We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Charming” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Stoweflake Mountain Resort & Spa

Save Saved
You added Stoweflake Mountain Resort & Spa to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Stoweflake Mountain Resort & Spa
3.5 of 5 Resort   |   1746 Mountain Rd, PO Box 369, Stowe, VT 05672   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #9 of 23 hotels in Stowe
San Diego, California
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Charming”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2013

Stayed here for the week of fall foliage & enjoyed every minute of it. Our room was clean with a fireplace that made it cozy. The location was near all cites we wanted to see (top of the notch drive, gondola ride at stowe mountain, cabot cheese, ben & jerry factory, apple cider mills, gentle giants horse drawn carriage, downtown stowe shopping, etc) but the staff was by far the best. Came with my mom & godmother and we will definitely come back & stay here again.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

422 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    180
    140
    56
    31
    15
See reviews for
103
146
15
56
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (68)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2013

Stoweflake Mountain Resort & Spa is a great resort and spa; second only to Topnotch Resort up the road.

I love that Stoweflake is a little closer to shopping, dining, and the village than it's competitor up the road which is nestled a little closer to Stowe Mountain for skiing.

Stoweflake has a lovely restaurant/pub with fairly priced food and spirits; the rooms are well decorated and if you ask for a room with a Fireplace it's such a treat. The spa facilities are nice and have both separate mens and women's areas as well as a couples area that boasts a replica hot tub area of the nearby Bingham falls...leverage the "waterfall" for a shoulder massage.

The grounds are expansive and often you can find a balloon ride leaving from nearby.

It's not as expensive as Topnotch and you still feel like you've splurged and treated yourself. This is a little more couples oriented too than Topnotch which really caters to both families and couples really well.

Believe me, you won't feel cheated out of a luxury Vermont getaway if you choose to stay here at Stoweflake.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a Fireplace.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2013

Just celebrated a joint 70th birthday with high school friends at Stoweflake. We all loved being pampered to death. The spa is great with absolutely wonderful treatments and a very professional staff. The resort is very well-run, everyone is so friendly and helpful. We vow to return to celebrate number 71!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Providence, Rhode Island
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2013

love this place! especially the Sanctuary Spa with the waterfall massage and Hungarian mineral bath....first time we went in May...and it snowed!! great location! great restaurants in the area but unfortunately Charlie B's is only mediocre.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2013 via mobile

We Love Stowe! I decided to give the StoweFlake a Shot, We Usually Vacation at the Trapp Family. This was our 10th Anniversary wanted it to be Perfect. Our Room was Decent, large enough! We didnt spend much time there, only to sleep. The Only Con was the Old Tube T.V.

Cons: The Indoor Pool area really needs a Make Over. Check Out was Horrible, Lorretta was Very Very Slow. Couldn't help but notice she didn't smile, acted like it was a bother to help customers. I'm in the Resort Indusrty and Customer Service is the # 1 Priority.. ( However, Tyler who Checked us in is Great) ! All in All this Hotel is a 3 out of 5. Probably Would Return on a Discount Rate.. Not Full Price!!!!!!

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2013

We stayed in a 3 bedroom townhouse for graduation weekend and found the rooms comfortable, clean, and private. The townhouse had the meadows view and it really was a nice relaxing location that I would recommend to anyone. We plan on going back. I did find the cost a bit pricey especially when a discount coupon arrived at our house just the day before we arrived! Typical...

The location in town is OK but without true sidewalks be expected to use the car more often than not. We ate in town and there is a small restaurant within walking distance. Plenty to do and just a beautiful area to explore. My daughter and I went to the spa for a quick manicure and enjoyed the services very much. Wish we would have had time for a real spa day!

Room Tip: The rooms all have fireplaces but the soaking tubs in the better rooms are what you want.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newmarket, New Hampshire
Top Contributor
130 reviews 130 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2013

I went to the Stoweflake for a 3 day birthday getaway, and to spend 3 days in the much touted spa. Knowing I would arrive VERY early in the day, I was prepared to spend the morning in the spa area waiting for my room.

Imagine my surprise to get an email at 6:30am (I had already left for Stowe) informing me the spa would close at noon that day, and be closed the ENTIRE next day, (which was my bday) for deep cleaning.

SO, without going into big details, Loretta, the spa manager, raised the bar for great customer service. She was at the front desk when I arrived, as I called from the road, unhappy about the late notice of the spa closure. I was upgraded to a lovely suite, and she arranged for several other perks. Loretta took charge, made the changes, didn't have to "check" with anyone to be sure it was "ok".

Although I was disappointed that the spa was closed, which is why I chose Stoweflake, Loretta ensured my bday trip was very nice. She did a great job problem solving in a very professional way. Thank you!

I'm not sure I would choose to go back to Stoweflake, but all of the staff I encountered were very nice. The location is great.....right next to a recreation path entrance, across the street from a wine and cheese shop, easy to get to on Mountain Road.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Stoweflake Mountain Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Stoweflake Mountain Resort & Spa

Address: 1746 Mountain Rd, PO Box 369, Stowe, VT 05672
Location: United States > Vermont > Stowe
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Stowe
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Stowe
#9 Romantic Hotel in Stowe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Stoweflake Mountain Resort & Spa 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stoweflake Mountain Resort & Spa is a full-service resort ideally located in the heart of Stowe. Owned and operated by the Baraw family for fifty years, the AAA 4-diamond property is home to an unparalleled array of amenities and facilities, including a 50,000 square foot world class spa, an award-winning restaurant, elegant accommodations, and the largest resort-based conference center in Vermont.Stoweflake is situated on 60 acres and includes golf facilities, clay tennis courts, play areas, indoor and outdoor pools, outdoor Jacuzzi, and groomed XC trails. Within walking distance is a wide variety of popular restaurants, pubs and specialty shops to explore.Visit us soon for a relaxing retreat or an adventurous mountain getaway! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Tingo, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere, Agoda and Otel so you can book your Stoweflake Mountain Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Stoweflake Mountain Resort And Spa
Stoweflake Mountain Hotel Stowe
Stoweflake Mountain Resort & Spa Stowe, Vermont

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Stoweflake Mountain Resort & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.