We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“You won't be disappointed if you stay here.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Stowe Motel & Snowdrift

Save Saved
You added Stowe Motel & Snowdrift to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Stowe Motel & Snowdrift
2.0 of 5 Motel   |   2043 Mountain Rd, Stowe, VT 05672   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
15% Early Sept. Discount
Ranked #2 of 23 Hotels in Stowe
London
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
“You won't be disappointed if you stay here.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2013

We can’t praise this motel highly enough. In fact, we found it hard to find anything wrong with it at all. It was by far one of the best we've ever stayed in. The location is good and it really does look like it appears on their web site. Set off the road, amongst trees, just outside the small town of Stowe. The ladies in the office were amongst the friendliest we have ever encountered –nothing was too much trouble. We had booked an “efficiency” and glad we did as it had a hob, sink and fridge. It was large and so so clean. Bathroom and facilities equally great with loads of fluffy towels. There are bikes available, smaller bikes for children and I saw some with trailers to put your little ones in – all free. The office has a good collection of DVD’s, again all free; there is a small outdoor heated pool, wi-fi in your room, with a computer and printer available in the office. We were only there for two nights but really wish we could have stayed longer. It's about a 10 min. drive into Stowe, which has more to offer than Weston. Some nice shops and coffee places. Also a laundromat in town, which the girls in the office can direct you to. Can recommend it for a service wash. Using the motel as a base, there are some good activities in the area. Unfortunately for us it rained most of the time we were there!

Do stay here if you are in the area – you won’t be disappointed.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
stowemotel, Manager at Stowe Motel & Snowdrift, responded to this review, July 16, 2013
Thank you for writing such a detailed description of our property for other guests to see, explaining some of our extra amenities such as free bike use and dvds. We pride ourselves on being friendly and clean, and very pleased you enjoyed your stay. Hopefully next time you visit the weather will be better :) Thank you again for rating us 5 out of 5 on Trip Advisor!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

278 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    149
    109
    19
    1
    0
See reviews for
92
109
11
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (45)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Beverly, Massachusetts, United States
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2013

Just returned from our (now) annual anniversary get away. My family is from Vermont and I cannot get enough of the glorious mountains, the serenity et al. We like to stay in the same room with a view when we visit and the location is perfect for us. Of course, Stowe is an amazing place with lots of great restaurants and things to do! It is actually a perfect four seasons destination!
Yes, it is "very clean" but I expect that!
What I really enjoy is, after a day of visiting our favorite haunts, we love hanging out in our spacious "suite". I could actually prepre a meal in the tidy kitchenette ( if I wanted to).
Next year is our 50th and yes, we shall return!

Sally & Jerry Koen
Beverly, MA

Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
stowemotel, Owner at Stowe Motel & Snowdrift, responded to this review, June 20, 2013
Thank you for rating us a 5 out of 5 and returning to the Stowe Motel & Snowdrift for your anniversary get away. We really appreciate your wonderful comments about us and the Stowe area. Thank you again for recommending us on Trip Advisor!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toledo, Ohio
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2013

This place is a gem! It is in the top five of the CLEANEST places I've ever been, far surpassing many "luxury" hotels I've stayed in. It feels kind of retro (in a very cool way) but not at all dated-- everything on the property and in the room was modern and up to date. And everything was spotless and well maintained. The rate was reasonable, the room was comfortable, and the staff was wonderful. We arrived very late, and the staff allowed us to check out at a much later time that was scheduled, affording us the much needed rest. I really wish we were in Stowe for more than the day, because I would have gladly spent my entire vacation there to take advantage of the pool, jacuzzi, bikes, and other amenities. Did I mention how clean everything was? I am not a skier, but I will definitely go back in the off season the next time I am in Vermont!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
stowemotel, Owner at Stowe Motel & Snowdrift, responded to this review, June 20, 2013
WOW! We are so grateful for your remarks. Thank you for great review and for your wonderful comments about our staff and the cleanliness of our property. We really appreciate you sharing your positive experience with Trip Advisor.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kings Park, New York
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2013

