We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Inviting and friendly stay!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Ye Olde England Inne

Save Saved
You added Ye Olde England Inne to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Ye Olde England Inne
3.0 of 5 Motel   |   433 Mountain Rd, Stowe, VT 05672   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #10 of 23 hotels in Stowe
Montreal, Canada
Top Contributor
95 reviews 95 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
61 helpful votes 61 helpful votes
“Inviting and friendly stay!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2013

We have eaten at Mr.Pickwick's pub many times over the years - but never stayed at the inn. Upon arrival, the check-in was quick and friendly. The room was a little dated but it was cozy and everything was in functioning order. We had decided to get a room with a spa tub which was giant - but really worth it! We enjoyed our stay, the staff was very friendly and the owner very hospitable. We will definitely return.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

410 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    220
    103
    33
    23
    31
See reviews for
44
247
14
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (66)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Hammonton, New Jersey
Top Contributor
103 reviews 103 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2013

We'd never been to VT before and were anxious for the trip and was not in any way disappoiunted. Erin made the booking easy and her warm, caring and friendly demeanor compliments the warm atmosphere. We were more than pleased with the Inne and the staff; the room was simple, but pretty and suited our needs. Eating at Mr. Pickwicks was a romantic and pleasant experience and the wait staff were friendly and accommodating. The Mulligatawany soup was a big hit and taking advantage of the Price-fixe dinner option was a cost effective way of experience the food as the food is a little pricey; however, the quality does make it worth it. Chris was friendly, knowledgeable, outgoing, and forthcoming with all the information we needed to make the most of the trip. We were fortunate that we had the Inne pretty much to ourselves for the first couple of nights; making enjoying the hot water an extra special treat; however, waking up to an almost cold shower on Saturday morning was no fun. I teased Chris and Erin about the coffee carafe being the one thing that took away from the room, but overall there was really nothing to complain about. Being next to the jacuzzi room, which was being used late at night; disturbing our quiet evening was a little annoying, but not enough of a reason to not want to stay at the Inne again. We're looking forward to making another trip.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2013

What a lovely suite! The suite we stayed in at the Bluff House was beyond our expectations. It was clean, roomy and charming. The seating room had a great fireplace and adequate seating. The deck off of the seating room was a great place for a morning cuppa while listening to the birds sing.
The bedroom was nice sized and the bed was comfortable with plenty of linens.
The restroom was very large, with both a shower and jacuzzi tub.
The room lended itself to be quite and private, due to its location among the buildings.
I can not wait to stay here again.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lowell, Massachusetts
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2013

We stayed here during the off-season of April this year and absolutely loved it! We upgraded to one of the suites and the room was expansive with a vaulted ceiling and a wonderful jacuzzi 'cave'.
We went on the April 'Fool's special, so ate breakfast there which was tasty quiche, bacon & home fries one day and delightful french toast, with blueberry sauce & whip cream And cheese scones. And had 2 dinners there. This is not a place to eat if you want to lose weight but if you enjoy eating plenty, and eating well, sleeping well, and having a friendly host like Chris, this is the place.Location is very close to Stowe center, and across the street from the bike trail.
We hope to come back!

Room Tip: I would recommend one of the suites; there is an outside hot tub(which we didn't use this time a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hartford, Connecticut
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2013

Been coming to Ye Olde England Inne since its inception, over two decades ago. Has become one of my favorites places. Got “beamed” (memorialized as a several time repeat fan on the bar and restaurant beams) a very long time ago. Whether for drinks, lunch, dinner, a night, or a weekend, it has always provided a memorable getaway. Charming in every regard. While there are bigger, newer, and over-the-top places, none approach the cozy magical atmosphere of this special place. Chris is not only a scholar and a gentleman, he has become a friend. Over the years I have visited The Inne on romantic getaways, and for skiing / hiking trips with the guys, couples, and large groups. The Inne and especially Pick’s, as it affectionately become known to many of us as, always seems to be just what we need, and want. Whether you are in search of a light bite with a Pint, or a fine evening dinner with top rate plates and wines, Pick's always hits the spot. The Mully (Mulligatawny soup) is legendary, and I have not found a better anywhere on the globe (I have searched). The specialty of the house (one of them anyway), the Beef Wellington, is my personal favorite. But alas, there are so many favorites, that it is almost a disservice to single anything out. Chris always has a staff of nice, friendly, and knowledgeable folks around to lend a helping hand, as well as a recommendation. Each and every room has its own character, which brings back some of that old world charm, that has become sadly lacking in some of the modern sterile places, so popular nowadays. Well worth your visit.

Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lincoln, RI
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2013

We stayed here late February for 2 nights and loved it! The owner Chris was so friendly and really made us feel welcome.. Our room was great, very clean and cozy. It was centrally located to everything. I would definitely recommend staying here

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sand Lake, New York
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2013

We have been staying at the Inne for our annual Stowe ski trip for over 20 years. We spent our honeymoon there and we would never dream of staying anywhere else. The service is great, the decor casual but elegant, and they serve a proper British afternoon tea in the lobby from 3 to 6 pm. Most civilized! Plus, the Pub attached to the Inne (and operated by the same people) is just fantastic. We both enjoy cooking, and I like to think I'm a good cook, but this is dining at another level. Their specialties are wild game (e.g. Wild Boar Ribs, Elk, Venison) and British cuisine, however we have never had anything we didn't like (and we have sampled almost their entire menu over the years). Their Mulligatawny soup is wonderful. They also have a vast wine list, 27 beers on tap, and, well, we just look forward to going back there every year. If you have a lot of young kids, this might not be a place they find fascinating (e.g. no game room) but if you are looking for a quiet time away from it all, you will not be disappointed. We'll be there again next year!

Room Tip: Bluff House has wider hallways and the rooms are newer, larger and more luxurious (e.g. gas fireplac...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Ye Olde England Inne? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ye Olde England Inne

Address: 433 Mountain Rd, Stowe, VT 05672
Location: United States > Vermont > Stowe
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Stowe
#8 Romantic Hotel in Stowe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Ye Olde England Inne 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ye Olde England Inne is a full service country Inne providinga a range of lodging options from comfortable well appointed rooms to beautiful, spacious luxury suites. Packages are available year round for Romance and Outdoor Adventure. It is situated in a unique elevated position with impressive views over the historic village of Stowe to the surrounding mountains. It is a highly rated and well respected property.All meals are served in Mr. Pickwick's Gastropub and Steakhouse. Famous for its cuisine the English Pub serves 150 varieties of ale and 80 Single malt Scotches. The wine cellar is extensive and the knowledgeable and energetic staff are well trained for their chosen profession. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Tingo, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Expedia and Agoda so you can book your Ye Olde England Inne reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ye Olde England Inne Hotel Stowe
Ye Olde England Stowe
Ye Olde England Hotel Stowe
Ye Olde England Inne Stowe, Vermont

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ye Olde England Inne, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.