We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful B&B” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Brass Lantern Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Brass Lantern Inn to your Saves list
Brass Lantern Inn
3.0 of 5 Inn   |   717 Maple Street, Stowe, VT 05672   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 26 Stowe B&B and Inns
massachusetts
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Wonderful B&B”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2012

We stayed at the Brass Lantern for 2 nights in August. The inn was clean and lovely. Our room was small (our choice), but had everything we needed. The common areas were welcoming. The breakfasts were OUTSTANDING, plenty of delicious food. There was one main choice each morning, but basics available if that didn't appeal. The owners were so friendly and helpful. We would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brasslantern, Owner at Brass Lantern Inn, responded to this review, September 3, 2012
What a very kind and gracious review from a very seasoned traveler. We are so very glad that we made a great impression on you and feel very fortunate to have had that opportunity to welcome you back to Stowe, Vermont.

Thank you,
George and Mary Anne
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

384 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    359
    23
    1
    1
    0
See reviews for
56
264
6
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (79)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Worcester
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2012

We just returned from a 2 night, 2 fabulous breakfasts, stay at the Brass Lantern Inn. It was as advertised and more, with something for everyone. George and Mary Ann are gracious hosts, and their recommendations of activities and restaurants were spot on, almost tailored made for us. The Inn was spotless and comfortable and the food was hearty and delicious. Stowe is a beautifulplace and by staying at this establishment we maximized our time there. Try it - you will love it!

Room Tip: We stayed in Room 1 and would ask for it again. It was airy and roomy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brasslantern, Owner at Brass Lantern Inn, responded to this review, September 3, 2012
Of course it is always great to hear that we have met and hopefully exceeded expectations of our guests. We truly appreciate your time and effort to confirm your experience here at the Brass Lantern Inn.

And at the risk of sounding like a representative from the Stowe chamber of commerce there are so many wonderful places to visit, restaurants to dine in, hikes, waterfalls, etc. to explore it really is a great pleasure to live and work in this fabulous town and have all of this at our disposal for your enjoyment. We are so glad that you enjoyed exploring this area. Come on back, even though we know you packed it in during your stay I think we can find a few more things for you to explore. And each season brings even more to explore.

We love living here and hope that it shows in our recommendations and close attention to detail and service.

Thank you again for your very kind words and sharing them on this site,
George and Mary Anne
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clearwater, Florida
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2012

My wife and I travel quite a bit and have stayed in many a New England Bed & Breakfast. This was our first time at the Brass Lantern Inn after first finding it on line via tripadvisor. From the intial phone call to book our stay, to the check in and subsequent 4 days with the Lewis famliy, we could not have been more pleased. Mary Anne Lewis guided us through our room selection, the best places to eat and the best trails to hike. The evening cookies and the daily breakfast menu her husband George produced, made our experience truly the best B&B stay we have had in years. Stowe can be a busy place during many times of the year, but by picking late July and early August, we almost had the town to ourselves which added to the charm of going home to Vermont after 40 years.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brasslantern, Owner at Brass Lantern Inn, responded to this review, September 3, 2012
What a wonderful time we had with you for your stay here this summer. You seemed to have found our brief quiet time. While we always appreciate kind words it is very special indeed that we had the pleasure of welcoming you back to Vermont after 40 years! As noted, we too feel as though we are home now after taking ownership of this wonderful B&B after being away from Stowe a short 25 years! We just hope we see you back in Stowe soon!

Kindest Regards,
Mary Anne and George
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
utica,NY
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2012

Three of us, (my daughter,her husband and I) stayed one night at the Brass Lantern in Stowe, Vermont and we all agreed the whole experience was wonderful! From the moment Mary Anne greeted us we felt we'd been friends forever. Her warm demeanor and helpful suggestions for dining and attractions to visit in Stowe made our visit very enjoyable, considering how short we'd planned to stay in the area. The room was spacious, charming, super-clean and very Vermont-like. Breakfast was nicely prepared and served with elegance while maintaing that ""down home" charm. When we met George, (he was the chef and emerged from the kitchen to greet us) he was equally nice and friendly. Just before we left we mentioned we were planning to go to Stowe Mountain resort and Mary Anne quickly ran off and came back with coupons which saved us 25% off each attraction we wanted to do there! We'll definately be going back there on our next Vermont trip.

Sincerely,
Mr. Carmen Caramanica, Steve and Elizabeth Zumchak
Utica, New York

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brasslantern, Owner at Brass Lantern Inn, responded to this review, August 11, 2012
Thank you for your note to let us know that we made such a positive impression on you even for your short stay. It is of course always wonderful to hear that our service and friendly atmosphere is recognized and appreciated. Thank You!

