We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent B&B run by great hosts” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Brass Lantern Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Brass Lantern Inn to your Saves list
Brass Lantern Inn
3.0 of 5 Inn   |   717 Maple Street, Stowe, VT 05672   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
40% off of your 3rd night
Ranked #1 of 26 Stowe B&B and Inns
lima
Top Contributor
305 reviews 305 reviews
45 hotel reviews
Reviews in 89 cities Reviews in 89 cities
128 helpful votes 128 helpful votes
“Excellent B&B run by great hosts”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2012

We ended up for one night (we wished it was longer) due to a cancelled bike trip in Vermont. We stayed in the Madonna Peak room which was large and had a great view of the Green Mountains. Mary Anne (who let me call her Mary Beth the whole time) and George were incredibly welcoming hosts. We loved the afternoon cookies, sweets and other refreshments. Mary Anne gave us great information about Stowe and places we might enjoy. But the one thing that I have raved about to everyone about our stay was our breakfast. We were lucky enough to be there the morning they were serving Belgian waffles with Maple Bacon Ice Cream. The other tables thought we were crazy but they really missed a unique treat. Who doesn't love ice cream for breakfast? The waffles were cooked to a crispy outside and tender inside with a scoop of the ice cream. We also ordered their special blueberry syrup just in case so we had the best of both toppings. We started breakfast with a parfait of fruit and we were also served herb scrambled eggs with the waffle but the waffle stole the show. We had a great time chatting with Mary Anne and the other guests during breakfast. We also had a delightful conversation with George and Mary Anne when we were checking out. This was one of the best B&Bs we have ever stayed at. If I could I would rate the Brass Latern Inn a Excellent PLUS rating.

Room Tip: Madonna Peak is a great room. It takes a number of stairs to get to so if that is an issue check on...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brasslantern, Owner at Brass Lantern Inn, responded to this review, September 3, 2012
We very much enjoyed even your brief stay here at the Brass Lantern Inn. What a treat to be able to share bike touring stories.

And yes, how about that Maple Bacon Ice Cream over Belgian Style Waffles? We think it is a great combo and even a bit more decadent with a topping of maple blueberry sauce on top... (and this was on the menu for this morning!).

Again, though brief we had a wonderful time chatting with you and know that we could fill evenings on the back porch sharing stories with you both. Thank you so much for your delightfully kind words and consideration for another stay. We truly hope to see you again soon and next time for a bit longer to let you sample some of our other breakfast treats.

Appreciatively,
George and Mary Anne
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

384 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    359
    23
    1
    1
    0
See reviews for
56
264
6
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (79)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
St. Bruno, Quebec
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2012

My family and I have been visiting Stowe on and off for over 25 years because we simply love Vermont and everything it has to offer. A recent stay at the Brass Lantern - my second in just two months - confirmed my initial impression of the warm, welcoming and relaxing atmosphere at the inn. After enjoying the first visit there with my husband, I brought a friend who was in need of some long overdue R & R, telling her "I know just the place for you..." Needless to say, we weren't disappointed. Mary Anne and George are delightful - professional, efficient, friendly and accommodating in a way that elevates the term hospitality to a whole new level. They go to great lengths to ensure that every detail is taken care of and their genuine, people-minded approach is an inspiration. Highlights included the delicious breakfasts, afternoon tea, charming and comfortable accommodations, beautuful scenery and of course, my jar of Purely Patrick cookie mix to take home. I came away from that weekend, feeling as though I had shared a very special gift with my friend, and hope to return there with more of my loved ones in the future. I can just picture my daughter at the piano in the parlour or both my girls oohing and aahing over the beautuful furnishings and comfy beds, not to mention those yummy breakfasts! When I think of the Brass Lantern, I must say I agree with Patrick - It truly is Hakuna Matata!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brasslantern, Owner at Brass Lantern Inn, responded to this review, September 3, 2012
Josie - it is us who are so very thankful that you found us. And a little secret - when we feel that guests understand and appreciate our efforts it doesn't feel like work. It is just wonderful music to our ears to hear that our details mean so much to you. That reward is truly invaluable.

And how do we thank you enough for your outreach of kindness and care to our family and Patrick in particular? You are so right, Patrick has taught us the fine art of Hakuna Matat - no worries for the rest of your days...

