We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely and peaceful” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Stoweflake Mountain Resort & Spa

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Stoweflake Mountain Resort & Spa to your Saves list
Stoweflake Mountain Resort & Spa
3.5 of 5 Resort   |   1746 Mountain Rd, PO Box 369, Stowe, VT 05672   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #9 of 23 Hotels in Stowe
Boston, Massachusetts
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Lovely and peaceful”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2013

We stayed at the Stoweflake for two nights this weekend for a family event taking place nearby. The staff were very friendly and the room was spacious and comfortable, with a gas fireplace, in-room mini-keurig coffee maker, and mini fridge. I liked the location across from the Farmer's market, walking distance to some restaurants and shops and on the recreation path. We expected the indoor heated pool would be too chilly for mid-October, so we planned not to use it, but then regretted the decision when, exploring the grounds on our last day we walked through the indoor pool area which was verrrrry warm. The grounds have a humble swing set for kids (the Best Western in Waterbury has a better playground) and outdoor games like croquet, plus tennis courts and a large outdoor pool. The meditation labyrinth herb garden outside the spa was lovely and we liked the "covered bridge" style structure connecting two wings of the resort. On Saturday evening we enjoyed watching the hotel staff inflate a hot air balloon as part of a corporate event happening at the hotel. We only dined at the hotel Saturday morning at Charlie B's and the breakfast buffet was decent and a good value (frozen potato "home fries" but fresh omelets made to order) and the service was excellent. From our room, we never heard any other guests, nor were we bothered by the corporate event taking place near us. We stayed in the "luxury" rooms on the ground floor between the conference area and the fitness/pool facilities. The building is dotted with fireplaces and cozy seating areas. In our room we found a daily schedule of fitness events. The cons: mattress wasn't great quality, the heat lamp/fan in the bathroom only worked on the first day and then never again, and the shower temperature dial was loose and kept slipping into "too hot" while using it. Great water pressure though. The kids want to come back in the summer to use the pool and we would stay here again.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StoweflakeGM, General Manager at Stoweflake Mountain Resort & Spa, responded to this review, October 25, 2013
Dear ViajeraGlobetrotter,

I wanted to thank you for your thorough review of your time here at Stoweflake. You really took the time to let us know your thoughts! It seems you found your stay here to be a great time spent with your family. We enjoy knowing that our guests get to experience everything on our grounds.

I will also look further into your comments about the heat lamp and the temperature dial to make sure they are repaired. I appreciate you letting me know about these issues.

We look forward to your return with the family and hope you spend some time in the pools next time around!

Best,

Sheri Baraw Smith
General Manager and VP
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

471 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    202
    156
    63
    34
    16
See reviews for
116
172
15
60
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (85)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Northampton, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2013

Spent three nights here in Oct 13. Very comfortable room, the largest we had during our two week trip, complete with sitting area and fireplace which was cosy on cool evenings. Free upgrade to luxury room which was very nice!
Outside pool was available which was a good size and my husband appreciated, most others were closed for season. Also small indoor pool. Excellent gym, also ladies only gym. Did not use Spa but looked good and extensive choice.
Location was good, several restaurants nearby, but further from Stowe village than expected, although we walked there one day on footpath off main road.
Food and service in Charlie B's was good, did not try Winfield's as it seemed quite empty during our stay. Nice lobby area with fireplace and complimentary refreshments in afternoon.
Would stay there again.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Slidell, Louisiana
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2013

We enjoyed the beautiful grounds with the Fall colors, the view of the mountain, and excellent food. The concierge was very knowledgeable and provided abundant information regarding things to do in the surrounding area. The condo's furnishings were very comfortable and attractive.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Connecticut
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2013

My husband and I stayed at Stoweflake for a fall foliage weekend. We couldn't have asked for more. The location is perfect. We brought our bikes and it's right along the rec path. The farmer's market on Sunday is directly across the street. Our room was beautiful. There's nothing like coming in after a day of hiking and sitting in the outdoor hot tub. The grounds are beautiful too. The concierge and front desk were extremely helpful and polite. We can't wait to go back.

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StoweflakeGM, General Manager at Stoweflake Mountain Resort & Spa, responded to this review, October 9, 2013
Dear luv2travel8978,

Thank you so much for sharing your experience! I’m excited to hear that you enjoyed your time here in Stowe and took advantage of the amazing fall foliage season we’re having. It has been a gorgeous time to go hiking and spend time outside. We look forward to having you back here at Stoweflake, maybe even during the winter! It’s just as rewarding to relax in the outdoor hot tub after a day of skiing or snowshoeing as well.

See you soon,

Sheri Baraw Smith
VP and General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2013

Had a wonderful long weekend in Stowe. The lodging at Stoweflake was great. Loved the upgrade! Concierge was extremely helpful and we loved the hiking and restaurants she recommended. Fall foliage was beautiful

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Elizabeth, Maine
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2013

50,000 sq ft Spa!! World class!
Family owned inn for over three generations. You can tell it was a family business by the staff. Very loyal, friendly and attentive. The location is close to town and ski areas.

Room Tip: All rooms we saw seemed to be renovated and well appointed
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bourne, Massachusetts
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2013

Husband and I regular Stowe and this time chose the Stoweflake Mountain Resort. The staff was incredibly helpful even pointing out hidden places for taking photos. The location is ideal - close enough to downtown Stowe. Dinner at Charlie B's was superb. Looking forward to our next visit.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StoweflakeGM, General Manager at Stoweflake Mountain Resort & Spa, responded to this review, October 9, 2013
Dear Karen I,

What great photos you were able to take! Thank you for sharing those with us on Trip Advisor. Our staff knows the ins and outs to the best foliage hot spots, so I’m pleased that you were able to find them. We greatly look forward to having you back here at Stoweflake and Charlie B’s. Please share more photos with us when you can- we always love to see what hidden places you can find!

Sincerely,

Sheri Baraw Smith
VP and General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Stoweflake Mountain Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Stoweflake Mountain Resort & Spa

Address: 1746 Mountain Rd, PO Box 369, Stowe, VT 05672
Location: United States > Vermont > Stowe
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Stowe
#4 Business Hotel in Stowe
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Stowe
#8 Romantic Hotel in Stowe
#9 Family Hotel in Stowe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Stoweflake Mountain Resort & Spa 3.5*
Number of rooms: 120
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stoweflake Mountain Resort & Spa is a full-service resort ideally located in the heart of Stowe. Owned and operated by the Baraw family for fifty years, the AAA 4-diamond property is home to an unparalleled array of amenities and facilities, including a 50,000 square foot world class spa, an award-winning restaurant, elegant accommodations, and the largest resort-based conference center in Vermont.Stoweflake is situated on 60 acres and includes golf facilities, clay tennis courts, play areas, indoor and outdoor pools, outdoor Jacuzzi, and groomed XC trails. Within walking distance is a wide variety of popular restaurants, pubs and specialty shops to explore.Visit us soon for a relaxing retreat or an adventurous mountain getaway! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Stoweflake Mountain Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Stoweflake Mountain Hotel Stowe
Stoweflake Mountain Resort And Spa
Stoweflake Mountain Resort & Spa Stowe, Vermont

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Stoweflake Mountain Resort & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.