We very much look forward to hosting you again whether for a single night or and extended getaway!

Have a wonderful rest of your summer.

Kindest Regards,
Mary Anne and George
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochester, New York
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2012

We stayed at the Brass Lantern Inn the evenings of July 13th thru July 17th 2012. The Innkeepers and Owners, George and Mary Anne Lewis are wonderful hosts.
They both take a personal interest in their guests and are always willing to take extra time out
of their busy schedules to discuss attractions in the area. Also, to give you directions to your
destination.
The grounds at the inn are very well maintained by George and he Housekeeping is
impeccable. The rooms are very well furnished and comfortable. We were a little concerned
about potential noise levels being on a main road. However, this was not a problem at all and
the rooms are very quiet.
We found their breakfasts to be exceptional(prepared by George) and the service to be very
friendly, efficient and relaxed. Mary Anne also provides special homemade treats for guests
in the afternoon, including lemonade, ice tea, etc. On more than one occassion we " camped
out" at the serving table at 4:00. They were great!
Their recommendations as far as restaurants are concerned were very helpful and never a
disappointment. Their suggestions often coincided with those that we found on the Trip Advisor
website.
George and Mary Anne truly go the extra mile to provide a very warm and comfortable experience for their guests that you will never forget.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brasslantern, Owner at Brass Lantern Inn, responded to this review, August 11, 2012
We enjoyed the opportunity to host you for your extended stay here in Stowe. We also enjoyed the time we had with you each afternoon at tea time to hear about your days' adventure - you filled each day. We missed that afternoon chat on your day of departure!

You two brought a wonderful and generous personality to our Inn. For that we are also very grateful and thankful.

We appreciate the very kind words.

Kindest Regards,
Mary Anne and George
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Detroit, Michigan
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2012

We traveled from Michigan to this Inn based on the Trip Advisor rating and we were more than pleased. The room was amazing and quiet. We were in Room 7. The sheets on the bed were amazing. We loved the breakfasts, the location and our helpful innkeepers. They didn't hover but offered amazing advice. We would definitely stay again if we were in Stowe.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brasslantern, Owner at Brass Lantern Inn, responded to this review, July 29, 2012
We appreciate these very kind words. We strive to be attentive without being intrusive and it appears we hit the mark with you. We recognize and respect you taking the time to let other potential guests know of your stay. Invaluable comments for our small business. Thank you and we do hope to host you again.

Kindest Regards,
Mary Anne and George
Owners/Innkeepers
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belize
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2012

We just returned from another delightful visit to the Stowe and the Brass Lantern. It was the 26th Annual Hot Air Balloon Festival, the flowers werein full bloom, the weather was terrific and we all had a great time. George and Mary Ann of the Brass Lantern continue to excel as inkeepers. You can see that they take a keen interest in their property and in their guests. The place was as neat a a pin, the reception was warm, afternoon treats were delicious, chocolates in bowls in the sitting room made me feel at home and the breakfast was quite a treat every morning.

This was our second visit and it certainly will not be our last. The Brass Lantern is located on the main road (Route 100) only a few minutes from Stowe village and just next door is a Shaws supermarket if you need to buy anything. Though it is on the main road, the rooms are quiet, cosy, clean and a good value. Furthermore, there were four (two adults and two teens) of us in a room with two queen beds and we did not feel crowded.

The Purely Patrick products sold by their special needs son is also a great product to support and makes an excellent gift. Truly very special folks with a truly special and down to earth inn in Stowe.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brasslantern, Owner at Brass Lantern Inn, responded to this review, July 17, 2012
Thank you for your comments and especially for your return trip with your children! We feel very fortunate to be the current caretakers of this great place and your recognition is as they say, "icing on the cake."

And our son, Patrick, thanks you very much for the shout out of his little cottage business. What a treat to be able to share this with you and our other guests.

Best to you and your family,
Mary Anne and George
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Brass Lantern Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Brass Lantern Inn

Address: 717 Maple Street, Stowe, VT 05672
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Vermont > Stowe
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 26 B&Bs / Inns in Stowe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Brass Lantern Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We welcome you to our ca. 1810 brick farmhouse that has been respectfully and warmly renovated into a nine guest room Bed & Breakfast. All of our guest rooms include private bathrooms. Most have gas fired fireplaces, cozy sitting areas and spectacular views of Mt. Mansfield and the Sterling Mountain Range. We understand how important and precious your time away is and we work diligently to meet those expectations. See our reviews then see for yourself. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Venere, Despegar.com and Tingo so you can book your Brass Lantern Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Brass Lantern Hotel Stowe
Brass Lantern Inn Stowe, Vermont

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Brass Lantern Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.