehof. The place was incredibly charming and comfortable. We have a teenage son and he didn't miss the usual arcade or video games at a commercialized hotel. He agreed this is where we come back to. The setting, hosts, view, food, WINE,.....everything, was just what we wanted and needed! See you in 2008!! Tom, Jen and Hans Goldbach

Stayed February 2007
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mass.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2007

Overall we enjoyed our stay in Stowe and at the inn. it was in a nice location with great views and off the main road. The sleigh ride was great and dinner in Emily's was spectacular to say the least, well worth the cost. Breakfast included in the price was nice and it more than satisfed us in the mornings.

However, it was a getaway for a birthday weekend and the two beds pushed together to be one was not the most romantic bed in the world and the cleanliness of the room was so, so. There was a wedding this weekend that we were not told about so we felt like one of just a couple people not there for the wedding and wherever they wedding group was in the the place they took over. Also saturday the living room and dinning room were closed for the wedding so we were unable to use the fireplaces in the livingroom, which was one of the reasons we went to the inn. The Inn should tell people when there will be a large group and aspects of the common area will not be accesible to other guests. The hot tub was not so hot and the jets barely worked at all. The website and the pictures lead you to believe that the Inn is a little less rustic than it appears in real life and our room looked nothing like the pictures on the site.
Michelle

Stayed February 2007
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andover, Massachusetts
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2007

After countless hours of searching on the net, the Stowehof inn seemed to be a great deal. It turns out that we couldn't have made a better choice! The stowehof inn is tucked away off a side road, and has a very cozy feel to it. The property is beautiful, and the snow gives it the perfect winter setting.
The room was nice, and also fairly clean. The bed was very comfortable, even though they pushed together two full size beds to make a huge king. My only complaint was that the TV was minuature, however, my girlfriend and I definately didn't mind--its just not that kind of place. Every room has a small porch/balcony that looks out over the property/hills, which is also quite charming.
Our favorite part of our stay was dinner. Phenomenal does not begin to describe how the food tasted. Although a bit pricey, it is well worth it. Even my girlfriend, who is a vegetarian, found some really great dishes. Dining here is a must--it is absolutely worth it.
The property also has a small pub with a pool table and TV. The living room area also seemed nice, even though we didn't spend any time there. In the morning, breakfast was free, and provided a great start to the day. I would reccomend this inn to anyone coming to the Stowe/Waterbury area!

  • Liked — The atmosphere
  • Disliked — The bed...I would like a real king next time.
  • Stayed February 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Stowehof Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Stowehof Inn

Address: 434 Edson Hill Rd., Stowe, VT 05672
Location: United States > Vermont > Stowe
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 26 B&Bs / Inns in Stowe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Stowehof Inn 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Stowehof Inn is one of the last classic alpine inns in ski country. Steeped in classic decor and the site of Alan Alda's movie "Four Seasons", the inn represents the eclectic beginnings of America's love affair with Austrian alpine design and skiing. Built in the late 40's the Stowehof sits on a 30 acre estate looking up on the ski trails of the Stowe Ski Resort. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Tingo, Priceline, Despegar.com, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your Stowehof Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Stowehof Hotel Stowe
Stowehof Inn Stowe, Vermont

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Stowehof Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.