We were here in mid-May, and stayed in the fireplace suite - it was immaculate - two bedrooms - with plenty of storage and closet space, one bath, a den area with a tv and fireplace, sliding doors out to a deck with a BBQ and deck chairs, a modern, spotless, well-equipped kitchen, and a lovely dinette area. Everything was spotlessly clean. Also, the grounds were lovely - there were outdoor dining tables and chairs, a nice pool that was open and heated, and a hot tub. This place is perfect for a family - for a week of skiing in the winter, or for enjoying the attractions that Vermont as to offer in the spring, summer, or fall. We look forward to returning. This is now our favorite place to stay in Stowe!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
stowemotel, Owner at Stowe Motel & Snowdrift, responded to this review, May 29, 2013
I can't thank you enough for posting such a wonderful review on our property! We are thrilled that you were able to enjoy all that we have to offer and take pride in providing you with a clean, comfortable and friendly stay at our hotel. Thank you again for taking the time to post on Trip Advisor.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2013

This is really sweet motel. Very adorable and green place. Staff is nice and helpful. We had value room which was kind of old but for the price it was ok. Breakfast was included. You can enjoy jacuzzi, two swimming pools, dvd player, bikes, free tea and coffee. What I really like were many free samples at the reception. Farmer's market is just 10 min walking. Down town is 2 miles far away. Many restaurants around. Don't expect fancy hotel, but cozy motel in the countryside. Nice people, nice place, definitely will come back!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
stowemotel, Owner at Stowe Motel & Snowdrift, responded to this review, May 29, 2013
We are very happy you enjoyed your stay with us! We are indeed just minutes from the the Farmer's Market and numerous restaurants. The economy value rooms are a little older than our other units, but very reasonable for the area. Your detailed feedback is very helpful and we appreciate the items that need improvement as well as the things we are doing right. Thanks again for recommending us!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burlington, Vermont, United States
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2013

The property and rooms at Stowe Motel are absolutely pristine. Rooms are so clean. The property is well maintained. There is a swimming pool, free bikes to use, and horseshoes. Also a hot tub. They offer a free breakfast, and the rates are reasonable. I would stay here again any day. Some rooms even have fire places. It's a great place for families. I cannot express how clean the rooms are.

Room Tip: They have a large selection of rooms to fit any need. Call and check it out.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
stowemotel, Owner at Stowe Motel & Snowdrift, responded to this review, May 29, 2013
Thank you for rating us a 5 out of 5! We really appreciate your wonderful comments and we are really pleased that you enjoyed our complimentary continental breakfast as well as our other amenities. Thank you again for recommending us on Trip Advisor!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kingston, Canada
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2013

Have been coming for about 20 years now. Great place to stay & friendly staff. Close to places to eat and shop. Parking is easy & use of free mountain bikes for the rec path is great for when guests come with us. The path is located very close. Easy way downtown. Michelle, Rich & Del are great staff and housekeeping is always very friendly also. See you in June 2013.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
stowemotel, Manager at Stowe Motel & Snowdrift, responded to this review, May 14, 2013
It is wonderful to hear such a glowing review from a guest who has stayed with us 20 years, thank you so much! We are fortunately to have so many wonderful guests like yourself that return to the Stowe Motel & Snowdrift. We glad that you are able to enjoy the nearby Stowe Recreation Path. It's a refreshing way to start your day, whether biking or walking or even snowshoe in the winter. Thank you for noting our friendly staff as well. We appreciate you taking the time to review us on Trip Advisor. We look forward to your return in June.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Stowe Motel & Snowdrift? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Stowe Motel & Snowdrift

Address: 2043 Mountain Rd, Stowe, VT 05672
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Vermont > Stowe
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Stowe
#3 Romantic Hotel in Stowe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Stowe Motel & Snowdrift 2*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled between picturesque Stowe Village and the Stowe Mountain Resort, the Stowe Motel & Snowdrift is situated on 16 acres of beautifully landscaped grounds, bordered by the pristine Westbranch River. A variety of lodging including rooms, efficiencies, fireplace efficiencies, apartments, suites and houses is offered. Guests can partake in our continental breakfast, mountain bikes, snowshoes, hot tub, heated pools, tennis courts, game room and more. Free wireless is also available! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Odigeo, Tingo, Travelocity, Priceline, Venere and Otel so you can book your Stowe Motel & Snowdrift reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Stowe Motel & Snowdrift Hotel Stowe
Stowe Motel And Snowdrift
Stowe Hotel Snowdrift
Stowe Motel & Snowdrift Vermont

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Stowe Motel & Snowdrift, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.