We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very comfortable” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Lounge at Trapp Family Lodge

Lounge at Trapp Family Lodge
700 Trapp Hill Road, Stowe, VT 05672
+1 802-253-8511
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #32 of 78 Restaurants in Stowe
Price range: $9 - $36
Cuisines: American, Austrian, European, Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Description: The Lounge offers a sampling of our Vermont and Austrian specialties as well as American favorites such as burgers and seafood. Our intimate lounge is a great spot to enjoy the fine musical talents of jazz pianist John Cassel Thursday through Monday nights.
Ottawa, Canada
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Very comfortable”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2013

Enjoyable experience, good food and great views. Service was very good but price was a little on the expensive side for casual dining.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

90 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    34
    29
    13
    10
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Roanoke, Virginia
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Sound of Music”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2013

Incredible fresh soups and sandwiches. Daily-baked breads and a wide selection of sandwiches, including Bavarian dishes. On the side of a mountain so great views while dining

Visited June 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guilderland, New York
Top Contributor
206 reviews 206 reviews
54 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 78 cities Reviews in 78 cities
139 helpful votes 139 helpful votes
“Wonderful food and views.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

We had lunch between winter and summer seasons, so it was not crowded. Beautiful scenery and food was great. It was a bit expensive but the quality of food and service, plus location, made it worth it. It's really fun to wander the 2nd and 3rd floors afterwards to see the old photos of the Trapp family and the original hotel. We've eaten at some places that have a famous name, and they let the food service deteriorate because they attract curious guests anyways. That wasn't the case with our great lunch at the Trapp Family Lodge. We hope to come back and stay there sometime!

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Over priced”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

Food was OK, small portions, and overpriced for the size of meal. Can be very noisy. Seating very uncomfrotable.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buffalo, NY
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“A Most Enjoyable Lunch”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2013

We have enjoyed casual dinners in the Lounge at Trapp Family Lodge before, but on this trip we chose to delay the inevitable end-of-vacation drive back home by having lunch in the Lounge. A warm fire beckoned and we settled in at a table by the window to enjoy the wintery mountain view. It was evident that everything we ate was made with fresh, top notch ingredients. Chef's soup that day was Tomato Bacon; a nice surprise to discover what could be a new favorite! My husband thoroughly enjoyed his Bratwurst & Knackwurst meal, even the sautéed potatoes were noteworthy. Usually I am not a burger eater (I am the one who ate the scallops mentioned in my review of the Dining Room) but the waiter's glowing recommendation of the Johannesburger inspired me to try it. Named after Johannes, Maria's youngest son, it is made of Trapp Family’s own Highland Grass Fed Beef. I am so glad I tried it - lean and amazing flavor. I can't wait for a "next time". Afterwards I was very satisfied and really didn't need dessert, but since we were leaving I couldn't resist the urge to give something else a try. Locally made maple walnut ice cream made a sweet ending to a great stay and dining at TFL.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Lounge at Trapp Family Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Lounge at Trapp Family Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.