We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Really nice place to stay for a great value” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Northern Lights Lodge

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Northern Lights Lodge to your Saves list
Northern Lights Lodge
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   4441 Mountain Rd, Stowe, VT 05672   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #9 of 25 Hotels in Stowe
Certificate of Excellence
Holliston, MA
Level Contributor
91 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Really nice place to stay for a great value”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2013

Nice room - comfortable beds - hot breakfast - nice people - what else could you ask for? Well - you get all this for a decent price! Double bed room for $140 (taxes and all) with hot breakfast included (great scrambled eggs). We would definitely recommend Northern Lights Lodge to anyone staying in the area.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

260 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    130
    88
    24
    11
    7
See reviews for
60
86
8
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (47)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2013

This hotel left us presently surprised. We were looking for a modest priced hotel to stay for one night in Stowe. For about $140 we had a double queen room with very comfortable beds. The staff were very pleasant and helpful. There was a pool, hot tub and sauna, which we took advantage of before heading out to dinner in one of Stowe's many restaurants. The rate also included breakfast which was various and good quality. The hotel is located about 3/4 way between downtown Stowe and Mount Mansfield State Park, with it being closer to the later. We will definitely stay here on our next visit to Stowe.

Room Tip: The hotel is in the process of upgrading the rooms, so I recommend asking for a recently renovated r...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2013

I went to the northern lights lodge with my school from Britain in late march this year. We went skiing and to new york and i didnt want to leave! the hotel was welcoming and homey as soon as we walked in, there was fresh made cookies every day and a warm fire for the cold weather:) our room was so cute and comfortable! it was a 4 people room, 2 to a bed, with all matching decor. i think it made it nice that every room was individual, and no two rooms were the same. The pool and Jacuzzi were both amazing, but i spent most of my time in the sauna with my friends. it was so nice and relaxing after a days skiing! there was also a games room which we spent a lot of time in, with various video machines and a mini football table:) there was also some funny board games. the food was good as well, we had a taco night and various different typical american meals which was nice:) it was nice to have free wifi too, helpful to get in touch with home!! mike was the most friendliest man i have ever met, he was always there to help! i really really enjoyed my stay at the northern lights lodge, and i didnt want to leave:(((((( i would definitely recommend it!!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chappaqua, New York
Level Contributor
13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2013

This stay was what we expected. Our room was average sized. It was comfortable, nice bathroom, and comfortable beds. The pool area was pretty cool and my kids enjoyed it. It is located right in Stowe and is near plenty of dining and shopping. The complimentary cookies in the lobby was a nice touch, and they had a delicious hot breakfast. Overall, it was a good stay.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Providence, Rhode Island
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2013

Clean and comfortable; very friendly staff; great breakfast! Perfect for a weekend on the slopes; very accessible to the mountain! Nice amenities; including warm cider, hot tub, pool. Great little lounge/bar area that was perfect for our group party. We will definitely go back for our future trips to Stowe!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Norwalk, Connecticut, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2013

The Northern Lights Lodge is your home away from home. Immediately when you walk in, there is fresh hot cider and homemade cookies to greet you, along with the friendly faces of innkeepers Mike and Shannon. We had a ski group of 100+ people, and they were super accommodating to us in every way. They let us use their large common area for our club party. Their home made breakfast buffet in the morning, with everything from pancakes, fresh muffins, and eggs, sets you off on the right foot for your ski day. The hot tub, sauna, and heated pool are a huge plus when getting back from the mountain, that's just minutes away. The rooms are each unique to their own and have comfortable beds. This is the best place to stay in Stowe!

Room Tip: Room 31 has a king size bed and 2 bunks that would be good for parents with kids.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Connecticut
Level Contributor
29 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2013

I stayed here on a club ski trip. The rooms are nice, and the beds are comfortable. We had a very good buffet breakfast to start out the day. After a day of skiing, many in our group lounged in the hot tub/pool area. In the evening, the hotel let us use the common room for our party. The manager was very accommodating to our group.

The location of the hotel is good. You can take a bus to the mountain if you don't want to drive. The downtown area is not too far away for going out.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Stowe hotels
2.7 mi away
Stowe Mountain Lodge
4.0 mi away
Commodores Inn
Commodores Inn
#14 of 25 in Stowe
4.0 of 5 stars 341 reviews
2.3 mi away
Trapp Family Lodge
Trapp Family Lodge
#8 of 25 in Stowe
4.0 of 5 stars 840 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Innsbruck Inn At Stowe
Innsbruck Inn At Stowe
#12 of 25 in Stowe
3.5 of 5 stars 167 reviews
2.6 mi away
Sun & Ski Inn and Suites
3.8 mi away
Green Mountain Inn
Green Mountain Inn
#1 of 25 in Stowe
4.5 of 5 stars 1,404 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Northern Lights Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Northern Lights Lodge

Address: 4441 Mountain Rd, Stowe, VT 05672
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Vermont > Stowe
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Kitchenette Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Stowe
#3 Family Hotel in Stowe
#9 Romantic Hotel in Stowe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Northern Lights Lodge 2.5*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Northern Lights Lodge is family owned and operated and located on the mountain road in Stowe. We are the closest affordable hotel to Mount Mansfield and the Stowe Mountain Resort. We are just minutes away from many great dining options and activities. Our amenities include a seasonal outdoor pool, heated indoor pool, hot tub, sauna, and game room. In the summer, both kids and adults enjoy playing in or lounging along the banks of the west branch river, located directly behind the Lodge. All of our rates include a hot country breakfast daily. We hope to welcome you to the Lodge soon. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo and HotelsClick so you can book your Northern Lights Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Northern Lights Hotel Stowe
Northern Lights Stowe
Northern Lights Lodge Stowe, Vermont

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Northern Lights Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.