We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Worth it just to meet Chris” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Ye Olde England Inne

Save Saved
You added Ye Olde England Inne to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Ye Olde England Inne
3.0 of 5 Motel   |   433 Mountain Rd, Stowe, VT 05672   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #10 of 23 hotels in Stowe
Hampden, Maine
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Worth it just to meet Chris”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2012

We were greeted by the enthusiastic owner on the inn, Chris, and everything just fell into place. He answered most of our questions before they were asked and was a true advocate of the entire area. The inn is beautiful and in the true British style, steep stairways, narrow passageways, and an afternoon tea. The restaurant and pub were phenomenal, featuring many ales, single-malts, and Beef Wellington as the house special. The prices were consistent with the quality of the food and service. A great time was had, a special thanks to Chris!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

410 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    220
    103
    33
    23
    31
See reviews for
44
247
14
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (66)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Charlotte, Vermont
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2012

After honeymooning in England for a month a year ago, my husband and I celebrated our wedding anniversary here and cherished every moment. We were immediately rushed back to England and didn't feel like we were in Stowe at all once inside, which we loved. Narrow hallways, dark wood, cheerful owner, beer garden, basic bedroom (we aren't into elaborate - but it is the only place I've stayed that offered toothpaste!), and a restaurant that thrilled us with British authenticity. The beer list is internationally incredible and we enjoyed some of the brews we discovered on backroads in England. The food offered traditional fare as well as more flavorful and farm fresh creations which is why Vermont leads this country in culinary perfection. We made one brilliant choice in celebrating our anniversary.

Room Tip: It's all about the dinner packages - check their website for the variety of deals and specials.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2012

When we arrived at the hotel at the usual check-in time, there was nobody at the reception desk. We called out and eventually, a harried employee comes and complains to us about 30 people who checked out that day. So? If there were so many people, why weren't staff hired to handle them? We had booked months in advance, and yet, the clerk scrambled on the computer, telling us he had to "change our room". We couldn't figure out why. After more waiting while he played PacMan on his computer (probably not, but we couldn't tell what he was doing), he finally got us booked in. The room felt dated with older linens and carpet, and with old splintered wood around the jacuzzi. We were in Stowe for a sporting event, sponsored by the hotel, that was to begin early the next day, and yet, breakfast would only be ready at the usual later time. We had to eat our own food in our room, then go to the breakfast room to pilfer some food to eat, cold, upon our return later that morning. When we checked out, again, we could not find anyone at the desk and had to hunt down an employee. As a side note, we had never spent so much on a hotel, so we expected something special. Very disappointing.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durham, North Carolina
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2012

Chris the owner was incredibly nice. Our room was nice but the bathroom a little small but it was not a problem. It reminded me of a typical English Bed and Breakfast in England. The location was great. The restaurant prices were a little high so we did not eat at the hotel. Overall we were happy with our stay and would stay again.

Room Tip: If you can look at the website before you arrive. They show pictures and tell you about each of the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CT
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2012

Purchased a Groupon to stay at this Inn. First room we were placed in was not in the Bluff House Suites which what was purchased. The room we were put in was towards the back behind the pool. It was old, moldy, the TV was all static and the bed was a double in a dark back corner. Went back to the front desk and when confronted, they stated that our original room was having the air conditioning repaired, but it was suddenly available if we wanted to switch. It actually was still not the original room that was booked, but it was comparable. This room was much better and very nice. The balcony however had not been cleaned in quite sometime. Went looking for cleaner and paper towels and cleaned the table and chairs. We did not try the restaurant after reading the negative reviews on it and after experiencing what we did, did not want to have any more disappointments. Will not return to this establishment, there are many more MUCH nicer places to stay!

Room Tip: If you do stay here ..... only stay in the Bluff house suites.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mukwonago, Wisconsin
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2012

Chris the owner treated us like family, we had a suite with a deck/balcony setup. Great view. it was quiet. I loved the room. The building itself is old but everything inside was in good condition, especially the bathroom which was like new and renovated. The beds were very comfortable. It is also a great location as we were there two days and really got to walk around the town. I loved the bar restaurant area although we so busy exploring the area we didn't get to eat in the restaurant so I can't comment.

Room Tip: Call Chris directly and he will work with you, this place is 3 or 4 stories and has many options for...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wakefield, Massachusetts
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2012

We bought a Groupon for two nights as a girls weekend and it was what we expected. Yes, the rooms are a little old but it was clean and the air conditioner worked well. Since we went between seasons (late winter) the place was not busy at all but that was fine with us. Our Groupon included breakfast, which was phenomenal as well as afternoon tea but we never took advantage of it since we were not around the property at the time. Unfortunately, the hot tub was not working which the management was not even aware of so that is one down side. There was loud music playing in the bar and since our room was on the 2nd floor, we could hear it as we were getting ready for bed but it seemed to quiet down as soon as we needed it to. The owner was very courteous and apologetic about the hot tub. The location is wonderful: across from the walking/bike path and movie theater (we were there specifically to see The Hunger Games and the theater is adorable!), close to downtown and the mountain.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Ye Olde England Inne? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ye Olde England Inne

Address: 433 Mountain Rd, Stowe, VT 05672
Location: United States > Vermont > Stowe
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Stowe
#8 Romantic Hotel in Stowe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Ye Olde England Inne 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ye Olde England Inne is a full service country Inne providinga a range of lodging options from comfortable well appointed rooms to beautiful, spacious luxury suites. Packages are available year round for Romance and Outdoor Adventure. It is situated in a unique elevated position with impressive views over the historic village of Stowe to the surrounding mountains. It is a highly rated and well respected property.All meals are served in Mr. Pickwick's Gastropub and Steakhouse. Famous for its cuisine the English Pub serves 150 varieties of ale and 80 Single malt Scotches. The wine cellar is extensive and the knowledgeable and energetic staff are well trained for their chosen profession. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Tingo, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Expedia and Agoda so you can book your Ye Olde England Inne reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ye Olde England Inne Hotel Stowe
Ye Olde England Stowe
Ye Olde England Hotel Stowe
Ye Olde England Inne Stowe, Vermont

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ye Olde England Inne, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.