We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cookies!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Cafe on Main

Cafe on Main
1 Depot Building, Main Street, Stowe, VT 05672 (Formerly Jamie's on Main)
802-253-0077
Improve this listing
Ranked #3 of 79 Restaurants in Stowe
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast
Rhode Island
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Cookies!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2012

Wow, Jamie's on Main has the best cookies we've ever eaten. We visit Stowe each summer and this is our only "must do" that we "must do" more than once each year. Jamie's is conveniently located in the center of town not far from the end of the bike path. The prices are very reasonable, the staff is friendly, and there is plenty of seating inside the restaurant or outside on the sidewalk. Their menu includes lots of sandwich/soup/salad choices for lunch or you can buy items by the pound to put together a picnic. Although we've never been for breakfast, we've heard it's delicious. But what we REALLY love about Jamie's is their cookies! They are large, soft, and chewy. Although they have quite a variety (maple iced, sugar, oatmeal, etc) our hands-down favorite flavor is the white chocolate orange cranberry - we have never found this combination anywhere else and look forward to stopping in at Jamie's each summer to feed our addiction. Grab a drink and a cookie and sit outside and people watch!

  • Visited July 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

132 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    80
    45
    6
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Rio de Janeiro, RJ
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Gazpacho, gazpacho”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2012

By default, anywhere that has gazpacho on the menu, gets 5 stars in my book. And it actually was quite good gazpacho. My mom had a roast beef sandwhich; which I assume she liked as well because within minutes of her trying to shove a bite into my mouth - she had "licked the platter clean" so to speak. :)

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chateauguay, Canada
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Excellent sandwiches and soup”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2012

We stopped for a bite and it was a good surprised. We had a BLT and Tuna salad sandwich with a bol of sweet potatoe bisque. Everything was fresh and tasty. The place was filled with tourists and locals but the service was curtious and efficient. They aslo have home made cookies and cupcakes that looked fantastic.

  • Visited June 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hudson,NH
Top Contributor
238 reviews 238 reviews
108 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 63 cities Reviews in 63 cities
114 helpful votes 114 helpful votes
“A fabulous BLT”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2012

This is the first thing we do after check-in.
!
We go To Cafe on the Main. The name has been changed to the Cafe on the Main.
When we found out that the cafe was sold we were afraid that the BLT wouldn't be the same.
To our wonderful surprise it was. Hurray!!
My husband and I love them, with a glass of iced coffee, YUM!

Visited June 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hartford, Connecticut
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
“No options for vegetarians.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2012

Very disappointing that this restaurant won't even use local eggs from the surrounding farms -- to charge a lot of money for factory farmed eggs is unfortunate. I doubt their produce and other items are local and organic. Also, there is no room to sit so plan on taking your food to go.

Visited June 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cafe on Main also viewed

 

Been to Cafe on Main? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cafe on Main, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.