We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best breakfast anywhere!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Dining Room at Trapp Family Lodge

Dining Room at Trapp Family Lodge
700 Trapp Hill Road, Stowe, VT 05672
1-800-826-7000
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #31 of 79 Restaurants in Stowe
Price range: $8 - $42
Cuisines: American, Austrian, European, Contemporary
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
Amherst, Massachusetts
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Best breakfast anywhere!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2014

We were hesitant to pay the $20 price for a buffet breakfast, but after trying it once, we went back for all three days of our visit to Stowe. The food was incredible - from smoked salmon and a wide array of fresh fruit, to exceptional French toast or pancakes as well as eggs and locally sourced bacon and sausages to croissants and fresh pastries, and on and on and on... The service was warm and provided just the right amount of attention, the views out the window across the winter landscape were stunning, the flowers and table settings and linens, the care and attention given to everything, all created a very special atmosphere. So nice that we almost spent the whole morning luxuriating there instead of going out to snowshoe on the trails!

  • Visited February 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

182 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    91
    52
    18
    13
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Orlanda fl
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Sad Disappointment”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2014

We have stayed at the lodge and enjoyed dining here over the years, but this last try was a deep disappointment. As one of the more expensive restaurants in the area, we had expected more than a poor presentation, forgetable meals and indifferent service. Each of our party of four had a similar conclusion.

This should be a top New England destination. The overall appearance of much of the lodge was worn; and at times downright shabby. When we last stayed at the inn, our room had peeling wallpaper, missing knobs and badly knicked furniture.

Sad to see this fine traditon fading; perhaps the focus on condos and time shares is sapping resources and attention from this once great facility.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bribie Island, Australia
Top Contributor
412 reviews 412 reviews
200 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 105 cities Reviews in 105 cities
195 helpful votes 195 helpful votes
“Fantastic”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2014

We had no idea that the Trapp Family had settled in Stowe so we were thrilled to have discovered the Lodge with it's wonderful dining room while staying in Smugglers Notch. We booked a window table overlooking the tulip filled garden and were warmly welcomed on arrival. The menu is interesting: not the usual fish, lamb, chicken and steak. My husband had Mussel Bisque & I chose the Lobster Bisque - both delicious. He followed with Rare Tuna & I with Wiener Schnitzel; both dishes were cooked to perfection. I couldn't resist the linzertorte. We were impressed with the quality of the food & the friendly professional service. Afterwards, we enjoyed a drink in the lounge while listening to the resident pianist. This was truly an occasion to remember. If you are unable to dine, then at least take time to visit the lodge, it's garden and the historical display downstairs. We loved it. Have a look at their website: www.trappfamily.com

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wooster, Ohio
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Authentic”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2014

The food was wonderful and prepared correctly. Server was very attentive and didn't try to rush us out close to closing time.

Visited November 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Deerfield Beach, Florida
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“very enjoyable evening”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2014

we enjoyed a four course new years eve menu with an excellent variety of apps to desserts.Our waiter (Christian) was excellent as well.I am looking forward to a lunch in the daylight to enjoy the fantastic views.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Dining Room at Trapp Family Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Dining Room at Trapp Family Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.