We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Affordable but eh” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Inn at the Mountain

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Stowe
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Inn at the Mountain
Save
You added Inn at the Mountain to your Saves list
5837 Mountain Road, Stowe, VT 05672   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Maple 'n' Mud - 10% Off!
Ranked #16 of 24 Hotels in Stowe
Boston, Massachusetts
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Affordable but eh”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

We were in Stowe for a summer getaway weekend. While the website for the resort made it clear that this was a separate building, it was rather vague about spreading attributes and amenities across all the facilities they own. So while the Inn was about a third less money than The Lodge, we were disappointed that it was much less than half as nice. Certainly more motel than inn. The restaurant/lounge was closed, the view was of a large parking lot, the first floor room did not offer direct access to the spartan pool, the decor was dated, they provided in-room coffee but only those little plastic water cups to drink it from, and their continental breakfast offering was stuck in the late 70's; meaning no waffle iron, fresh sticky buns or baked goods now standard at economy chains.

That said, we didn't go to Vermont for the hotel room. It was less than a mile to the part of the property where the real resort stuff was. The Apline Slide was fun, but insanely overpriced at $70 for a family of four to ride once - ONCE!. We were really looking forward to it so we splurged. If you're only going to do it once, ignore the signs and go fast (might as well make the most of those insurance premiums that have the price so jacked!) I got down the thing a full two minutes before the rest of my family and could have gone much faster (okay, I am a race driver). Don't be an idiot, but do have fun! The other two things at the so-called Adventure Park were for the 10-and-under set and equally overpriced.

Across the road was the gondola up Mt. Mansfield. It was cool, but left you just shy of the summit. The most direct trail turned out to be a super difficult hand-over-hand scramble. We might have been deterred if we had actually read the back of the map, glad we didn't because the challenge was a real highlight of our weekend. That bit of adventure you're looking for... this is it. ArborTrek was our other favorite activity. Do the zip line rather than the obstacle course (way too much work), and do it even if you're afraid of heights. Heights are my one phobia, and the security of the harness made it a none issue... except for the final jump out of the tree, that was tough, but doable considering I had just spent two death-free hours 60 feet in the air.

Other musts... Go to Burlington, it's a great town. Stop in Waterbury on the way to Stowe... it's a magical place where Ben and Jerry's is just a quarter mile from Alchemist Brewery/Cannery. Go to places like Prohibition Pig to eat local chartulary (i.e., bacon) and drink local 2xIPAs like Heady Topper and the less mentioned Lawson's Double Sunshine (I think I prefer Lawson's, but need to do more taste testing, hic.). These world-famous beer are only sold in this part of VT... and believe me, people get on planes to taste them, don't miss out.

Room Tip: FYI to skiers: they say it's ski in and out, that may be true, just be sure it's to the trai...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

72 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    17
    23
    14
    12
    6
See reviews for
32
14
2
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Freehold, New Jersey
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2013

Inn at the Mountain is quiet and serene in the Summer off-season. We stayed four nights in Room #3, which had a great mountain view. We enjoyed eating our bagged breakfast on the balcony. The room with a queen size bed and sleeper couch, refrigerator, bathroom, and TV was clean and pleasant. The staff was friendly and very helpful especially Giff and Blythe at the front desk. We took advantage of the bike/hike special and received an insulated lunch bag with supplies-water, granola bars, Lake Champlain chocolate bar, sun screen, first aid kit, Stowe area hike guide, etc. During our stay, we hiked up to Moss Glen Falls, rode the Stowe gondola up Mt. Mansfield, ate lunch at The Cliff House, went swimming in the lovely clean pool at the Inn, shopped and walked around the town of Stowe, and enjoyed an ice cream cone at Ben & Jerry's Ice Cream Factory. We also visited and were very impressed with Bob Spear's bird carvings at the Birds of Vermont Museum in Huntington, VT. At night we played ping pong and pool in the game room. We enjoyed our stay and recommend the Inn at the Mountain.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Weymouth, Massachusetts
Top Contributor
95 reviews 95 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2013 via mobile

I stayed in the Inn )not the town houses) while attending a wedding. My room was in need of several repairs: some of the ceiling tiles were loose, the wallpaper was peeling from the bottom, and the room smelled musty. The night stand had a sticky stain on it. The linens are new, and the beds and pillows seemed new as well (although the bed was too soft for my liking). The staff was very friendly and helpful, and the Inn is in a great, central location. Perhaps I will try the town houses next time.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2013

The staff was incredibly helpful condo was tired but they switched us to townhomes immediately what a difference. The townhouses are as nice as any resort anywhere at least #10 was. Giff at front desk is as good as you'll find. Will definitely be back in winter. I've skied all over the world except east and now I'm bringing the family here. Can't say enough good things

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2013

While it does not look that good from Google Street View, the place is actually quite nice and quite well maintained. It is not modern and, yes, there are visible signs of wear. Yet, if the price is right this place can provide a decent accommodation if you visit the area. The room was large (suite), with a separate bedroom, two double beds, full bath, patio, A/C, 2 TVs. The furniture in the living room was OK, not too modern but clean and functional.

There is not too much to do at the inn itself - I can mention only the game room and the pool. But since we originally planned to visit the area and not to stay on the resort itself this place was a good base for resting at night.

Staff is definitely A+, very friendly and helpful.

The only annoying thing I found were big ants that for some reason visited us a few times. There was no food left anywhere but they were looking for something :)

The only real disappointment was the breakfast. Maybe it is like this only during summer time, low season. They give you a sheet of paper with a few options - like granola bar, milk, apple/orange, cereals etc. You check the things you want and they give you a bag at the reception. It is OK for a quick snack but not ideal for the kids.

Bottom line: good value for the money, nice place for mobile families and groups visiting Stowe area. Will definitely consider if we decide to come back to Stowe one day.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hingham, Massachusetts
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2013

Stayed here four weekends in four months of a great ski season at Stowe, all in the main building. Short drive or take shuttle to the mountain. Basic rooms, comfortable beds. A staff that was consistently and cheerfully committed to service. Very knowledgeable about the slopes and the town. Loved taking care of lift tickets from the hotel. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2013

We stayed at one of the 3 bedroom condos......and HAD A GREAT TIME....the short walk to the lift was not bad at all...I mean closer would be better but what ever....the ski back to the condo was so much fun is soooooooo much snow....check in was fast and curtious....the only downfall was we had though the fireside tavern was open nightly so the plan was a few beer in the tavern after diner...but oh well saved that money .....well recommended for 6 adults....and bedrooms are so well situtated everyone has privacy.....well stocked kitchen as far as dishes and pots....close enough we came back for lunch ,,,,just awesome

Room Tip: upgrades to the bathrooms and kitchen were great...very clean apart from perhaps in need of newer be...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Inn at the Mountain? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Inn at the Mountain

Address: 5837 Mountain Road, Stowe, VT 05672
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Vermont > Stowe
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Top resorts Hotel in Stowe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 59
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Slopeside Inn & Condominium Complex located at Vermont's highest peak. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Inn At The Mountain Hotel Stowe
Hotel At The Mountain
Inn At The Mountain Stowe, Vermont

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Inn at the Mountain, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.