Thank you for making our day then and now as we respond to your wonderful review. Wow, your entire family here? That would be wonderful and we would appreciate the Inn filled with music!

Best Wishes Always,
George and Mary Anne
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mechanicsburg, Pennsylvania
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2012

We started looking on line for B & B's in Stowe. We came across this Inn and from the description decided we would give it a try. It was as fantastic as the website described it to be. George and Mary Ann are fantastic and gracious hosts. We wanted to go to a free concert the first night we were there and in talking about that with George he offered to put lawn chairs in the car so we would not need to sit on the ground. They were always willing to offer suggestions according to your desires for your time in Stowe. We were not steered wrong with anything we decided to do from their recommendations. The two waterfalls close by are beautiful. The breakfasts were fantastic. Maple Bacon Ice Cream on waffles, who would have thought how tasty that would be. There was plenty of food offered. The afternoon drinks and sweets were also greatly appreciated. Our only regret is that we only had two nights to stay at the Brass Lantern Inn.

Room Tip: Room #2 (Spruce Peak?) was very quiet, spacious and had a beautiful view of Mount Mansfield.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brasslantern, Owner at Brass Lantern Inn, responded to this review, September 3, 2012
Thank you for your kind words. We like that combo of Maple Bacon Ice Cream and waffles. Sounds like a perfect match for a breakfast in Vermont! We are glad you had a great time exploring Stowe. We were inspired by how much of our area you were able to see during your stay. I'm sure we can suggest even more for your return trip! How about some snowshoeing?! It won't be long till we break out the winter gear and explore this area in a whole new season.

Thank you for your review and time to post. Always very much appreciated and never, ever taken for granted.

Kindest Regards,
George and Mary Anne
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2012

Our only complaint -- entirely our fault -- was that we should have booked a longer vacation at the Brass Lantern. We planned a three-day, two-night getaway to take a quick breather from a hectic time at home in Montreal. But after the warmth and hospitality that we encountered from the moment we phoned to make the reservation, we realized that we should have arranged to stay longer -- something we'll definitely do when we return.
What amazed us was the personal, friendly touch that we felt in everything that our hosts, George and Mary Ann, did for us. At many bed-and-breakfasts, the attitude often is, "Here's your key. Breakfast is at 8:00." At the Brass Lantern, we truly felt as if we were being invited into someone's home and were being pampered. Everything was immaculate, from our bedroom to the dining room. We got a "homey" feeling from the coziness of the parlour, with its comfortable couches and large library of books and magazines. We also have special dietary needs, but at no time did George or Mary Ann make us feel as if we were inconveniencing them. They invited us to use the spotless small fridge and microwave oven (that all guests can use) in an area off the dining room. We also ate our lunches and dinners (food that we had brought or bought) on one of the outdoor tables overlooking the enormous back lawn and George's beautiful flower and herb garden. Coincidentally, it was very helpful that a supermarket is located a five-minute walk from the Brass Lantern -- close enough to be convenient, but not so close that it disturbs the inn's idyllic atmosphere.
Incidentally, the gorgeous back lawn and the mountains in the distance set the stage for a wonderful, scenic breakfast as you sit in the dining room and enjoy the view through the large picture window from your table.
Mary Ann also sets a nice table in the dining area with snacks in the afternoon: hot and cold beverages, and home-made pastries.
Since our tastes are very simple, we chose the inn's smallest room, but it had exactly the charm and coziness we were hoping for. But what did size matter, when we spent our (too short) time reading, lounging and taking a long walk on a nature trail? All in all, we couldn't have asked for more -- except more time, and that's something we'll correct in our next getaway.

Room Tip: Go the Brass Lantern's website and browse the rooms. All nicely-appointed and it was the pattern...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brasslantern, Owner at Brass Lantern Inn, responded to this review, September 3, 2012
We are always so very happy to read when a guest feels as though they are truly at "home" when staying here. I hope you understand that we get just as much reward from hosting you and we hope you felt for your brief get-away. We know how hard it was for you to leave and we were so very touched by our conversations and the gift of the ice cream on your departure - how very nice of you!

