We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It's okay” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Colonial Cafe at the Golden Eagle Resort

Colonial Cafe at the Golden Eagle Resort
511 Mountain Road, Stowe, VT 05672
802-253-4811
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #37 of 79 Restaurants in Stowe
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Cuisines: American
Restaurant details
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“It's okay”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2014

There was a decent selection of breakfast foods for lunch but $2 for a banana and $3 for a coupe pieces of toasts is a bit much. The food wasn't anything special.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

79 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    39
    24
    8
    4
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Montreal, Canada
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Way Too Expensive for What you get.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2014

I happen to stay at the Golden Eagle Resort (The Colonial Cafe) is part of the Resort. My breakfast was included in my rate. And it's a good thing, there is no way that I would spend $10 on 2 eggs, 2 strips of bacon and an order of toast. The service is very friendly,always with a smile, but it's not very prompt. I has to ask the bus girl for more coffee.

My wife ordered the "The Vermonter:two local farm fresh eggs any style, bacon, sausage or ham with toast or muffins, beverage......My wifes toast arrived burnt, so she ordered new toast, asked for Rye, it came not burnt but the toast was loaded with Caraway. This is not RYE.

I had the "The Mountaineer:cheese or plain omelet, served with toast, home fries and beverage. With additional filling, my choice was the Ham. My omelette was not the best, tasted a bit fake, like it was rubbery. The home fries were ok but heavily salted.

The coffe was good. I love Green Mountain Coffee. Then we ordered an order of pancakes, 2 pancakes $6...NUTS.

Total was $25.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tyngsboro, Massachusetts
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
“Disappointing Service”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2014

The food was average, and the service was spotty. In one case a family member walked out after 15 minutes of being ignored, despite there being few people in the restaurant. When dining alone, being ignored is the last thing anyone wants.

This restaurant has been around many years, has handled much larger crowds, and should have been prompt and attentive to our family member.

There are better places in town for breakfast.

Visited February 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SINY
Top Contributor
108 reviews 108 reviews
83 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
“Hidden gem?”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2014

I'm with a group of 8 skiers staying @ The Golden Eagle Resort, not the 1st time either. We went with the free breakfast plan during our 4 day stay. One of the great deals during the whole trip...never had a problem.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Middletown, CT
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Bring your appetite”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2014

Guests at the Golden Eagle Resort can have breakfast included in their stay, but anyone can get breakfast here. Amazing Vermont breakfasts, excellent ingredients for great prices. My wife and I have had breakfast here many times. Let's just say you will probably not need to eat lunch when having breakfast here. Add the quiet ambience and friendly staff, and this is a must-do for Stowe visitors.

Visited January 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Colonial Cafe at the Golden Eagle Resort also viewed

 

Been to Colonial Cafe at the Golden Eagle Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Colonial Cafe at the Golden Eagle Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.