I enjoyed the conversations about art, the theater and so many other various subjects on the back patio.

You added so much warmth and spirit to our Inn during your stay and we truly hope you will bring it back soon! Thank you for your stay and especially for the very kind words on our behalf.

Best,
George and Mary Anne
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
massachusetts
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2012

We stayed at the Brass Lantern for 2 nights in August. The inn was clean and lovely. Our room was small (our choice), but had everything we needed. The common areas were welcoming. The breakfasts were OUTSTANDING, plenty of delicious food. There was one main choice each morning, but basics available if that didn't appeal. The owners were so friendly and helpful. We would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brasslantern, Owner at Brass Lantern Inn, responded to this review, September 3, 2012
What a very kind and gracious review from a very seasoned traveler. We are so very glad that we made a great impression on you and feel very fortunate to have had that opportunity to welcome you back to Stowe, Vermont.

Thank you,
George and Mary Anne
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worcester
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2012

We just returned from a 2 night, 2 fabulous breakfasts, stay at the Brass Lantern Inn. It was as advertised and more, with something for everyone. George and Mary Ann are gracious hosts, and their recommendations of activities and restaurants were spot on, almost tailored made for us. The Inn was spotless and comfortable and the food was hearty and delicious. Stowe is a beautifulplace and by staying at this establishment we maximized our time there. Try it - you will love it!

Room Tip: We stayed in Room 1 and would ask for it again. It was airy and roomy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brasslantern, Owner at Brass Lantern Inn, responded to this review, September 3, 2012
Of course it is always great to hear that we have met and hopefully exceeded expectations of our guests. We truly appreciate your time and effort to confirm your experience here at the Brass Lantern Inn.

And at the risk of sounding like a representative from the Stowe chamber of commerce there are so many wonderful places to visit, restaurants to dine in, hikes, waterfalls, etc. to explore it really is a great pleasure to live and work in this fabulous town and have all of this at our disposal for your enjoyment. We are so glad that you enjoyed exploring this area. Come on back, even though we know you packed it in during your stay I think we can find a few more things for you to explore. And each season brings even more to explore.

We love living here and hope that it shows in our recommendations and close attention to detail and service.

Thank you again for your very kind words and sharing them on this site,
George and Mary Anne
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clearwater, Florida
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2012

My wife and I travel quite a bit and have stayed in many a New England Bed & Breakfast. This was our first time at the Brass Lantern Inn after first finding it on line via tripadvisor. From the intial phone call to book our stay, to the check in and subsequent 4 days with the Lewis famliy, we could not have been more pleased. Mary Anne Lewis guided us through our room selection, the best places to eat and the best trails to hike. The evening cookies and the daily breakfast menu her husband George produced, made our experience truly the best B&B stay we have had in years. Stowe can be a busy place during many times of the year, but by picking late July and early August, we almost had the town to ourselves which added to the charm of going home to Vermont after 40 years.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brasslantern, Owner at Brass Lantern Inn, responded to this review, September 3, 2012
What a wonderful time we had with you for your stay here this summer. You seemed to have found our brief quiet time. While we always appreciate kind words it is very special indeed that we had the pleasure of welcoming you back to Vermont after 40 years! As noted, we too feel as though we are home now after taking ownership of this wonderful B&B after being away from Stowe a short 25 years! We just hope we see you back in Stowe soon!

Kindest Regards,
Mary Anne and George
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Brass Lantern Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Brass Lantern Inn

Address: 717 Maple Street, Stowe, VT 05672
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Vermont > Stowe
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 26 B&Bs / Inns in Stowe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Brass Lantern Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We welcome you to our ca. 1810 brick farmhouse that has been respectfully and warmly renovated into a nine guest room Bed & Breakfast. All of our guest rooms include private bathrooms. Most have gas fired fireplaces, cozy sitting areas and spectacular views of Mt. Mansfield and the Sterling Mountain Range. We understand how important and precious your time away is and we work diligently to meet those expectations. See our reviews then see for yourself. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Priceline, Expedia, T4B, Despegar.com, Travelocity and Tingo so you can book your Brass Lantern Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Brass Lantern Hotel Stowe
Brass Lantern Inn Stowe, Vermont

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Brass Lantern Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.